TimeRiders: City of Shadows by Alex Scarrow

TimeRiders: City of Shadows

Written by Alex Scarrow
Part of the TimeRiders Series

11+ readers   eBooks   

The Lovereading4Kids comment

The best-selling TimeRiders are back in a thrilling new adventure! From the devastation caused by the destruction of the Twin Towers in New York City on September 11, 2001, back to the shadows of Victorian London and onto a future world mid-way through this century, a bunch of kids with very special powers do their best to make use of it to do good in the world. A potent mix of high-octane action and thoughtful reflection on what makes the world a good place to be in.


TimeRiders: City of Shadows by Alex Scarrow

Liam O'Connor should have died at sea in 1912. Maddy Carter should have died on a plane in 2010. Sal Vikram should have died in a fire in 2026. But all three have been given a second chance - to work for an agency that no one knows exists. Its purpose: to prevent time travel destroying history...

Hunted by cyborg assassins from the future, the TimeRiders must abandon New York and go on the run. They escape to Victorian London and the streets where Jack the Ripper roams. But, before they can establish their new base, they make their most shattering discovery yet - and it will change everything...Book six in the bestselling TimeRiders series by Alex Scarrow. Victorian London's Jack the Ripper get a time-travel makeover! Perfect for fans of Doctor Who and Sherlock Holmes. TimeRiders (Book 1) won the Red House Book Award older readers category, and was Penguin UK's first ever number one on the iBookstore.


A thriller full of spectacular effects

About the Author

Alex Scarrow

Alex Scarrow used to be a rock guitarist. After ten years in various unsuccessful bands, he ended up working in the computer games industry as a lead games designer. He is now a full-time writer. Alex is the author of the bestselling TimeRiders series, published by Puffin, which has been sold into over thirty foreign territories. TimeRiders won a Red House Children's Book Award, the Catalyst Award and the Hampshire Book Award, and was a finalist for the Galaxy Children's Book of the Year.

He lives in Norwich with his son, Jacob and his wife, Frances. In his spare time he snowboards, sails, writes music and walks his yappy Jack Russell, Max. He is also very active on Twitter and Facebook.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


432 pages


Alex Scarrow
More books by Alex Scarrow

Author's Website


Author's Facebook Latest


Puffin Books an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd

Publication date

2nd August 2012




It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

Lovereading 4 schools