TimeRiders: City of Shadows by Alex Scarrow
  

The Lovereading4Kids comment

The best-selling TimeRiders are back in a thrilling new adventure! From the devastation caused by the destruction of the Twin Towers in New York City on September 11, 2001, back to the shadows of Victorian London and onto a future world mid-way through this century, a bunch of kids with very special powers do their best to make use of it to do good in the world. A potent mix of high-octane action and thoughtful reflection on what makes the world a good place to be in.

Synopsis

TimeRiders: City of Shadows by Alex Scarrow

Liam O'Connor should have died at sea in 1912. Maddy Carter should have died on a plane in 2010. Sal Vikram should have died in a fire in 2026. But all three have been given a second chance - to work for an agency that no one knows exists. Its purpose: to prevent time travel destroying history...

Hunted by cyborg assassins from the future, the TimeRiders must abandon New York and go on the run. They escape to Victorian London and the streets where Jack the Ripper roams. But, before they can establish their new base, they make their most shattering discovery yet - and it will change everything...Book six in the bestselling TimeRiders series by Alex Scarrow. Victorian London's Jack the Ripper get a time-travel makeover! Perfect for fans of Doctor Who and Sherlock Holmes. TimeRiders (Book 1) won the Red House Book Award older readers category, and was Penguin UK's first ever number one on the iBookstore.

Reviews

A thriller full of spectacular effects

About the Author

Alex Scarrow

Alex Scarrow used to be a rock guitarist, then he became a graphic artist, then he decided to be a computer games designer. He now has his own games development company, Grr Games.

Finally, he grew up and became an author. He has written a number of successful thrillers and several screenplays, but it's YA fiction that has allowed him to really have fun with the ideas and concepts he was playing around with designing games. He is the author of the bestselling and award-winning TIMERIDERS series, which has been sold into over 30 foreign territories. He is working on the sequel to ReMade.

He lives in Norwich with his son, Jacob, his wife, Frances, and his Jack Russell, Max.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
432 pages
Interest Age: From 11

Author

Alex Scarrow
More books by Alex Scarrow

Author's Website

www.scarrow.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Puffin Books an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd

Publication date

2nd August 2012

ISBN

9780141337074

Categories


It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools