TimeRiders: City of Shadows by Alex Scarrow
  

TimeRiders: City of Shadows

Written by Alex Scarrow
Part of the TimeRiders Series

11+ readers   eBooks   

RRP £6.99

The Lovereading4Kids comment

The best-selling TimeRiders are back in a thrilling new adventure! From the devastation caused by the destruction of the Twin Towers in New York City on September 11, 2001, back to the shadows of Victorian London and onto a future world mid-way through this century, a bunch of kids with very special powers do their best to make use of it to do good in the world. A potent mix of high-octane action and thoughtful reflection on what makes the world a good place to be in.

Synopsis

TimeRiders: City of Shadows by Alex Scarrow

Liam O'Connor should have died at sea in 1912. Maddy Carter should have died on a plane in 2010. Sal Vikram should have died in a fire in 2026. But all three have been given a second chance - to work for an agency that no one knows exists. Its purpose: to prevent time travel destroying history...

Hunted by cyborg assassins from the future, the TimeRiders must abandon New York and go on the run. They escape to Victorian London and the streets where Jack the Ripper roams. But, before they can establish their new base, they make their most shattering discovery yet - and it will change everything...Book six in the bestselling TimeRiders series by Alex Scarrow. Victorian London's Jack the Ripper get a time-travel makeover! Perfect for fans of Doctor Who and Sherlock Holmes. TimeRiders (Book 1) won the Red House Book Award older readers category, and was Penguin UK's first ever number one on the iBookstore.

Reviews

A thriller full of spectacular effects

About the Author

Alex Scarrow

Alex Scarrow used to be a rock guitarist. After ten years in various unsuccessful bands, he ended up working in the computer games industry as a lead games designer. He is now a full-time writer. Alex is the author of the bestselling TimeRiders series, published by Puffin, which has been sold into over thirty foreign territories. TimeRiders won a Red House Children's Book Award, the Catalyst Award and the Hampshire Book Award, and was a finalist for the Galaxy Children's Book of the Year.

He lives in Norwich with his son, Jacob and his wife, Frances. In his spare time he snowboards, sails, writes music and walks his yappy Jack Russell, Max. He is also very active on Twitter and Facebook.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
432 pages
Interest Age: From 11

Author

Alex Scarrow
More books by Alex Scarrow

Author's Website

www.scarrow.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Puffin Books an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd

Publication date

2nd August 2012

ISBN

9780141337074

Categories


I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools