Reader Reviewed Rubies and Runaways by Janine Beacham
  

Rubies and Runaways

Written by Janine Beacham
Part of the Rose Raventhorpe Investigates Series

7+ readers   9+ readers   

RRP £6.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a nutshell: magical crime drama with orphans, chimney sweeps and secret societies!

Rose Raventhorpe is a girl with a talent for solving mysteries. When she hears that a young orphan has gone missing, she’s determined to find out what’s going on. In this she is helped by her butler Heddsworth, a member of a secret society of butlers, and just the kind of right hand man you need, and hindered by her ghastly cousin Herbert, who is set on one day marrying Rose, and replacing Heddsworth with his own butler too. The plot moves along at a cracking pace as the mystery unfolds, the setting is a wonderfully atmospheric and there are some great characters to meet.

This will appeal to fans of Katherine Woodfine’s The Sinclair’s Mysteries series and Patricia Elliott’s Connie Carew books. ~ Andrea Reece

Reader Reviews

Some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel members were lucky enough to read and review the first in this series, Black Cats and Butlers. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Kitty Sidaway, age 9 - 'When you read this book, you will be on the edge of your seat...It is probably one of the best books I have read.'
  • Emma Corden, age 11 - 'This book is so filled with mystery. It’s one of the best books I have ever read.'
  • Zoe Basson, age 9 - 'This book was a creative mix of mystery murder and romance.'
  • Amina Hassan, age 10 - 'I loved this book the clues all fitted well together. A cross between mystical and magical to murder and gruesomeness. You will be spellbound but scared. I loved Janine Beacham’s book.'
  • Toby Little, age 9 - 'I liked the book because it has a really good storyline, and I kept asking myself what would happen next. I would recommend this book to anybody who likes an action-packed book.'
  • Elizabeth Bridgeman - 'This book is thrilling!..The rating will definitely be 5 stars...This is set in the Victorian times... but is not boring it is very fast and interesting.'
  • Ella O'Gorman - 'There is a mix of light and dark moments in this book that together make it a fascinating read and there is a great combination of characters.'
  • Suhaiba Khan, age 9 - 'Once I picked the book I did not want to put it down.  This book made me use my imagination it was like I was a teacher.  It was a good book.'

Win a copy of Pirate Mcsnottbeard in the Zombie Terror Rampage!

We have TEN copies of Pirate Mcsnottbeard in the Zombie Terror Rampage, by Paul Whitfield, to give away!

To have a chance of winning one of these brilliantly funny books, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 14 August 2017. The winners will be notified by 28 August 2017.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 14/08/2017

Synopsis

Rubies and Runaways by Janine Beacham

The Clockwork Sparrow meets Downton Abbey.

It's a bitterly cold winter in Yorke and Rose Raventhorpe and her butler Heddsworth are stuck with Rose's unpleasant cousin Herbert, and his equally horrible butler, Bixby. When an orphan boy named Orpheus interrupts the Cathedral's Mistletoe Service, saying that his sister has been kidnapped, Rose vows to help. Solving the mystery will be a lot better than accompanying ghastly Herbert! But the investigation is more complicated than Rose has anticipated and will lead her and her butler friends through fancy tea-rooms, horrible factories, secret underground passages and more...Fireplace pokers are much more dangerous than you might imagine ...

About the Author

Janine Beacham

Janine Beacham is a former journalist but gave up journalism to raise her family. Instead she found herself concentrating on writing fiction. She has always loved fairy tales and fantasy, and as a child would make up games for her friends to play at school. Janine once won a competition where the prize was a real-life butler – which partly inspired the secret society of butlers in the Rose Raventhorpe Investigates series. Janine lives in Western Australia with her family.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
248 pages

Author

Janine Beacham
More books by Janine Beacham

Publisher

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers an imprint of Hachette Children's Group

Publication date

13th July 2017

ISBN

9781510201316

Categories


I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools