Reader Reviewed Hamish and the Baby BOOM! by Danny Wallace
  

Hamish and the Baby BOOM!

Written by Danny Wallace
Illustrated by Jamie Littler

9+ readers   Books of the Month   7+ readers   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

March 2018 Book of the Month | In a nutshell: wildly comic adventures |

Danny Wallace is a very funny man, and his Hamish stories, brilliantly illustrated by Jamie Littler, are an unbeatable mix of comedy and adventure. Hamish has been left in charge of his hometown Starkley while his secret-agent-type dad is away on important business. It’s not long (page 28) before Hamish suspects there’s something going on. Basically, the town is under threat from its babies, who are rising up en masse – a terrifying thought, when there’s more than one baby born every minute and they know just how to get what they want. Can Hamish and the PDF get to the nappy-clad bottom of things before it’s too late? Quirky, original, fast-moving adventure, deftly delivered – do yourself a favour and make it a bedtime read aloud. ~ Andrea Reece

Reader Reviews

Some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were lucky enough to read and review the first in this series, Hamish and the Worldstoppers. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Tomasz Hawryszczuk, age 10 - 'The second book in the series following the life of Hamish Ellerby from a really boring town which becomes less boring and full of adventure and excitement!'
  • Daniel Bisland, age 8 - 'I thoroughly enjoyed this book because it’s funny, full of adventure and it’s different to other children’s books. I recommend it to 8+ boys, although girls might enjoy it too. I give it 1 million stars!'
  • Sam Harper, age 11 - 'Another absolutely fantastic Hamish adventure which had me snortling (a cross between snorting and chortling with laughter) to myself. Brilliant!'
  • Tariq Mustfa, age 10 - 'I like Hamish and the Neverpeople because it is fun to read who we nearly were but are nowhere near (the Neverpeople) have to save the world from the evil Scarmarsh.'
  • Aonghus Anderson - 'It is truly amazing how the author makes these stories up, they are wonderful. It is a book that will test your imagination to the limits.'
  • Rafferty Amor, age 9 - 'This book is very exciting and I always wanted to stay up late reading.'
  • Toby, age 9 - 'This book is great fun if not a bit peculiar. It really gets your mind whirring and your imagination soar. Hamish and his friends go on an amazing journey to 'otherearth'
  • Louie Mee - 'This was a really great book...it was soooo good.'

Win books 1 & 2 in the Rory Branagan (Detective) Series!

To mark the publication of the second book in the Rory Branagan (Detective) series, we are giving away books 1 & 2 to to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Draw closes on 9 July 2018. The winners will be notified by 16 July 2018.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 09/07/2018

Synopsis

Hamish and the Baby BOOM! by Danny Wallace

Get ready for another hilarious adventure from bestselling author Danny Wallace brought to life with illustrations from Jamie Littler, perfect for fans of David Walliams, Roald Dahl, David Baddiel and David Solomons!

Beware the Babies ... they CRY ... they POO ... they ATTACK! Hamish and the PDF have been left in charge of Starkley while his dad and the rest of the Belasko agents are off hunting down the universe's second-most dangerous villain - Axel Scarmarsh!

But nothing bad will happen while he's gone, right? WRONG!

Suddenly the babies of Starkley are on the rampage and causing chaos - but only Hamish and his friends seem to be worried about the odd behaviour. What's behind the baby uprising and can the mini mutiny be stopped before EVERY BABY ON EARTH rises up?!

For more Hamish fun log-on to www.worldofhamish.com

Reviews

'HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA!' Frank Cottrell Boyce

'Hilarious' Tim Minchin

'Danny Wallace and Jamie Littler's books contain all the wit and warmth of Dahl and Blake at their best. Irresistible.' Phil Earle

'Like David Walliams, Danny Wallace is a comedian turned children's author. Of the two, Wallace's writing is funnier' The Sunday Times, Children's Book of the Week

About the Author

Danny Wallace

Best-selling writer, Danny Wallace, turned his hand to children’s fction with his debut Hamish and the WorldStoppers. Filled with his trademark humour, this fantasy adventure series was inspired by the books that set Wallace’s own young imagination alight. Everyone loves Hamish! The frst two books have received fantastic praise and children nationwide have devoured his stories. Hamish is a thoroughly endearing character and Danny’s writing has a sense of humour that appeals to kids and parents alike. Danny has collaborated with leading illustrator Jamie Littler, who brings the world of Hamish to life with his quirky illustrations that ooze child appeal.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Author

Danny Wallace
More books by Danny Wallace

Author's Website

dannywallace.com/

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd

Publication date

8th March 2018

ISBN

9781471167829

Categories


It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****