Shrunk! by Fleur Hitchcock
  

Shrunk!

Written by Fleur Hitchcock
Part of the Shrunk! Series

9+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

September 2012 Debut of the Month.

With Jupiter in one pocket and a meteorite in the other, both shrunk by him, Tom knows he has a strange power which produces some surprising and dramatic results. How Tom, who already lives in a model village and so is used to small scale things, makes use of his special power is a lively and funny adventure.

Win a copy of The Bolds!

We are giving away 5 copies of The Bolds, the first in Julian Clary's hilarious series about a family of hyenas living in disguise. To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 2 March 2017. The winners will be notified by 16 March 2017.

The 3rd book in the series, The Bolds on Holiday is released in hardback this month.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 02/03/2017

Synopsis

Shrunk! by Fleur Hitchcock

After Tom moves in with his grandmother next to the Bywater-by-Sea Model Village, he makes a wish on a shooting star and gets the curious ability to shrink things. The first thing he shrinks is Jupiter, then some sheep and a boat.
But without Jupiter in place, the Earth is slowly being drawn towards the Sun. With the angry (and miniaturised) school bully yelling from his pocket, Tom has to return Jupiter and save Earth -- all while trying to make friends in his new home.

Debut author F. R. Hitchcock has written a hugely imaginative and quirky story that is good, clean fun.

Reviews

...this cleverly structured story will make its readers laugh out loud -- Nicolette Jones Sunday Times Children's Book of the Week Utterly bonkers, uniquely British and completely loveable, it's the zaniest book I've read all year. Daily Mail A great choice for fans of Jeremy Strong, Andy Stanton and David Walliams -- Carrie Morris World Book Day Newsletter ... a lively and funny adventure. -- Julia Eccleshare Lovereading4kids Debut of the Month, September 2012 ... a funny, original and very satisfying story and sure to prove a hit with young readers Books for Keeps Book of the Week This imaginative and original debut from F.R. Hitchcock is a readable and entertaining roller-coaster ride ... Full of lively humour and fun, this is a very promising first novel which is likely to have wide appeal Booktrust's 'children's books we like for September'

About the Author

Fleur Hitchcock

Born in Chobham, by an airfield, and raised outside Winchester on the banks of the river Itchen, Fleur Hitchcock grew up as the youngest child of three. She spent her smallest years reading Tintin and Batman under her brother’s bed, and searching for King Alfred’s treasure in the river. She grew up a little, went away to school near Farnham, studied English in Wales, and, for the next twenty years, sold Applied Art in the city of Bath. When her younger child was seven, she embarked on the Writing for Young People MA at Bath Spa and graduated with a distinction.

Now living outside Bath, between parenting and writing, Fleur Hitchcock works with her husband, a toymaker, looks after other people’s gardens and tries to grow vegetables.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
256 pages
Interest Age: From 5

Author

Fleur Hitchcock
More books by Fleur Hitchcock

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Hot Key Books

Publication date

6th September 2012

ISBN

9781848124806

Categories

Publisher Profile

Hot Key Books is an imprint of Hot Key

logo Hot Key Books, a division of Bonnier Publishing, publish stand out, quality fiction, for 9 – 19 year olds, print and digital that people like to talk about. If you are looking for something a little bit different from your books, something a little bit special then Hot Key Books may well have just what you want.

Publisher's Website

https://www.hotkeybooks.com

Publisher's Blog

hotkeyblog.wordpress.com


I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools