War of the Witches by Maite Carranza
  

War of the Witches

Written by Maite Carranza

13+ readers   11+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

This is the perfect read for fans of Buffy, Charmed and W.I.T.C.H. Evocative, timeless storytelling that delves deep into the bond between mothers and daughters and the mysteries of growing up. For all those magic and astrology obsessed teenagers this is the novel for you.

War of the Witches has been a major bestseller in Spain, Spanish being the author's native tongue and has now been translated for the UK market by Noel Baca Castex and the title, will I'm sure be on the shortlist for the Marsh Award in Translation later this year.

Synopsis

War of the Witches by Maite Carranza

When her mother disappears without a trace, Anaid is baffled. Taken in by friends, she learns a shocking truth: her mother is a witch, but not just any witch ...She is the chosen one who is prophesied to end a bloody war with the cruel Odish clans who are intent on attaining eternal life, at whatever cost. As Anaid struggles with this discovery, she starts developing powers of her own, and sets out on a dangerous journey to rescue her mother and, ultimately, herself.

This magical fantasy by internationally acclaimed author Maite Carranza delves deeply into the unspoken ties between mothers and daughters and the mysteries of growing up.

Reviews

'The witchcraft aspects of the story are skillfully brought to life, as is the Pyrenean landscape. Fans of Buffy, Potter and Twilight, form an orderly queue'

'This magical fantasy has enough invention, adventure and teenage tension running through it to satisfy any young woman who's yearned for a little more magic in her life'

.co.uk 'If you're a fan of the Twilight series, or are partial to a bit of Buffy or Charmed, or are hocus-pocus bonkers, this is one for you ... Mysterious and gripping, War of the Witches is magical in more ways than one!

.com

About the Author

Maite Carranza

Maite Carranza (Barcelona, 1958) is a writer and scriptwriter. She has a degree in Anthropology, writes fiction for children and young people as well as television scripts, while also teaching Scriptwriting at the university.

She has been awarded the 1987 Serra d'Or Critics' Prize, the 1987 Folch i Torres Prize, the 1989 Joaquim Ruyra Prize and the 2002 EDEBÉ Prize. Her works have been translated into English, French, German, Dutch, Portuguese, Greek and Slovakian. The majority of her books have been translated into Spanish and some into Basque and Galician.

Besides her works for children and young people, she has written plays that have been staged and novels for adults.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Author

Maite Carranza
More books by Maite Carranza

Author's Website

www.maitecarranza.com/

Publisher

Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

Publication date

2nd February 2009

ISBN

9780747588535

Categories


It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools