Danger Zone: The Devil's Breath by David Gilman
  

Danger Zone: The Devil's Breath

Written by David Gilman

9+ readers   Debuts of the Month   11+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Danger Zone is a brand new blockbuster adventure series by debut novelist David Gilman that boys and girls of 9 upwards will lap up with elacrity. Fans of Alex Rider and Young Bond will love the 15 yearold all-action hero, Max Gordon too. Fantastic plot twists and drama reminiscent of the author’s TV drama scriptwriting as well as his time as a paratrooper are readily apparent. In fact, there seem to be more death defying action scenes than in a Bond movie.

The Devil’s Breath is the first in the Danger Zone series and stampeding buffalo, lethal scorpions, anicient tribes and prophecies await you. Each one in the series will be set in a different continent – this one is mostly in southern Africa - with adventure from all over the world, some places you will have never heard of as well, but there will be one thread in the story common to each, which is Max’s battle against the threat of ecological disaster that in turn will give each book a current and exciting edge from everything else on the market. Our test readers loved it, both boys and girls and the adults at Lovereading4kids devoured it too.

Be sure to check out the brand new adventure Danger Zone: Ice Claw.

Synopsis

Danger Zone: The Devil's Breath by David Gilman

The Devil’s Breath is the first incredible book, in a blockbuster new adventure series for boys and girls. Soon after excaping an assassin that burst from the shadows to try and kill him in the dark windswept grounds of his school on Dartmoor, Max Gordon discovers that his explorer father has gone missing. Max is determined to find him whatever dangers may lay in his path. A secret clue leads Max to the inhospitable wilderness of Namibia and the discovery of a potentially massive ecological disaster masterminded by the very powerful and completely ruthless businessman Shaka Chang. Whoever is behind Max’s fathers disappearance is determined to get rid of Max too. For good

Reviews

'David Gilman's The Devil's Breath takes no hostages in an exciting fast-paced story that never lets up.' Nicholas Tucker, Independent

About the Author

David Gilman

David Gilman is the successful author of the Max Gordon: Danger Zone series of eco-adventures. Monkey and Me is his first standalone novel for children. David is also an award-winning screenwriter and has written for successful long-running series like Dalziel and Pascoe and A Touch of Frost. Before becoming a writer, David was a fire-fighter, a photographer and a soldier in the parachute regiment’s Reconnaissance Platoon.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
400 pages
Interest Age: From 9

Author

David Gilman
More books by David Gilman

Author's Website

www.davidgilman.com/home/in...

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Penguin Books Ltd

Publication date

4th June 2007

ISBN

9780141323022

Categories


We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools