Three Fishing Brothers Gruff by Ben Galbraith
  

Three Fishing Brothers Gruff

Written by Ben Galbraith

3+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Based loosely on ‘The Three Billy Goats Gruff’ this retelling is brilliantly conceived and is packed with humour and passion.

Synopsis

Three Fishing Brothers Gruff by Ben Galbraith

Once upon a time, there were three fishing brothers called Gruff. They were mean and greedy fishermen and fished until there were no more fish to be fished. This book presents an ecological tale about caring for our environment and protecting earth's resources.

Reviews

Superbly illustrated ... combines an important message with a cracking story Carousel In a league of its own. The story line if engaging, the illustrations are stunning [and] there is a thought-provoking message at its centre Adoption.Net A deceptively simple picture book with a powerful biting message ... neither prosy nor preachy, but it is uncompromising. I loved it. School Librarian It has a strong ecological message. With striking collage artwork and die-cut portholes, this is an impressive first book by a New Zealand-based author and artist. The Children's Bookseller With its striking collage, peep-through pages, wit and sound ecological message about greed, pollution and over-fishing, Ben Galbraith's The Fishing Brothers Gruff is a handsome action adventure for 4-7s in which a minke whale takes on three villainous despoilers of the sea and their big machinery. Nicolette Jones in The Sunday Times ...a sound ecological tale of overfishing. Superbly illustrated, this story from New Zealand is timely. It combines an important message with a cracking story. Carousel Having both local and international appeal The Fishing Brothers Gruff is an impressive, if not flawless, debut, promising much and, for the most part, delivering. Mapgies witty and intelligent... a very topical story with a satisfying ending that will give young readers plenty to think about. New Zealand Herald compelling... setting and characterisation... Visually the book impresses... Irish Times ...unusual and distinctive picture book... the Three Fishing Brothers Gruff is in a league of its own. The story line is engaging, the illustrations sutnning, there is a thought-provoking message at its centre... www.adoption-net.co.uk Working very much in the vein of Lane Smith, Galbraith produces a book both visually hip and handsome. Publishers Weekly 'witty reworking of the familiar fairytale...' ... 'affecting cautionary tale for young children about the harm we can do our environment by overfishing and polluting our seas. Child Education

About the Author

Ben Galbraith was born in a small town called Gisborne on the East Coast of New Zealand in 1980. After High School, Ben left beach life to go to Design School in Wellington majoring in Illustration. After graduation, he moved back to Gisborne where he lives with his mother and brother. Now he works at a Printing House as a Graphic Designer, whilst working freelance on his illustration career. Fishing Brothers Gruff is Ben's first picture book and he absolutely loved writing and illustrating his own story. He likes scanning textures into the computer to use in his artwork. At Design school, he got into trouble for scanning real, smelly dead fish! Other unusual facts include the fact that Ben is colour blind! All his drawings from when he was a child have purple skies and all self potraits have green freckles! Ben loves the ocean and as well as being a mad keen surfer he is also fascinated by fish!

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
32 pages

Author

Ben Galbraith
More books by Ben Galbraith

Publisher

Hodder & Stoughton Childrens Division

Publication date

19th April 2007

ISBN

9780340893425

Categories


I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools