The Comic Cafe by Roger Stevens
  

The Comic Cafe

Written by Roger Stevens

9+ readers   Debuts of the Month   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

April 2012 Debut of the Month. Leading poet Roger Stevens tells a deliciously witty story set in a café with a distinctly haunted feel. How Will and his four sisters survive the summer when they are abandoned by their parents in a rundown seaside café is full of surprises. Not least because their plans to hold a grand opening are thwarted at every turn by the resident ghosts. It is a delicious romp of an adventure with a likeable cast and some very lively action! Perfect for fans of Hilary McKay and Lemony Snicket.

Synopsis

The Comic Cafe by Roger Stevens

Home alone in a dull old seaside cafe...how are Wilf, Elizabeth, Jaz, Briony and Sammi going to get through the summer? They decide to open the cafe for Mum's and Dad's return. But ghostly sounds, oddball visitors and the mystery of the cafe's previous owner all conspire against them...

Reviews

Filled with humorous and loveable characters ... I found this a truly entertaining book. Leading poet Roger Stevens tells a deliciously witty story set in a cafe with a distinctly haunted feel...It is a delicious romp of an adventure with a likeable cast and some very lively action! Perfect for fans of Hilary McKay and Lemony Snicket. Leading poet Roger Stevens tells a deliciously witty story set in a cafe with a distinctly haunted feel... It is a delicious romp of an adventure with a likeable cast and some very lively action! Perfect for fans of Hilary McKay and Lemony Snicket. Filled with humorous and loveable characters ... I found this a truly entertaining book. A spooky mystery with lots of jokes - I loved it.

About the Author

Roger Stevens

Roger Stevens has had more than a hundred poems for children published in wide-ranging anthologies from The Hutchinson Treasury of Children's Poetry (Hutchinson) to The Works (Every kind of poem you will ever need for the Literacy Hour) (Macmillan). His verse-novel for teenagers, The Journal of Danny Chaucer (Poet) (Orion) was published in May 2002 and was dramatized on BBC Radio 4 in June 2003. His solo collections for children include I Did Not Eat the Goldfish (Macmillan) and The Monster That Ate the Universe (Macmillan).

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
288 pages
Interest Age: From 9

Author

Roger Stevens
More books by Roger Stevens

Publisher

Frances Lincoln Childrens Books an imprint of Frances Lincoln Publishers Ltd

Publication date

5th April 2012

ISBN

9781847802705

Categories


It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools