The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Basil by Wiley Miller
  

The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Basil

Written by Wiley Miller

5+ readers   7+ readers   

RRP £9.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

A wonderful debut from an incredibly talented wordsmith and illustrator. Fans of The Wizard of Oz and James and the Giant Peach will love Basil and his erstwhile adventures. Basil is an ordinary boy living a very ordinary life in a lighthouse, but all that is about to change. Full of delightfully colourful illustrations, the story of Basil will delight those children who have developed the reading bug and want a real adventure to read alone.

Synopsis

The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Basil by Wiley Miller

Basil Pepperell is bored by his life and longs to break free from the lighthouse he calls home. At the invitation of the wonderfully eccentric professor who appears at Basil's window steering a flying boat, Basil travels to another dimension where he ends up saving the fantastic city of Helios from destruction at the hands of an evil genius.

Reviews

'The total package makes for an exciting, accessible, well-produced short novel, perfect for those just beginning to get to grips with chapter books'

About the Author

Wiley Miller
Wiley Miller has always had one simple goal: "Produce the funniest, best-drawn cartoon possible, regardless of theme, subject matter or setting."

In 1988, Wiley was named Best Editorial Cartoonist by the California Newspaper Publishers Association. He won the prestigious Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Award for editorial cartooning in 1991.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
128 pages

Author

Wiley Miller
More books by Wiley Miller

Author's Website

www.bloomsbury.com/Authors/...

Publisher

Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

Publication date

4th February 2008

ISBN

9780747588986

Categories


We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools