Hooey Higgins Goes for Gold by Steve Voake
  

Hooey Higgins Goes for Gold

Written by Steve Voake
Illustrated by Emma Dodson

7+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Olympic fever strikes Shrimpton-on-Sea when Mr Papalopoulos, the owner of the local Greek restaurant, offers to sponsor sports day. Hooey and his classmates Twig, Basbo and Will are all keen to show their prowess in events such as welly wanging – that’s the knowledgeable Samantha’s speciality - the high-jump, sprinting and the rest. Chaos follows before the excitement of the day and all the fun of the races. Amidst the laughs, the school friends – and readers - learn more about the Olympics and the Ancient Greeks who created them.

Win a Beast Quest Goodie Bag!

To mark the 10th Birthday of The Beast Quest series we are giving away THREE goodie bags filled with Beast Quest treats including temporary tattoos, pens, a printed bag and books from the series!

To have a chance of winning one of these super prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 29 May 2017. The winners will be notified by 5 June 2017.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 29/05/2017

Synopsis

Hooey Higgins Goes for Gold by Steve Voake

Like cheese? Like champions? Like to see the Cheese of Champions? Read this book and you...might! Want to see Twig run really, really fast? Then get yourself a ticket to the Shrimpton-on-Sea Games! See: Hooey hitting the high jump! Samantha wanging the welly! Twig versus Basbo in the sprint! And what is Hooey, Will and Twig's secret weapon? Cheese. But we're not talking any old fromage here - oh no, this is the ancient Greek sporting Cheese of Champions! Want to know what happens? You'd Feta get reading! This is a fourth book in the Hooey Higgins series for kids who like to larf - perfect for fans of Mr Gum and Horrid Henry, and is highly illustrated for reluctant readers.

Reviews

'Energetic and bubbly... silliness by the bucketload... It's wild and wacky, and in a great way.' The Bookbag

'[A] continually amusing story, illustrated by Emma Dodson with anarchic glee.' - The Independent on Sunday

'[An] appealingly streetwise caper.' - The Telegraph

About the Author

Steve Voake

Steve Voake grew up in Midsomer Norton, near Bath, Somerset. His early ambitions were to play football for England and to be a bomb disposal expert so that he could blow stuff up. His favourite pastime was racing home made go-carts (and crashing them) with his friends.

As an adult
After studying for a degree in philosophy, Steve sold ice-creams in the south of France before becoming a primary school teacher. He spent eight very happy years as headteacher of the 'Jack and Jill' school in Kilmersdon, Somerset. The original well from the nursery rhyme can still be found in the playground at the top of the hill.

As an artist
In order to find time to write his first novel, The Dreamwalker's Child, Steve used to get up at 3 a.m. and work for several hours before anyone else was awake. He has written two sequels, The Web of Fire and The Starlight Conspiracy. Steve became a full-time writer in 2005, but still finds that he gets more done if he gets up early!

Things you didn't know about Steve Voake
1. He once threw dry ice into the sea to make smoke and sell more ice-creams.
2. He had a guinea pig called Hammy because he thought it was a hamster.
3. He won an award for Best Comedy Performance at Bath Drama Festival.
4. His favourite animals are prairie dogs and meerkats (joint winners).
5. He loves to play the guitar.
6. His favourite colour is blue and he hates celery.
7. He forgot to concentrate during a parachute jump and nearly landed in a river.
8. He is the cousin of author/illustrator Charlotte Voake.
9. He thinks peanut butter and banana sandwiches are a match made in heaven.
10. He doesn't eat them very often because they would make him tubby.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
144 pages
Interest Age: 7 years +

Author

Steve Voake
More books by Steve Voake

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

5th April 2012

ISBN

9781406322415

Categories


This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools