The Grotlyn by Benji Davies
  

The Grotlyn

Written by Benji Davies
Illustrated by Benji Davies

5+ readers   3+ readers   Julia Eccleshare's Picks   

The Lovereading4Kids comment

A Julia Eccleshare Pick of the Month September 2017

Award-winning Benji Davies has created a delightful night-time classic starring his light-fingered creation, the Grotlyn. When Ruby goes to bed the night after she has heard the scary rhyme about a Grotlyn slipping through the house unseen she hears some spooky night noises. Could it be a Grotlyn and what would it be doing? Bravely, Ruby decides to find out and, in doing so, she allays her fears and discovers something joyfully adventurous. Beautiful illustrations by the creator of The Storm Whale bring the story to life. ~ Julia Eccleshare

Julia Eccleshare's Picks of the Month for September 2017

Goth Girl and the Sinister Symphony by Chris Riddell

A Skinful of Shadows by Frances Hardinge

This Book Isn't Safe! by Colin Furze

The Grotlyn by Benji Davies

Billy and the Minpins by Roald Dahl, illustrated by Quentin Blake

Toto: The Dog-Gone Amazing Story of The Wizard of Oz by Michael Morpurgo

The Story of Ferdinand by Munro Leaf

Birthday Boy by David Baddiel

Synopsis

The Grotlyn by Benji Davies

I know when the Grotlyn's been

Slipping through your house unseen...

What is the mysterious Grotlyn? What sort of creature could it be, scuttling across the town, frightening everyone in its path? And why has it stolen PC Vickers' knickers?! A beautifully illustrated rhyming tale about things that go bump in the night for ages four and up, from picture book superstar, Benji Davies, winner of Oscar's First Book Prize 2014 and Sainsbury's Children's Book of the Year 2015.

Perfect for fans of Oliver Jeffers and Jon Klassen.

Reviews

Praise for Benji Davies

Benji Davies (The Storm Whale and Grandad's Island) is fast establishing himself as a leading light in children's picture books...An author-illustrator destined to be one of this generation's great talents - Huffington Post

Like the best picture books, The Storm Whale has an outsize emotional force that often comes from what the author-illustrator Benji Davies leaves out - New York Times

Intensely atmospheric, full of biting cold, tender detail and warm light, this is a book to cuddle up with - The Guardian

A gently magical story about bidding farewell to a grandparent, Davies vibrant palette infuses the story with a hopeful spirit - Huffington Post

Benji Davies didn't invent the melancholy sea story, but he sure knows how to deliver one...Grandad's Island metaphorically and movingly re-imagines the experience of loss - Boston Globe

About the Author

Benji Davies

Benji Davies is an illustrator and animation director. From a young age he was often to be found painting at the kitchen table, a scene which can still be seen to this day. Benji studied animation at university, and has since worked on a diverse array of projects, from picture books and animated short films to music videos, commercials and title sequences. His books have been co-editioned in many languages and countries around the world. The Storm Whale is his first self-penned picture book. He lives in London with his wife Nina.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
32 pages
Interest Age: From 4 years

Author

Benji Davies
More books by Benji Davies

Publisher

HarperCollins an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Publication date

7th September 2017

ISBN

9780008212759

Categories


This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools