All Fall Down by Sally Nicholls

All Fall Down

Written by Sally Nicholls

13+ readers   Books of the Month   11+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

March 2012 Book of the Month. This is an eagerly anticipated, powerful and inspiring historical novel about survival in the face of real-life horror from one of today's most exciting young writers. Sally Nicholls provides a heartbreaking account of one of the most terrifying events in history - the outbreak of the Black Death in 1349. It's perfect for fans of Meg Rosoff.


All Fall Down by Sally Nicholls

A deadly contagion races through England... When Isabel's Yorkshire village is devastated by the Black Death, it seems that the world is ending in horror and fear. But for the survivors of the terrible plague, a new and freer society will rise from the destruction of the feudal system that enslaved the family.


Praise for Sally Nicholls:

'I should mention (through gritted teeth) that Nicholls was only 23 when she wrote Ways to Live Forever. Her publishers have very high hopes for her, and on the strength of her debut they seem entirely justified.' Author Mal Peet

'Sally Nicholls has deftly crafted this unforgettable tale of loss, loneliness and finding new ways to look at the world. The story is current and relevant, whilst exploring links with myth, legend and times gone by.' Write Away on Season of Secrets

About the Author

Sally Nicholls

I was born in Stockton-on-Tees, just after midnight, in a thunderstorm. My father died when I was two, and my brother Ian and I were brought up my mother. I always wanted to write - when people asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up, I used to say "I'm going to be a writer" - very definite.

I went to two secondary schools - a little Quaker school in North Yorkshire (where it was so cold that thick woolly jumpers were part of the school uniform) and a big comprehensive. I was very lonely at the little school, but I made friends at the comprehensive and got on all right. I didn't like being a teenager very much, though.

I now live in a little house in Oxford, writing stories, and trying to believe my luck.

Photo credit Barrington Stoke website

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info




Sally Nicholls
More books by Sally Nicholls

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest


Marion Lloyd Books an imprint of Scholastic

Publication date

1st March 2012




It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

Lovereading 4 schools