War of the Witches by Maite Carranza

War of the Witches

Written by Maite Carranza

13+ readers   11+ readers   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

This is the perfect read for fans of Buffy, Charmed and W.I.T.C.H. Evocative, timeless storytelling that delves deep into the bond between mothers and daughters and the mysteries of growing up. For all those magic and astrology obsessed teenagers this is the novel for you.

War of the Witches has been a major bestseller in Spain, Spanish being the author's native tongue and has now been translated for the UK market by Noel Baca Castex and the title, will I'm sure be on the shortlist for the Marsh Award in Translation later this year.


War of the Witches by Maite Carranza

When her mother disappears without a trace, Anaid is baffled. Taken in by friends, she learns a shocking truth: her mother is a witch, but not just any witch ...She is the chosen one who is prophesied to end a bloody war with the cruel Odish clans who are intent on attaining eternal life, at whatever cost. As Anaid struggles with this discovery, she starts developing powers of her own, and sets out on a dangerous journey to rescue her mother and, ultimately, herself.

This magical fantasy by internationally acclaimed author Maite Carranza delves deeply into the unspoken ties between mothers and daughters and the mysteries of growing up.

About the Author

Maite Carranza

Maite Carranza (Barcelona, 1958) is a writer and scriptwriter. She has a degree in Anthropology, writes fiction for children and young people as well as television scripts, while also teaching Scriptwriting at the university.

She has been awarded the 1987 Serra d'Or Critics' Prize, the 1987 Folch i Torres Prize, the 1989 Joaquim Ruyra Prize and the 2002 EDEBÉ Prize. Her works have been translated into English, French, German, Dutch, Portuguese, Greek and Slovakian. The majority of her books have been translated into Spanish and some into Basque and Galician.

Besides her works for children and young people, she has written plays that have been staged and novels for adults.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info




Maite Carranza
More books by Maite Carranza

Author's Website



Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

Publication date

2nd February 2009




I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

Lovereading 4 schools