Reader Reviewed We Come Apart by Sarah Crossan, Brian Conaghan
  

We Come Apart

Written by Sarah Crossan, Brian Conaghan

YA readers   Books of the Month   eBooks   UKLA 2018   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

January 2018 Book of the Month | Longlisted for the UKLA 2018 Book Award

In a nutshell: unputdownable story, beautifully told | Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan are two of our most garlanded YA authors: she won the 2016 Carnegie Medal, the UK’s top children’s book award; he has just been awarded the 2016 Costa Children’s Book Award. In this fine and extremely moving novel, they share the writing honours. The narrative is split between two young protagonists, English Jess, whose lines are written by Crossan, and Nicu, newly arrived from Romania, voiced by Conaghan. The two meet on a programme for young offenders and secretly, necessarily without the knowledge of friends and family, become close. We suspect it’s unlikely things will end well for these star-cross’d lovers but the authors keep us hoping for the happy ending we want for them and to the very last page. Nicu’s narrative in particular lightens the tone, sharp and often funny, his interior monologues disarmingly honest. The authors have chosen to write in blank verse, and it strips setting and emotions to the absolute essence, succinctly creating the dull North London streets, and distilling the characters’ experiences and emotions into spare, shining lines. Highly recommended. ~ Andrea Reece

Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to the review by one of the Lovereading4kids editorial experts some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel members were also lucky enough to read and review this title. Click here to read their full reviews.

  • Humaira, age 18  - 'I think this book is an important one. It's more than two kids falling in love. It's about how we see people and accept them for who they are...I love that no words were wasted telling this story. Truly beautiful and captivating.'
  • Rosa Boran, age 17 - 'A wonderful love story featuring two very damaged young people who blossom when they find one another. A gem.'
  • Rebekah Marsh, age 14 - 'I was unable to loosen my grip on it for hours - a totally inspirational and unique read that will never be topped by another young adult novel.'
  • Sofia, age 17 - 'A heart-breaking portrayal of friendship, love and being different.'
  • Edel Waugh  - 'I recommend this to all fans of a good tearjerker.'
  • Bethan Scarr, age 15 - 'A read in one sitting, with intriguing characters who you really get to know.'
  • Ruth Ward, Library & Resources Manager, Great Torrington School - 'The writing flows with a beautiful rhythm yet the story is as bittersweet as it could be.  Recommended!'
  • Kirsty Wray, age 13 - 'Written in poetry, this novel is a beautiful, heart-breaking and bittersweet story of friendship. Jess and Nicu sacrifice their own chances for each other which is narrated so brilliantly well.'
  • Great Torrington School, Year 9 Student - 'I thought this book was interesting. The storyline was shaped well around the characters’ lives and everything seems vividly realistic.'
  • Aimee Sweet, age 15 - 'We Come Apart is a refreshing read that brings to mind the hardships people face every day and the fact that we do NOT have to face them alone. Brilliant.'

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we are delighted to be giving you a chance to win a wonderful family break. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

We Come Apart by Sarah Crossan, Brian Conaghan

YA stars Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan join forces to break readers' hearts in this contemporary story of star-cross'd lovers.

Jess would never have looked twice at Nicu if her friends hadn't left her in the lurch. Nicu is all big eyes and ill-fitting clothes, eager as a puppy, even when they're picking up litter in the park for community service. He's so not her type. Appearances matter to Jess. She's got a lot to hide. Nicu thinks Jess is beautiful. His dad brought Nicu and his mum here for a better life, but now all they talk about is going back home to find Nicu a wife. The last thing Nicu wants is to get married. He wants to get educated, do better, stay here in England. But his dad's fists are the most powerful force in Nicu's life, and in the end, he'll have to do what his dad wants.

As Nicu and Jess get closer, their secrets come to the surface like bruises. The only safe place they have is with each other. But they can't be together, forever, and stay safe - can they?

An extraordinary, high-impact, high-emotion collaboration between two stars of YA. Perfect for fans of Patrick Ness, Malorie Blackman, Rainbow Rowell and John Green.

Reviews

This is a verse novel, consummately crafted, where the position of each word on the page is as important as its meaning... a beautiful tale of love, hope and survival Guardian

Complex and original...The outlook may seem bleak, but don't be put off: this beautifully crafted novel has genuine joy at its heart for the light and hope that friendship can bring in a chaotic, unpredictable world Observer

It crams into its two vivid voices ideas about prejudice, immigration, forced marriage, abuse and poverty, and movingly transcends issues to feel universal Sunday Times

Extraordinarily gripping Irish Independent

About the Author

Sarah Crossan has lived in Dublin, London and New York, and now lives in Hertfordshire. She graduated with a degree in philosophy and literature before training as an English and drama teacher at Cambridge University. She received the 2016 CILIP Carnegie Medal for her astonishing novel One, which also won the YA Book Prize,CBI Book of the Year Award and the CliPPA Poetry Award. Since completing a masters in creative writing, she has been working to promote creative writing in schools. Look at her website and on Twitter

Brian Conaghan was born and raised in the Scottish town of Coatbridge but now lives in Dublin. He has a Master of Letters in Creative Writing from the University of Glasgow. For many years Brian worked as a teacher and taught in Scotland, Italy and Ireland. His novels include The Boy Who Made it Rain, published in 2011, When Mr Dog Bites which was shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal in 2015, attracted both praise and controversy for its honest, moving and humorous depiction of a teenage boy with Tourette's syndrome and The Bombs That Brought Us Together, published in 2016 to critical acclaim. View Brian Conaghan on Twitter

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
336 pages

Author

Sarah Crossan, Brian Conaghan
More books by Sarah Crossan, Brian Conaghan

Publisher

Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Publication date

11th January 2018

ISBN

9781408878880

Categories


I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****