Reader Reviewed Uncle Shawn and Bill and the Pajimminy-Crimminy Unusual Adventure by A. L. Kennedy
  

Uncle Shawn and Bill and the Pajimminy-Crimminy Unusual Adventure

Written by A. L. Kennedy
Illustrated by Gemma Correll
Part of the Uncle Shawn Series

7+ readers   9+ readers   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a nutshell: Dahl-esque story in defence of Unusualness

Children who like their stories filled with larger-than-life characters, crazy comedy and the reassuring sense that love and goodness will win out, will really enjoy A.L Kennedy’s Uncle Shawn books. In the first book in this series, little Badger Bill needed rescuing from a particularly nasty couple; now the tables are turned and everyone’s best friend Uncle Shawn has been locked up by the awful ‘Dr’ P’Klawz, whose ambition is to rid the country of all types of fun and – above all – Unusualness. The action is fast and very funny, and leaves readers in no doubt that unusualness in every form is to be encouraged. Filled with some wonderful images (P’Klawz grins ‘like a cruel iceberg’) it’s made for reading aloud, and Gemma Correll’s black and white illustrations are an added treat. ~ Andrea Reece

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel members were also lucky enough to read and review the first title in the series, Uncle Shawn and Bill and The Almost Entirely Unplanned Adventure. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Sam Radford, age 7 - 'A funny book that had Mummy and Sam laughing together - the pictures/captions make it even more comical.'
  • Prisha Yadav, age 8 - 'A book with amazing planned and unplanned rescuing adventures and informative illustrations...This was the best fiction book I have ever read and I would like to recommend this book to young children.'
  • Ollie Hopwood and Toby Hopwood, age 8 and 6 - 'A very funny modern fable about friendship and bravery that had us laughing out loud...this book is a sensitive and joyful surprise.'
  • Lucy Collings, age 7 - 'I liked this book because it is funny and exciting. Badger Bill needs rescuing from two nasty sisters.  Will Uncle Shawn get there in time? I love adventure books so I really enjoyed reading this and I liked the funny animal characters.  Definitely read this book!'
  • Jai, age 7 - 'This book is really imaginative and I think my friends would really enjoy it.' 
  • Amatullah Khatun, age 8 - 'This book will have you racing through the pages to find out what happens next! A great book for fans of Mr Gum and The Bolds books...The illustrations by Gemma Correll are splendid and really bring this story to life.'     

Synopsis

Uncle Shawn and Bill and the Pajimminy-Crimminy Unusual Adventure by A. L. Kennedy

Badger Bill loves his best friend Uncle Shawn. But he has started to notice that Uncle Shawn is a bit unusual. Dr P'Klawz hates Uncle Shawn. He has also noticed that Uncle Shawn is a bit unusual - pajimminy crimminy unusual, in fact. It looks like Badger Bill is going to need a plan, or Uncle Shawn might be sent to the Maximum Security Institute of Unusualness for ever. But all Bill has to help him are four bickering llamas, one pirate boy and one invisible girl. What could possibly go wrong?

About the Author

A.L. Kennedy is the author of three works of non-fiction, and five short story collections including All The Rage. Her seventh novel Serious Sweet will appear this year. She won the Costa Book of the Year for her novel Day, has twice been selected as one of Granta's Best of Young British Novelists and is a Fellow of both the Royal Society of Arts and the Royal Society of Literature. She is also a dramatist and broadcaster and she has a regular blog with The Guardian Online. She lives in London.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
272 pages
Interest Age: From 7 to 9 years

Author

A. L. Kennedy
More books by A. L. Kennedy

Author's Website

www.a-l-kennedy.co.uk/

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

5th April 2018

ISBN

9781406360509

Categories


I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****