Silvertongue by Charlie Fletcher


Written by Charlie Fletcher
Part of the Stoneheart Series

11+ readers   Books of the Month   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In the concluding part of the breathtaking and critically acclaimed Stoneheart trilogy, Edie and George look deeper into Edie's past, and her future. It’s written with such fast-paced action adventure, magic and intrigue that in spite of the 500 odd pages it will rattle along and be finished before you can say knife, almost anyway.

The first two books in the series are Stoneheart and Ironhand.


Silvertongue by Charlie Fletcher

The last installment in George's breathtaking adventures. Readers will find that London never looks the same again!


Warmly recommended Books For Keeps This fast-paced, supernatural thriller will keep you gripped right to the end. Fans of Edie and George will not be disappointed SW A fantastical, fast-paced adventure. Publishing News Thrilling stuff. The Scotsman An admirable debut. The Sunday Times A highly original page-turner. The Sunday Times A supernatural thriller with an intriguing premise. The Mail on Sunday 'highly original ... the unrelenting thrills never let up

About the Author

Charlie Fletcher

Charlie began his career in the film business carrying cans of film round Soho and making very bad cups of tea on the principal that he'd then be asked to do something a bit more interesting, a strategy that he recommends to anyone starting out as a tea-boy. He progressed to the BBC where he worked in film editing on everything from Drama to Current Affairs. He then went to California where he morphed into a screenwriter, having been awarded a Warner Brothers Fellowship in Screenwriting at USC School of Cinema and TV.

He's written screenplays for Tri-Star, MGM, Paramount and Warner Bros among others. He continues to write for the movies, and also television.

Charlie also moved into other types of writing including magazine features, a computer game and as both a national Sunday newspaper columnist and restaurant reviewer. Finally he found the way to combine all those writing strands and produced some rattling-good children's books!

The Stoneheart trilogy has been a massive international hit and Charlie has recently sold the movie rights of Stoneheart to Paramount. He has also been asked to write the screenplay himself, which just shows you should never make plans, since he actually wrote the books to get away from Hollywood for a bit...

Charlie met and married his wife, a fellow Scot, in LA. They have two children, whom Charlie calls his first, most important, and toughest audience. They've all now returned from California and live in Edinburgh with a terrier called Archie.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


416 pages


Charlie Fletcher
More books by Charlie Fletcher


Hachette Children's Books

Publication date

2nd July 2009




It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

Lovereading 4 schools