Wereworld : Shadow of the Hawk by Curtis Jobling
  

Wereworld : Shadow of the Hawk

Written by Curtis Jobling
Part of the Wereworld Series

11+ readers   Books of the Month   eBooks   eBooks   

RRP £6.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

This title is book three in the Wereworld fantasy-adventure series from Curtis Jobling, the award-winning designer of Bob the Builder. Wereworld: Rise of the Wolf was shortlisted for the 2011 Waterstone's Children's Book Prize. It is perfect for fans of Christopher Paolini's Inheritance cycle.

Click here for the series website, packed with information and activities.

Synopsis

Wereworld : Shadow of the Hawk by Curtis Jobling

Drew Ferran, the rightful king of Westland, is trapped. Enslaved by the Goatlord Kesslar, young werewolf Drew finds himself on the volcanic isle of Scoria, forced to fight in the arena for the Lizardlords. With the help of an unlikely ally, he must find a way to break free - but who has ever managed to escape?

Meanwhile, Hector the Wereboar flees the forces of the Catlords. Now on board the pirate ship Maelstrom, the enemy's net is closing in. Haunted by the spirits of the dead, Hector is soon left wondering who the true enemy is...

Watch the trailer below:

Reviews

‘As a fantasy world it is superior to Eragon, and pure fun’ - Amanda Craig, The Times

‘Really, really good . . . gripping. Never read anything like it before' - Forest Hill Boys School reviewer

About the Author

Curtis Jobling

The designer of worldwide hit children's television show 'Bob the Builder' and the author/illustrator of numerous children’s books, Curtis Jobling lives with his family in Cheshire.

Early work on Aardman Animation’s 'Wallace & Gromit' and Tim Burton’s 'Mars Attacks' led to him picking up his crayons in 1997 to design the BAFTA winning Bob. The animated series of 'Frankenstein’s Cat', based upon Curtis’s book of the same name, picked up the Pulcinella award for Best Children's Show at the 2008 International Cartoons On The Bay festival in Salerno, Italy. His noisy new preschool show, 'Raa Raa', can be seen on CBeebies, while his original paintings and prints sell in galleries the world over. Although perhaps best known for his work in TV and picture books, Curtis’s other love has always been horror and fantasy for an older audience.

Watch Curtis show you how to draw Bob the Builder - and then transform him into a werewolf - in the video below:

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
448 pages

Author

Curtis Jobling
More books by Curtis Jobling

Author's Website

www.curtisjobling.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Puffin Books an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd

Publication date

5th January 2012

ISBN

9780141340494

Categories


Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools