Bad Mermaids: On the Rocks by Sibéal Pounder
  

Bad Mermaids: On the Rocks

Written by Sibéal Pounder
Illustrated by Jason Cockcroft
Part of the Bad Mermaids Series

7+ readers   9+ readers   Summer Reading   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a nutshell: sparkling, funny underwater adventures | Mermaids Beattie, Zelda and Mimi are absolutely fabulous! Their second adventure streams by, full of underwater hi-jinks all driven by friendship and fun. The little mermaids are in the Crocodile Kingdom (it’s in the middle of the Indian Ocean) where nothing is quite as it seems. Meanwhile, on land Paris, self-described Gadget Queen, has discovered a plot to destroy the mermaid world. With gorgeous illustrations by Jason Cockroft too, this is stylish, irresistible reading for anyone who’s ever imagined themselves with a tail. If you’ve got young readers in the house, send yourself a crabagram reminder to get a copy. ~ Andrea Reece

Required reading for fans of Sibeal Pounder’s Witch Wars series or The Little Mermaid.

Win books 1 & 2 in the Rory Branagan (Detective) Series!

To mark the publication of the second book in the Rory Branagan (Detective) series, we are giving away books 1 & 2 to to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Draw closes on 9 July 2018. The winners will be notified by 16 July 2018.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 09/07/2018

Synopsis

Bad Mermaids: On the Rocks by Sibéal Pounder

Mermaids Beattie, Mimi and Zelda, along with Steve the talking seahorse, are trapped aboard the spooky ship the Merry Mary, heading for the legendary (and super-stylish) Crocodile Kingdom. On land, Paris Silkensocks, ice-cream seller and GADGET QUEEN, has uncovered a plot to destroy the mermaid world.

Can Paris find the mermaids in time? Can Beattie avert a Crocodile Kingdom crabtastrophe? Can seahorses get seasick? All this and more will be revealed!

Featuring magical mysteries, fabulous fashion and a snappier than average transport system, the second Bad Mermaids adventure brings a whole new twist to the underwater world of mermaids. If you enjoyed Witch Wars, The Little Mermaid or Mabel Jones, you'll love this!

Reviews

Twenty thousand laughs under the sea. Dive into a fin-tastic, madcap adventure that's funnier than being tickled by a giant octopus. Bad Mermaids - swimming with snarks Award-winning author David Solomons

From the author of the brilliantly funny Witch Wars comes a brand new series set in an underwater shell-studded metropolis. Get ready for some feisty mermaids, evil piranhas and magical mystery mayhem -- Fiona Noble Bpokseller

Funny, fishy and FANTASTIC (and that says a lot coming from someone with a mermaid fear) Bestselling author Pamela Butchart

You'll laugh your tail off - another winner from our favourite author Bestselling author Rob Biddulph

Bad Mermaids is tons of fun: stylish, packed with laughs and boasting a fab talking seahorse. The Little Mermaid meets Gossip Girl Abi Elphinstone

Sibeal has done it again. Bad Mermaids is a fishy romp through a hilarious new world, rich in the kind of gorgeous detail that young readers love. Crabagram just in - Bad Mermaids is hilarious! Marianne Levy

About the Author

Sibéal Pounder

Sibéal Pounder previously worked for the Financial Times, where she researched the How To Spend It section and wrote the For Goodness’ Sake column – interviewing everyone from Veronica Etro to Vivienne Westwood. As well as Bad Mermaids, she writes about fabulous witches and feisty fairies in Witch Wars, her first and much loved series for Bloomsbury. Witch Wars has sold over 50,000 copies and was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize and the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award.

author photo © Richard Grassie

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
256 pages

Author

Sibéal Pounder
More books by Sibéal Pounder

Author's Website

www.sibealpounder.com/

Publisher

Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Publication date

14th June 2018

ISBN

9781408877142

Categories


I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****