Silvertongue by Charlie Fletcher
  

Silvertongue

Written by Charlie Fletcher
Part of the Stoneheart Series

11+ readers   Books of the Month   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In the concluding part of the breathtaking and critically acclaimed Stoneheart trilogy, Edie and George look deeper into Edie's past, and her future. It’s written with such fast-paced action adventure, magic and intrigue that in spite of the 500 odd pages it will rattle along and be finished before you can say knife, almost anyway.

The first two books in the series are Stoneheart and Ironhand.

Win an original print from The Pavee and the Buffer Girl

Siobhan Dowd's powerful story of the fight against racism and prejudice, The Pavee and the Buffer Girl, has been reissued as a splendid graphic novel with stunning illustrations by Emma Shoard. We are giving away an ORIGINAL print from the book (shown here) and a copy SIGNED by Emma.

To have a chance of winning this special prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 3 May 2017. The winners will be notified by 15 May 2017.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 03/05/2017

Synopsis

Silvertongue by Charlie Fletcher

The last installment in George's breathtaking adventures. Readers will find that London never looks the same again!

Reviews

Warmly recommended Books For Keeps This fast-paced, supernatural thriller will keep you gripped right to the end. Fans of Edie and George will not be disappointed SW A fantastical, fast-paced adventure. Publishing News Thrilling stuff. The Scotsman An admirable debut. The Sunday Times A highly original page-turner. The Sunday Times A supernatural thriller with an intriguing premise. The Mail on Sunday 'highly original ... the unrelenting thrills never let up

About the Author

Charlie Fletcher

Charlie began his career in the film business carrying cans of film round Soho and making very bad cups of tea on the principal that he'd then be asked to do something a bit more interesting, a strategy that he recommends to anyone starting out as a tea-boy. He progressed to the BBC where he worked in film editing on everything from Drama to Current Affairs. He then went to California where he morphed into a screenwriter, having been awarded a Warner Brothers Fellowship in Screenwriting at USC School of Cinema and TV.

He's written screenplays for Tri-Star, MGM, Paramount and Warner Bros among others. He continues to write for the movies, and also television.

Charlie also moved into other types of writing including magazine features, a computer game and as both a national Sunday newspaper columnist and restaurant reviewer. Finally he found the way to combine all those writing strands and produced some rattling-good children's books!

The Stoneheart trilogy has been a massive international hit and Charlie has recently sold the movie rights of Stoneheart to Paramount. He has also been asked to write the screenplay himself, which just shows you should never make plans, since he actually wrote the books to get away from Hollywood for a bit...

Charlie met and married his wife, a fellow Scot, in LA. They have two children, whom Charlie calls his first, most important, and toughest audience. They've all now returned from California and live in Edinburgh with a terrier called Archie.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Author

Charlie Fletcher
More books by Charlie Fletcher

Publisher

Hachette Children's Books

Publication date

2nd July 2009

ISBN

9780340911679

Categories


I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools