The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Basil by Wiley Miller
  

The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Basil

Written by Wiley Miller

5+ readers   7+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

A wonderful debut from an incredibly talented wordsmith and illustrator. Fans of The Wizard of Oz and James and the Giant Peach will love Basil and his erstwhile adventures. Basil is an ordinary boy living a very ordinary life in a lighthouse, but all that is about to change. Full of delightfully colourful illustrations, the story of Basil will delight those children who have developed the reading bug and want a real adventure to read alone.

Win a Bear Hunt Goodie Bag!

The arrival of spring brings 2 new books based on the world of We're Going on a Bear Hunt by Michael Rosen and Helen Oxenbury, especially to encourage your children to get out and about and explore the outdoors this Easter.

And we have copies of My Explorer's Journal and My Adventure Field Guide to give away!
ONE LUCKY WINNER will get a copy of both My Explorer's Journal and My Adventure Field Guide, a DVD of We're Going on a Bear Hunt animation, a poster, and a small cuddly bear. THREE RUNNERS-UP will receive a copy of each book as runner up prizes.

To have a chance of winning one of these super prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 3 May 2017. The winners will be notified by 15 May 2017.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 03/05/2017

Synopsis

The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Basil by Wiley Miller

Basil Pepperell is bored by his life and longs to break free from the lighthouse he calls home. At the invitation of the wonderfully eccentric professor who appears at Basil's window steering a flying boat, Basil travels to another dimension where he ends up saving the fantastic city of Helios from destruction at the hands of an evil genius.

Reviews

'The total package makes for an exciting, accessible, well-produced short novel, perfect for those just beginning to get to grips with chapter books'

About the Author

Wiley Miller
Wiley Miller has always had one simple goal: "Produce the funniest, best-drawn cartoon possible, regardless of theme, subject matter or setting."

In 1988, Wiley was named Best Editorial Cartoonist by the California Newspaper Publishers Association. He won the prestigious Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Award for editorial cartooning in 1991.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
128 pages

Author

Wiley Miller
More books by Wiley Miller

Author's Website

www.bloomsbury.com/Authors/...

Publisher

Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

Publication date

4th February 2008

ISBN

9780747588986

Categories


I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools