The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Basil by Wiley Miller

The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Basil

Written by Wiley Miller

5+ readers   7+ readers   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

A wonderful debut from an incredibly talented wordsmith and illustrator. Fans of The Wizard of Oz and James and the Giant Peach will love Basil and his erstwhile adventures. Basil is an ordinary boy living a very ordinary life in a lighthouse, but all that is about to change. Full of delightfully colourful illustrations, the story of Basil will delight those children who have developed the reading bug and want a real adventure to read alone.


The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Basil by Wiley Miller

Basil Pepperell is bored by his life and longs to break free from the lighthouse he calls home. At the invitation of the wonderfully eccentric professor who appears at Basil's window steering a flying boat, Basil travels to another dimension where he ends up saving the fantastic city of Helios from destruction at the hands of an evil genius.


'The total package makes for an exciting, accessible, well-produced short novel, perfect for those just beginning to get to grips with chapter books'

About the Author

Wiley Miller
Wiley Miller has always had one simple goal: "Produce the funniest, best-drawn cartoon possible, regardless of theme, subject matter or setting."

In 1988, Wiley was named Best Editorial Cartoonist by the California Newspaper Publishers Association. He won the prestigious Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Award for editorial cartooning in 1991.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


128 pages


Wiley Miller
More books by Wiley Miller


Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

Publication date

4th February 2008




We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Lovereading 4 schools