Shrunk! by Fleur Hitchcock
  

Shrunk!

Written by Fleur Hitchcock
Part of the Shrunk! Series

9+ readers   

RRP £5.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

September 2012 Debut of the Month.

With Jupiter in one pocket and a meteorite in the other, both shrunk by him, Tom knows he has a strange power which produces some surprising and dramatic results. How Tom, who already lives in a model village and so is used to small scale things, makes use of his special power is a lively and funny adventure.

Synopsis

Shrunk! by Fleur Hitchcock

After Tom moves in with his grandmother next to the Bywater-by-Sea Model Village, he makes a wish on a shooting star and gets the curious ability to shrink things. The first thing he shrinks is Jupiter, then some sheep and a boat.
But without Jupiter in place, the Earth is slowly being drawn towards the Sun. With the angry (and miniaturised) school bully yelling from his pocket, Tom has to return Jupiter and save Earth -- all while trying to make friends in his new home.

Debut author F. R. Hitchcock has written a hugely imaginative and quirky story that is good, clean fun.

Reviews

...this cleverly structured story will make its readers laugh out loud -- Nicolette Jones * Sunday Times Children's Book of the Week * Utterly bonkers, uniquely British and completely loveable, it's the zaniest book I've read all year. * Daily Mail * A great choice for fans of Jeremy Strong, Andy Stanton and David Walliams -- Carrie Morris * World Book Day Newsletter * ... a lively and funny adventure. -- Julia Eccleshare * Lovereading4kids Debut of the Month, September 2012 * ... a funny, original and very satisfying story and sure to prove a hit with young readers * Books for Keeps Book of the Week * This imaginative and original debut from F.R. Hitchcock is a readable and entertaining roller-coaster ride ... Full of lively humour and fun, this is a very promising first novel which is likely to have wide appeal * Booktrust's 'children's books we like for September' *

About the Author

Fleur Hitchcock

Born in Chobham, by an airfield, and raised outside Winchester on the banks of the river Itchen, Fleur Hitchcock grew up as the youngest child of three. She spent her smallest years reading Tintin and Batman under her brother’s bed, and searching for King Alfred’s treasure in the river. She grew up a little, went away to school near Farnham, studied English in Wales, and, for the next twenty years, sold Applied Art in the city of Bath. When her younger child was seven, she embarked on the Writing for Young People MA at Bath Spa and graduated with a distinction.

Now living outside Bath, between parenting and writing, Fleur Hitchcock works with her husband, a toymaker, looks after other people’s gardens and tries to grow vegetables.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
256 pages
Interest Age: From 5 to 8 years

Author

Fleur Hitchcock
More books by Fleur Hitchcock

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Hot Key Books

Publication date

6th September 2012

ISBN

9781848124806

Categories

Publisher Profile

Hot Key Books is an imprint of Hot Key

logo Hot Key Books, a division of Bonnier Publishing, publish stand out, quality fiction, for 9 – 19 year olds, print and digital that people like to talk about. If you are looking for something a little bit different from your books, something a little bit special then Hot Key Books may well have just what you want.

Publisher's Website

https://www.hotkeybooks.com

Publisher's Blog

hotkeyblog.wordpress.com


This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****