Reader Reviewed The Day That Aliens (Nearly) Ate Our Brains by Tom McLaughlin
  

The Day That Aliens (Nearly) Ate Our Brains

Written by Tom McLaughlin

7+ readers   9+ readers   If They Like...They'll Love   eBooks   

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a nutshell: very funny cartoony alien invasion story

The imminent destruction of Earth is the subject of Tom McLaughlin’s typically hilarious new book, though he manages to slip in a few comments on our world and those who run it too. Freddy just wants to watch the wrestling, not start a space war! How could he know his DIY satellite dish would transmit signals to aliens from the Planet Twang and encourage them to start an invasion? Freddy and his friend Sal manage to get hold of Nasa and the White House and before long the world’s leaders have assembled in Freddy’s living room, much to his mum’s annoyance – she has to tell them off more than once. Despite his threats, alien Alan is a lot less terrifying than first thought, but it’s funny too how an invading force makes everyone suddenly get along; after all, ‘Nobody’s perfect’, says Freddy, ‘We’re all just human.’ Clever, ingenious and irresistible fun! ~ Andrea Reece

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Gene Macaulay, age 6 - 'I give this book ten stars out of ten because it was really funny and even made my Mum laugh out loud.'
  • Angelito Francisco, age 6 - 'A really funny book that makes you laugh out loud, suitable for all ages, boys and girls.'
  • Alexander Bisland, age 12 - 'This book is about an ordinary boy called Freddy and his best friend Sal. It is set in an ordinary house, on an ordinary street, in an ordinary town of Wolverhampton. But they aren’t going to be ordinary for long!'
  • Jake Parke, age 11 - Wellington Primary Academy - 'I really enjoyed reading this book; it was very funny from beginning to end.'
  • Prisha Yadav, age 8 - 'Great Book with funny adventures of dealing with an alien who wished to end the world.'
  • Rob, age 8 - 'This is a very funny book.'
  • Ethan Watkin, age 10 - 'it was funny and adventurous...I think this book was like none I had ever read before.'     
  • Ollie Hopwood and Toby Hopwood, age 8 & 6 - 'The Day that Aliens (Nearly) Ate our Brains by Tom McLaughlin is a fast paced adventure with plenty of silliness of the kind my boys adore...It is funny and cheeky enough to be very engaging for even reluctant readers.' 
  • Mark Dunn, age 7 - 'Choc-full of funny characters doing silly things, I loved this book as it made me laugh so much and there’s a great twist at the end.' 
  • Annie, age 8 - 'A laugh out loud funny book which every one will enjoy especially children aged 8. I really recommend it.'
  • Zara Sheikh, age 9 - 'I would definitely read another book by this author.'

Synopsis

The Day That Aliens (Nearly) Ate Our Brains by Tom McLaughlin

A laugh-a-minute, action-packed alien adventure perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and Frank Cottrell Boyce. Best friends Freddy and Sal have accidentally intercepted a message from Alan - a spectacularly grumpy, brain-munching alien from outer space. Alan has only one message. Earth is going to be invaded in exactly ten hours' time. Soon the police, Nasa and even Presidents from around the world are getting involved - and Freddy is about to become the most famous kid on planet earth for all the wrong reasons. Wolverhampton, we have a problem.

Reviews

In a hilarious romp that moves fast enough to keep young readers on the edge of their seats, several world presidents, a farting policeman and a very angry lollipop lady join the fight to save Earth and humanity. But who will ultimately succeed? Incidental black-and-white illustrations and plenty of alien-related activities add to the enjoyment of this brilliant first chapters book. * BookTrust * The humour (the eating of brains, the effects of cheese and onion pasties on the police chief's digestive system) will appeal to many a newly confident reader and Freddy and Sal are engaging characters who try to sort out the invasion they have inadvertently started. * School Zone * [...] a story packed with jokes to keep young readers entertained. * Sunday Express Magazine * My son found it absolutely hilarious...definitely a laugh out loud book. * Toppsta * Brilliant funny story that my daughter loved reading, she says she can't wait for another one. * Toppsta *

About the Author

Tom McLaughlin

Before becoming a writer and illustrator Tom McLaughlin spent 9 years working as political cartoonist for The Western Morning News thinking up silly jokes about even sillier politicians. Then, in 2004 Tom took the plunge into illustrating and writing his own books. Since then he has written and illustrated picture books as well as working on animated TV shows for Disney and Cartoon Network.

Tom lives in Devon and his hobbies include drinking tea, looking out of the window, and biscuits. His hates include spiders, running out of biscuits, and writing biographies.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
176 pages
Interest Age: From 7 to 12 years

Author

Tom McLaughlin
More books by Tom McLaughlin

Author's Website

www.tommclaughlin.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

4th January 2018

ISBN

9781406375794

Categories


Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****