This content is provided by Lovereading4kids.co.uk
Reader Reviewed
Witch Snitch by Sibéal Pounder
  

Witch Snitch

Sibéal Pounder

Part of the Witch Wars Series
7+ readers   Hallowe'en   9+ readers   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a nutshell: absolutely fabulous mix of magical fun and fashion

Hold on to your hats, it’s Witchoween in Sinksville, when everyone gets out their best party frocks and parties! As part of the celebrations Tiga has been asked to make a documentary about Sinksville’s most famous witches. Her friend Fluffanora has appointed herself Head of Wardrobe, but Tiga can’t help wondering why Peggy is so insistent that she and Fran are the directors … Sibeal Pounder’s stories fizz with fun and energy, and her characters grow more appealing with each book. Liberally sprinkled with Laura Ellen Anderson’s stylish black and white illustrations the books look gorgeous too and this one is filled with suggestions for ways readers can stage some Sinksville celebrations of their own. ~ Andrea Reece

One for fans of The Worst Witch, Harriet Whitehorn’s Violet stories and the Royal Babysitters series by Clementine Beauvais.

Reader Reviews

Some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were lucky enough to read and review the first in this series, Witch Wars. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Isabella Fitz-costa, age 8 - 'The illustrations are outstanding...I loved this book so much that I would like to read the next book in the series!!!'
  • Ella Meredith, age 8 - 'This book is about a girl called Tiger who become a witch. I would give it 5 stars.'
  • Lexie Partleton, age 8 -  'The craziest, funniest book I've ever read!'
  • Leoni Williams age 9 - 'I didn't really love all the fashion and dresses and shoes and stuff. I thought that was a bit boring. But my mum says that is because I'm a tomboy so other girls might like it.'
  • Keeley Spooner, age 10 - 'Some bits in Witch Wars let me down because there was a small bit of anger in the book.'
  • Emily Golding, age 7 ½ - 'it was hilarious - the names of the witches, where they lived and the competition that they have for the Witch Wars.  What would you do with a shrivelled head?'
  • Grace Cuskeran, age 11 - 'a brilliant book about a girl called Tiga who meets a fabulous fairy called Fran who takes Tiga down the sink pipes to a place called Ritzy City where she takes part in Witch Wars.'
  • Evie Aconley, age 8 - 'An extremely exciting fun story.'
  • Caitlin Hill, age 7 - 'Tiga Whicabim knows nothing about being a witch, she doesn't even know she is one! And now someone mysterious has entered her in a witch contest...Brilliantly written book and fab drawings.'
  • Millie Barrett, age 8 - 'I loved this book!  It is exciting because you never know who is going to win Witch Wars or who is going to be out in the next round. '
  • Chloe Fernandes, age 9 - 'A young girl called Tiga gets whisked off into a magical event called 'Witch Wars'. I thought this book was a good read but not one of my favourites.'
  • Jessica Banks, age 8 - 'I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book.  I liked the characters and the story.  The illustrations helped to bring the story to life. I would recommend this book.'
  • Jennifer Bridgeman, age 10 - 'Witch Wars is the funniest book I have read in ages.  The main character is a girl called Tiga Whicabim. Tiga gets whisked away to a place under the pipes and underground to a place, Ritzy city.'
  • Annabelle Cassidy, age 6 - 'This book has really funny bits, great characters, and a fast pace, making you feel that the race to be the winner is really thrilling.'

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we are delighted to be giving you a chance to win a wonderful family break. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Witch Snitch by Sibéal Pounder

Tiga and friends are famous throughout Sinkville for their part in the Witch Wars competition, but there's so much more of Sinkville to discover! Now, Ritzy City's Top Witch Peggy Pigwiggle has asked Tiga and Fran to make a TV documentary about the most interesting witches in town - with Fluffanora helping out as fashion adviser. But whilst Tiga enjoys making the documentary, she can't help but feel there's something going on behind her back ... This hilarious companion story sits alongside the main Witch Wars series as a standalone title, and is full of character profiles, facts and activities to fascinate fans and give them everything they need to create their very own Witch Wars party.

Reviews

Praise for the Witch Wars Series

“Fabulous fairies and fashion-forward witches battle it out in this lively read.” – The Observer

“Magic and mayhem rule in this ebullient romp of an adventure” – The Guardian

“Fizzing with fun…The short chapters and delightfully imaginative black and white illustrations make it easily accessible for young readers” – Daily Mail

“Completely bonkers fun, from the brilliant inventions (underwater beauty spas) to the glitzy characters.”
Mumsnet

“Silly spells, delectable dresses, magical mishaps and ridiculous riddles, this is a witch story like no other – and it’s a blast!” – The Bookseller

About the Author

Sibéal Pounder

Sibéal Pounder previously worked for the Financial Times, where she researched the How To Spend It section and wrote the For Goodness’ Sake column – interviewing everyone from Veronica Etro to Vivienne Westwood. As well as Bad Mermaids, she writes about fabulous witches and feisty fairies in Witch Wars, her first and much loved series for Bloomsbury. Witch Wars has sold over 50,000 copies and was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize and the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award.

author photo © Richard Grassie

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
272 pages

Author

Sibéal Pounder
More books by Sibéal Pounder

Author's Website

www.sibealpounder.com/

Publisher

Bloomsbury Childrens an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Publication date

5th October 2017

ISBN

9781408892046

Categories


Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****