The Comic Cafe by Roger Stevens
  

The Comic Cafe

Written by Roger Stevens

9+ readers   Debuts of the Month   eBooks   eBooks   

RRP £6.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

April 2012 Debut of the Month. Leading poet Roger Stevens tells a deliciously witty story set in a café with a distinctly haunted feel. How Will and his four sisters survive the summer when they are abandoned by their parents in a rundown seaside café is full of surprises. Not least because their plans to hold a grand opening are thwarted at every turn by the resident ghosts. It is a delicious romp of an adventure with a likeable cast and some very lively action! Perfect for fans of Hilary McKay and Lemony Snicket.

Synopsis

The Comic Cafe by Roger Stevens

Home alone in a dull old seaside cafe...how are Wilf, Elizabeth, Jaz, Briony and Sammi going to get through the summer? They decide to open the cafe for Mum's and Dad's return. But ghostly sounds, oddball visitors and the mystery of the cafe's previous owner all conspire against them...

Reviews

Filled with humorous and loveable characters ... I found this a truly entertaining book. Leading poet Roger Stevens tells a deliciously witty story set in a cafe with a distinctly haunted feel...It is a delicious romp of an adventure with a likeable cast and some very lively action! Perfect for fans of Hilary McKay and Lemony Snicket. Leading poet Roger Stevens tells a deliciously witty story set in a cafe with a distinctly haunted feel... It is a delicious romp of an adventure with a likeable cast and some very lively action! Perfect for fans of Hilary McKay and Lemony Snicket. Filled with humorous and loveable characters ... I found this a truly entertaining book. A spooky mystery with lots of jokes - I loved it.

About the Author

Roger Stevens

Roger Stevens has had more than a hundred poems for children published in wide-ranging anthologies from The Hutchinson Treasury of Children's Poetry (Hutchinson) to The Works (Every kind of poem you will ever need for the Literacy Hour) (Macmillan). His verse-novel for teenagers, The Journal of Danny Chaucer (Poet) (Orion) was published in May 2002 and was dramatized on BBC Radio 4 in June 2003. His solo collections for children include I Did Not Eat the Goldfish (Macmillan) and The Monster That Ate the Universe (Macmillan).

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
288 pages

Author

Roger Stevens
More books by Roger Stevens

Publisher

Frances Lincoln Childrens Books an imprint of Frances Lincoln Publishers Ltd

Publication date

5th April 2012

ISBN

9781847802705

Categories


We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools