Hitler's Angel by William Osborne

Hitler's Angel

Written by William Osborne

9+ readers   All Shortlists and Winners   11+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Shortlisted for the 2013 Leeds Book Award - May 2012 Debut of the Month. A gripping World War Two adventure which goes behind the scenes of the more familiar stories. When two children are recruited for a mission by the British government they have no idea of the exceptional danger they will be facing. Rescuing a child and getting her safely out of Germany is a tall order. Both the Germans and the British prize this child highly. Who is she and can her under-age British saviours manage their mission? The action-packed plot twists and turns and there's pathos too as all three children understand the enormity of their situation.

The Lovereading comment: Fans of Robert Muchamore's Cherub and Henderson's Boys or Higson's Young Bond series will devour this book in a sitting. It's a novel that has its base on true fact: Hitler's secret relationship with his niece, and Hess's flight to Scotland to prevent an advance on Russian. It's World War Two and two young refugees who have escaped the Nazis and travelled to England with their families are despatched back by the British Secret Service behind enemy lines. Otto and Leni are given a perilously difficult and dangerous job of kidnapping a girl that is of pivotal importance to the war effort. A job that's life threatening to them if it goes wrong and requires supreme bravery from them both. With a race against time and with the Nazis after them can they bring the girl into the safe hands of the British Secret Service before it's too late? This has film written all over it but as a book it is also an exceptional debut.

And from the publisher who acquired Hitler's Angel: Tense and thrilling action gives this big story a pulse of real excitement and importance but it's the child characters who give it the heart that you really care about. William Osborne may be new to books but he's a familiar hand as a Hollywood scriptwriter - and this is, quite simply, the best movie I've ever read! Wow!

Click here to read more from publisher Barry Cunningham.


Hitler's Angel by William Osborne

Otto and Leni have escaped to England from Nazi Germany. They thought they were safe, but now the British want them to go back. Dropped behind enemy lines, they embark on a secret operation codenamed Wolfsangel. Their mission is to find and kidnap a girl who could bring down Hitler. And so begins their bravest journey yet.

Author William Osborne reads from his novel in this video:


'An incredible adventure and great page turner!' - Bear Grylls

About the Author

William Osborne

After Cambridge University, William became a barrister but his career took a sharp swerve when he switched to scriptwriting in Hollywood. He has worked on over sixty movies including Twins, Goldeneye and The Mummy. He now lives in London where he continues to write films and books. Hitler's Angel is his first book for Chicken House.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


336 pages


William Osborne
More books by William Osborne


Chicken House Ltd

Publication date

3rd May 2012




I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

Lovereading 4 schools