The Comic Cafe by Roger Stevens
  

The Comic Cafe

Written by Roger Stevens

9+ readers   Debuts of the Month   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

April 2012 Debut of the Month. Leading poet Roger Stevens tells a deliciously witty story set in a café with a distinctly haunted feel. How Will and his four sisters survive the summer when they are abandoned by their parents in a rundown seaside café is full of surprises. Not least because their plans to hold a grand opening are thwarted at every turn by the resident ghosts. It is a delicious romp of an adventure with a likeable cast and some very lively action! Perfect for fans of Hilary McKay and Lemony Snicket.

Win books 1 & 2 in the Rory Branagan (Detective) Series!

To mark the publication of the second book in the Rory Branagan (Detective) series, we are giving away books 1 & 2 to to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Draw closes on 9 July 2018. The winners will be notified by 16 July 2018.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 09/07/2018

Synopsis

The Comic Cafe by Roger Stevens

Home alone in a dull old seaside cafe...how are Wilf, Elizabeth, Jaz, Briony and Sammi going to get through the summer? They decide to open the cafe for Mum's and Dad's return. But ghostly sounds, oddball visitors and the mystery of the cafe's previous owner all conspire against them...

About the Author

Roger Stevens

Roger Stevens has had more than a hundred poems for children published in wide-ranging anthologies from The Hutchinson Treasury of Children's Poetry (Hutchinson) to The Works (Every kind of poem you will ever need for the Literacy Hour) (Macmillan). His verse-novel for teenagers, The Journal of Danny Chaucer (Poet) (Orion) was published in May 2002 and was dramatized on BBC Radio 4 in June 2003. His solo collections for children include I Did Not Eat the Goldfish (Macmillan) and The Monster That Ate the Universe (Macmillan).

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback

Author

Roger Stevens
More books by Roger Stevens

Publisher

Frances Lincoln Childrens Books an imprint of Frances Lincoln Publishers Ltd

Publication date

5th April 2012

ISBN

9781847802705

Categories


We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****