The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Basil by Wiley Miller
  

The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Basil

Written by Wiley Miller

5+ readers   7+ readers   

RRP £9.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

A wonderful debut from an incredibly talented wordsmith and illustrator. Fans of The Wizard of Oz and James and the Giant Peach will love Basil and his erstwhile adventures. Basil is an ordinary boy living a very ordinary life in a lighthouse, but all that is about to change. Full of delightfully colourful illustrations, the story of Basil will delight those children who have developed the reading bug and want a real adventure to read alone.

Synopsis

The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Basil by Wiley Miller

Basil Pepperell is bored by his life and longs to break free from the lighthouse he calls home. At the invitation of the wonderfully eccentric professor who appears at Basil's window steering a flying boat, Basil travels to another dimension where he ends up saving the fantastic city of Helios from destruction at the hands of an evil genius.

Reviews

'The total package makes for an exciting, accessible, well-produced short novel, perfect for those just beginning to get to grips with chapter books'

About the Author

Wiley Miller
Wiley Miller has always had one simple goal: "Produce the funniest, best-drawn cartoon possible, regardless of theme, subject matter or setting."

In 1988, Wiley was named Best Editorial Cartoonist by the California Newspaper Publishers Association. He won the prestigious Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Award for editorial cartooning in 1991.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
128 pages

Author

Wiley Miller
More books by Wiley Miller

Author's Website

www.bloomsbury.com/Authors/...

Publisher

Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

Publication date

4th February 2008

ISBN

9780747588986

Categories


I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools