Reader Reviewed Isadora Moon Goes on a School Trip by Harriet Muncaster
  

Isadora Moon Goes on a School Trip

Written by Harriet Muncaster

5+ readers   7+ readers   eBooks   

RRP £5.99

Notify me when available

As soon as this book is published we will send you an email.

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a nutshell: half-vampire, half-fairy, Isadora makes a new friend

Lively, told in short chapters and filled with illustrations this appealing series is perfect for newly independent readers. They’ll certainly be very taken with the eponymous Isadora: daughter of a vampire dad and fairy mum her heritage means she’s a bit of both, as reflected in the books’ pink and black colour scheme. In this adventure her class goes on a school trip to a local castle. Isadora and her dad discover a lonely little ghost and hope he’ll make new friends among Isadora’s classmates. But when the other children see him, they immediately run away in fear. It’s only when Isadora helps them see Oscar as another playfellow rather than as a ghost that they realise how much they like him. Fun and original, with an important message deftly delivered. ~ Andrea Reece

A message from the author about her inspiration for the character of Isadora Moon : There is actually quite a bit of history behind Isadora Moon. About ten years ago, on my art foundation course, I created a character called Victoria Stitch and wrote and illustrated a picture book about her. She was a grown up, naughty, slightly gothic, fairy type character and she had a Pink Rabbit who she always dragged around with her. Victoria Stitch became like my alter ego and I always kept her close to me and worked on her in my spare time. Over the years she evolved. She started with pink hair and then she turned even more gothic looking with black, messy hair and with bat wings instead of fairy wings. As my style of illustration changed, she changed too. She is extremely special to me. However, whenever I showed Victoria Stitch to publishers I was always told that she was ‘too mean,’ ‘too naughty,’ ‘too spiky,’ ‘not child friendly.’ Looking back, I can see what they mean. I decided to create a new, separate character who would be more suitable for children but with the black/pink/gothic aesthetics of Victoria Stitch - a younger, friendlier, sweeter version. So Isadora Moon was born! I also gave Isadora Moon fangs (unlike Victoria Stitch) as when I started to think about the backstory for her (why she has batwings, what species is she etc…) it made sense that her mum was a fairy and her dad was a vampire. This is why Isadora Moon is so special to me – because she was born out of a real passion project of mine. I absolutely adore her.

The series comprises:

Isadora Moon Goes to School

Isadora Moon Goes Camping

Isadora Moon Goes to the Ballet

Isadora Moon Has a Birthday

Isadora Moon Goes on a School Trip

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review the first title in the series, Isadora Moon Goes to School. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Diya Budhdeo, age 7 - 'This is one of my favourite ever books and I read this book quicker than I had read any other book before. This is perfect for girls my age and I can’t wait to read more. I love this book.'
  • Emma Radford (mum to Sam and Jack) - 'We loved Isadora Moon Goes to School...The illustrations were lovely and gave us lots to talk about. Both my boys are really keen to read more of Isadora's exploits!'
  • Tanya Thurling - 'the chapters are just the right length for one before bedtime...so I think this book is perfect if you want to progress to bigger books with your child...Isadora Moon who is half fairy and half vampire (which Eleanor LOVED. Possibly the coolest thing she's ever heard. Her words, not mine).'
  • Reece, age 6 - 'I like this book because I really like the pictures, they are pink and black.'
  • Star, age 7 - 'This book is 10/10 even though it is about vampire fairies.'
  • Olivier, age 7 - 'This book is funny because it makes you laugh. I really like the pictures.'
  • Leighton, age 7 - 'I like this book even though it is a girly book.'
  • Madison - 'I would give it 12/10 because the pictures are that pretty.'
  • Bran, age 7 - 'I give it 10/10 because it is funny and amazing.'
  • Melanie Daniels - 'A unique, fun and magical book about a little girl who isn't quite sure where she fits in best.... Isadora Moon is a wonderful heroine full of fun and surprises.'
  • Aggie Daniels - 'This book is full of lovely pictures and is a quick read, I finished it before teatime. Dramatic, exciting and wonderful.
  • Robyn, age 7 - 'A great book that had me hooked from the minute I started it. I'm sure it will be read many more times. Looking forward to more Isadora Moon already.'
  • Mira Ruby Lalji, age 6 - 'A thrilling, colourful first chapter book about being unique!  Recommended for all new readers who love fantasy!.. Harriet Muncaster used interesting words like campfire, snoozing, Bartholeme, gurgling and turret.  I like learning new words!'
  • James McNichol, age 6 - 'There wasn't anything about Isadora Moon that I didn't like.'
  • Caye Gould - 'A book that eases a child into taking the big step of starting school in a delightful way. An excellent read for parents and children alike.'
  • Seraphina Pope, age 7 - 'My daughter absolutely loved this book, it's actually the first book she picked and read all by herself. The illustrations are really lovely and probably helped to connect her with this character.'
  • Maya Lewis, age 8 - 'I thought Isadora Moon was really good! I liked it when Isadora's bunny let all the bats out!'

Synopsis

Isadora Moon Goes on a School Trip by Harriet Muncaster

Half vampire, half fairy, totally unique! Isadora Moon is special because she is different. Her mum is a fairy and her dad is a vampire and she is a bit of both. Isadora's class are going on a school trip to an old castle. The castle's a little bit spooky and it doesn't help that there's thunder and lightning outside. While Isadora investigates the castle dungeon she discovers a surprising new friend. He's a little different, like her, so Isadora's going to have to try and find a way of introducing him to her friends without them getting too much of a shock. With a gorgeous glittery cover, irresistible pink and black artwork throughout, and a totally unique heroine with an out-of-this-world family, this is a beautiful, charming, and funny series of first chapter books.

Perfect for fans of Claude, Dixie O'Day, and Squishy McFluff, Isadora Moon is the ideal choice for readers who want their magic and sparkle with a bit of bite!

Reviews

This lively celebration of difference and mixed family heritage boasts appealing two-colour pictures The Guardian

Highly Illustrated, eyecatching The Bookseller

About the Author

Harriet Muncaster

Harriet Muncaster has been drawing, writing and creating things for as long as she can remember. It was while at school that she discovered that being an illustrator and author was a real career path she could take. From that moment on Harriet knew exactly what she wanted to be! After completing a degree and MA in illustration, Harriet’s work was spotted by a publisher at Bologna book fair and she got her first book deal.

Harriet is inspired by anything magical, fantastical and glittery. She also has a great fascination for miniature things and owns a dollshouse in the shape of a castle.

Harriet lives in a village in Bedfordshire with her husband, Henry.

Author Q&A

What inspired you to write the Isadora Moon series? There is actually quite a bit of history behind Isadora Moon. About ten years ago, on my art foundation course, I created a character called Victoria Stitch and wrote and illustrated a picture book about her. She was a grown up, naughty, slightly gothic, fairy type character and she had a Pink Rabbit who she always dragged around with her. Victoria Stitch became like my alter ego and I always kept her close to me and worked on her in my spare time. Over the years she evolved. She started with pink hair and then she turned even more gothic looking with black, messy hair and with bat wings instead of fairy wings. As my style of illustration changed, she changed too. She is extremely special to me. However, whenever I showed Victoria Stitch to publishers I was always told that she was ‘too mean,’ ‘too naughty,’ ‘too spiky,’ ‘not child friendly.’ Looking back, I can see what they mean. I decided to create a new, separate character who would be more suitable for children but with the black/pink/gothic aesthetics of Victoria Stitch - a younger, friendlier, sweeter version. So Isadora Moon was born! I also gave Isadora Moon fangs (unlike Victoria Stitch) as when I started to think about the backstory for her (why she has batwings, what species is she etc…) it made sense that her mum was a fairy and her dad was a vampire. This is why Isadora Moon is so special to me – because she was born out of a real passion project of mine. I absolutely adore her.

If you had to choose, would you rather be a vampire or a fairy? I would definitely be a fairy because I love nature. Ideally I would be a miniature fairy, not a human size fairy, because I like the idea of being tiny. Also I would love to have fairy wings and naturally pink hair!

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
128 pages

Author

Harriet Muncaster
More books by Harriet Muncaster

Publisher

Oxford University Press

Publication date

24th August 2017

ISBN

9780192758538

Categories


I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****