Frostfire by Zoe Marriott
  

Frostfire

Written by Zoe Marriott

13+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

Selected by our Editorial Experts

Perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, Maggie Stiefvater and Cassandra Clare this is a literary fantasy about war, racial identity and first love, in which Frost has left her homeland to travel to the neighbouring country of Ruan in the hope of finding a deity she believes will rid her of a curse. It is a refreshing and provocative real-world take on the fantasy genre: in this world there is no magic and the setting is more akin to Northern India or Tibet than the usual Tolkien-inspired pseudo-Europe. Zoe Marriott's first novel, The Swan Kingdom, was chosen as a USBBY Outstanding International Book. Her third book, Shadows on the Moon, won the prestigious Sasakawa Prize.

Synopsis

Frostfire by Zoe Marriott

At the sight of her own blood, a berserker rage in the form of a wolf overtakes Frost and kills everyone within reach. On her journey, Frost meets Luca and Arian, two members of the Ruan military force sworn to protect the country's borders from neighbouring rebel fighters. Over the coming months, under Luca's guidance, Frost learns to overcome the Wolf within. She also begins to fall in love with Luca - while Arian falls for her.

About the Author

Zoe Marriott

Zoe Marriott lives in North East Lincolnshire with two cats, named Echo and Hero, and the Devil Hound, otherwise known as Finn. She says of Shadows on the Moon, " I never liked Cinderella as a little girl. She seemed like the worst kind of wimp to me, and I hated the fact that she needed someone else to come along and rescue her. Then one day I was thinking about a completely different idea for a book set in fairy-tale Japan - and suddenly the two story ideas collided in my head, and it occurred to me: what if Cinderella wasn't a wimp at all? What if she was strong and brave - and out for revenge all along? And so Shadows on the Moon was born."

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
448 pages
Interest Age: From 14

Author

Zoe Marriott
More books by Zoe Marriott

Author's Website

www.zoemarriott.com/

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

5th July 2012

ISBN

9781406318142

Categories


We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools