Wereworld : Shadow of the Hawk by Curtis Jobling
  

Wereworld : Shadow of the Hawk

Written by Curtis Jobling
Part of the Wereworld Series

11+ readers   Books of the Month   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

This title is book three in the Wereworld fantasy-adventure series from Curtis Jobling, the award-winning designer of Bob the Builder. Wereworld: Rise of the Wolf was shortlisted for the 2011 Waterstone's Children's Book Prize. It is perfect for fans of Christopher Paolini's Inheritance cycle.

Click here for the series website, packed with information and activities.

Synopsis

Wereworld : Shadow of the Hawk by Curtis Jobling

Drew Ferran, the rightful king of Westland, is trapped. Enslaved by the Goatlord Kesslar, young werewolf Drew finds himself on the volcanic isle of Scoria, forced to fight in the arena for the Lizardlords. With the help of an unlikely ally, he must find a way to break free - but who has ever managed to escape?

Meanwhile, Hector the Wereboar flees the forces of the Catlords. Now on board the pirate ship Maelstrom, the enemy's net is closing in. Haunted by the spirits of the dead, Hector is soon left wondering who the true enemy is...

Watch the trailer below:

Reviews

‘As a fantasy world it is superior to Eragon, and pure fun’ - Amanda Craig, The Times

‘Really, really good . . . gripping. Never read anything like it before' - Forest Hill Boys School reviewer

About the Author

Curtis Jobling

The designer of worldwide hit children's television show 'Bob the Builder' and the author/illustrator of numerous children’s books, Curtis Jobling lives with his family in Cheshire.

Early work on Aardman Animation’s 'Wallace & Gromit' and Tim Burton’s 'Mars Attacks' led to him picking up his crayons in 1997 to design the BAFTA winning Bob. The animated series of 'Frankenstein’s Cat', based upon Curtis’s book of the same name, picked up the Pulcinella award for Best Children's Show at the 2008 International Cartoons On The Bay festival in Salerno, Italy. His noisy new preschool show, 'Raa Raa', can be seen on CBeebies, while his original paintings and prints sell in galleries the world over. Although perhaps best known for his work in TV and picture books, Curtis’s other love has always been horror and fantasy for an older audience.

Watch Curtis show you how to draw Bob the Builder - and then transform him into a werewolf - in the video below:

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
448 pages
Interest Age: From 11

Author

Curtis Jobling
More books by Curtis Jobling

Author's Website

www.curtisjobling.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Puffin Books an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd

Publication date

5th January 2012

ISBN

9780141340494

Categories


It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools