We See Everything by William Sutcliffe
  

We See Everything

Written by William Sutcliffe

13+ readers   Christmas Books   YA readers   

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Set in a frightening future version of London in which the lives of two teenage boys cruelly collide in a divided city, this gripping page-turner has pertinent contemporary resonance, and packs powerful moral and emotional punches. Read it to be thrilled, chilled, and to have your eyes well and truly opened.

Teenagers Alan and Lex are on either side of a war policed by drones. Lex lives on The Strip, a bombed-out territory in which the poverty-stricken inhabitants are under constant drone surveillance. “In this city, death seems to perpetually hover nearby, like a needy bully”, Lex remarks, while his dad is part of The Corps resistance movement that’s fighting the bullies, rendering him a top target for the military. On the other side of the divide, fatherless Alan was written off at a young age – “Nobody ever thought I'd amount to anything" - but his talent for gaming has secured him his perfect job as a drone pilot, a role in which he has “absolute power without a single boot on the ground”. But, while he’s proud to protect his country from “terrorists who want to destroy us”, Alan is forced to confront a magnitude of moral dilemmas when he’s tasked with killing a high profile target, who turns out to be Lex’s dad…

The dual-narrative device works to great effect as we see both boys wrestling with issues of ethics, family conflict and, in Lex’s case, the overwhelming experience of first love. Ambitious and assured, this keenly plotted thriller also probes deep into the human heart, and comes recommended for fans of Patrick Ness and Malorie Blackman. ~ Joanne Owen

Synopsis

We See Everything by William Sutcliffe

A gripping and powerfully relevant thriller set in a future London where constant surveillance is the norm, We See Everything simmers with tension and emotion. From internationally bestselling author William Sutcliffe, this is perfect for fans of Patrick Ness and Malorie Blackman. Lex lives on The Strip - the overcrowded, closed-off, bombed-out shell of London. He's used to the watchful enemy drones that buzz in the air above him. Alan's talent as a gamer has landed him the job of his dreams. At a military base in a secret location, he is about to start work as a drone pilot. These two young men will never meet, but their lives are destined to collide. Because Alan has just been assigned a high-profile target. Alan knows him only as #K622. But Lex calls him Dad. William Sutcliffe was born in London in 1971. He is the author of the international bestseller Are You Experienced?, The Love Hexagon, New Boy, Bad Influence and Whatever Makes You Happy. His first YA novel, The Wall, was shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal in 2014, and his next YA novel, Concentr8, was shortlisted for the YA Book Prize 2016. His work has been translated into more than twenty languages. He lives in Edinburgh.

Reviews

Praise for The Wall

A novel for all ages that is full of heart, hope and humanity. A terrific achievement Suzi Feay, Financial Times

A haunting fable celebrating the healing power of nature The Guardian

Sutcliffe's fable, inspired by a visit to the West Bank, can't fail to excite and move Financial Times

A disturbing and thought-provoking book which simmers with heat, anger and fear Independent on Sunday

Will draw in young readers preoccupied with society, challenging parents, and their own fears ... An often suspenseful tale. New York Times

This is wholly realistic fiction detailing a boy's coming-of-age in a real-life political situation. Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Concentr8

A satire on modern urban life... It is a gritty, compelling eye-opener on the treatment of ADHD Daily Telegraph

There is political expose there is comedy and one hostage-taker even achieves a kind of tragic-hero status. This might just become a 21st-century YA classic Jewish Chronicle

Concentr8 by William Sutcliffe feels like a realism, though actually it's a fascinating dystopian satire and a critique of the over-diagnosis of ADHD, the way we treat young people more generally and the power of Big Pharma...A book with a serious mission. The Herald

About the Author

William Sutcliffe

William Sutcliffe is the author of five adult novels, including the international bestseller, Are You Experienced? His first novel for Young Adults, The Wall, was published in 2013 to much critical acclaim, including being shortlisted for the Guardian Fiction Prize. Circus of Thieves is his first novel for younger children.

William lives in Edinburgh with his wife and three children.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
272 pages

Author

William Sutcliffe
More books by William Sutcliffe

Publisher

Bloomsbury Childrens an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Publication date

21st September 2017

ISBN

9781408890196

Categories


Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****