All Fall Down by Sally Nicholls
  

All Fall Down

Written by Sally Nicholls

13+ readers   Books of the Month   11+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

March 2012 Book of the Month. This is an eagerly anticipated, powerful and inspiring historical novel about survival in the face of real-life horror from one of today's most exciting young writers. Sally Nicholls provides a heartbreaking account of one of the most terrifying events in history - the outbreak of the Black Death in 1349. It's perfect for fans of Meg Rosoff.

Synopsis

All Fall Down by Sally Nicholls

A deadly contagion races through England... When Isabel's Yorkshire village is devastated by the Black Death, it seems that the world is ending in horror and fear. But for the survivors of the terrible plague, a new and freer society will rise from the destruction of the feudal system that enslaved the family.

Reviews

Praise for Sally Nicholls:

'I should mention (through gritted teeth) that Nicholls was only 23 when she wrote Ways to Live Forever. Her publishers have very high hopes for her, and on the strength of her debut they seem entirely justified.' Author Mal Peet

'Sally Nicholls has deftly crafted this unforgettable tale of loss, loneliness and finding new ways to look at the world. The story is current and relevant, whilst exploring links with myth, legend and times gone by.' Write Away on Season of Secrets

About the Author

Sally Nicholls

I was born in Stockton-on-Tees, just after midnight, in a thunderstorm. My father died when I was two, and my brother Ian and I were brought up my mother. I always wanted to write - when people asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up, I used to say "I'm going to be a writer" - very definite.

I went to two secondary schools - a little Quaker school in North Yorkshire (where it was so cold that thick woolly jumpers were part of the school uniform) and a big comprehensive. I was very lonely at the little school, but I made friends at the comprehensive and got on all right. I didn't like being a teenager very much, though.

I now live in a little house in Oxford, writing stories, and trying to believe my luck.

Photo by Eric Luke

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
304 pages

Author

Sally Nicholls
More books by Sally Nicholls

Author's Website

www.sallynicholls.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Marion Lloyd Books an imprint of Scholastic

Publication date

1st March 2012

ISBN

9781407135342

Categories


We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools