All Fall Down by Sally Nicholls

All Fall Down

Written by Sally Nicholls

13+ readers   Books of the Month   11+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

March 2012 Book of the Month. This is an eagerly anticipated, powerful and inspiring historical novel about survival in the face of real-life horror from one of today's most exciting young writers. Sally Nicholls provides a heartbreaking account of one of the most terrifying events in history - the outbreak of the Black Death in 1349. It's perfect for fans of Meg Rosoff.


All Fall Down by Sally Nicholls

A deadly contagion races through England... When Isabel's Yorkshire village is devastated by the Black Death, it seems that the world is ending in horror and fear. But for the survivors of the terrible plague, a new and freer society will rise from the destruction of the feudal system that enslaved the family.


Praise for Sally Nicholls:

'I should mention (through gritted teeth) that Nicholls was only 23 when she wrote Ways to Live Forever. Her publishers have very high hopes for her, and on the strength of her debut they seem entirely justified.' Author Mal Peet

'Sally Nicholls has deftly crafted this unforgettable tale of loss, loneliness and finding new ways to look at the world. The story is current and relevant, whilst exploring links with myth, legend and times gone by.' Write Away on Season of Secrets

About the Author

Sally Nicholls

I was born in Stockton-on-Tees, just after midnight, in a thunderstorm. My father died when I was two, and my brother Ian and I were brought up my mother. I always wanted to write - when people asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up, I used to say "I'm going to be a writer" - very definite.

I went to two secondary schools - a little Quaker school in North Yorkshire (where it was so cold that thick woolly jumpers were part of the school uniform) and a big comprehensive. I was very lonely at the little school, but I made friends at the comprehensive and got on all right. I didn't like being a teenager very much, though.

I now live in a little house in Oxford, writing stories, and trying to believe my luck.

Photo by Eric Luke

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


304 pages


Sally Nicholls
More books by Sally Nicholls

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest


Marion Lloyd Books an imprint of Scholastic

Publication date

1st March 2012




Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading 4 schools