Shrunk! by Fleur Hitchcock


Written by Fleur Hitchcock
Part of the Shrunk! Series

9+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

September 2012 Debut of the Month.

With Jupiter in one pocket and a meteorite in the other, both shrunk by him, Tom knows he has a strange power which produces some surprising and dramatic results. How Tom, who already lives in a model village and so is used to small scale things, makes use of his special power is a lively and funny adventure.


Shrunk! by Fleur Hitchcock

After Tom moves in with his grandmother next to the Bywater-by-Sea Model Village, he makes a wish on a shooting star and gets the curious ability to shrink things. The first thing he shrinks is Jupiter, then some sheep and a boat.
But without Jupiter in place, the Earth is slowly being drawn towards the Sun. With the angry (and miniaturised) school bully yelling from his pocket, Tom has to return Jupiter and save Earth -- all while trying to make friends in his new home.

Debut author F. R. Hitchcock has written a hugely imaginative and quirky story that is good, clean fun.


...this cleverly structured story will make its readers laugh out loud -- Nicolette Jones Sunday Times Children's Book of the Week Utterly bonkers, uniquely British and completely loveable, it's the zaniest book I've read all year. Daily Mail A great choice for fans of Jeremy Strong, Andy Stanton and David Walliams -- Carrie Morris World Book Day Newsletter ... a lively and funny adventure. -- Julia Eccleshare Lovereading4kids Debut of the Month, September 2012 ... a funny, original and very satisfying story and sure to prove a hit with young readers Books for Keeps Book of the Week This imaginative and original debut from F.R. Hitchcock is a readable and entertaining roller-coaster ride ... Full of lively humour and fun, this is a very promising first novel which is likely to have wide appeal Booktrust's 'children's books we like for September'

About the Author

Fleur Hitchcock

Born in Chobham, by an airfield, and raised outside Winchester on the banks of the river Itchen, Fleur Hitchcock grew up as the youngest child of three. She spent her smallest years reading Tintin and Batman under her brother’s bed, and searching for King Alfred’s treasure in the river. She grew up a little, went away to school near Farnham, studied English in Wales, and, for the next twenty years, sold Applied Art in the city of Bath. When her younger child was seven, she embarked on the Writing for Young People MA at Bath Spa and graduated with a distinction.

Now living outside Bath, between parenting and writing, Fleur Hitchcock works with her husband, a toymaker, looks after other people’s gardens and tries to grow vegetables.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


176 pages
Interest Age: From 5


Fleur Hitchcock
More books by Fleur Hitchcock

Author's Facebook Latest


Hot Key Books

Publication date

6th September 2012




Publisher Profile

Hot Key Books is an imprint of Hot Key

logo Hot Key Books, a division of Bonnier Publishing, publish stand out, quality fiction, for 9 – 19 year olds, print and digital that people like to talk about. If you are looking for something a little bit different from your books, something a little bit special then Hot Key Books may well have just what you want.

Publisher's Website

Publisher's Blog

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

Lovereading 4 schools