TimeRiders: City of Shadows by Alex Scarrow

The Lovereading4Kids comment

The best-selling TimeRiders are back in a thrilling new adventure! From the devastation caused by the destruction of the Twin Towers in New York City on September 11, 2001, back to the shadows of Victorian London and onto a future world mid-way through this century, a bunch of kids with very special powers do their best to make use of it to do good in the world. A potent mix of high-octane action and thoughtful reflection on what makes the world a good place to be in.


TimeRiders: City of Shadows by Alex Scarrow

Liam O'Connor should have died at sea in 1912. Maddy Carter should have died on a plane in 2010. Sal Vikram should have died in a fire in 2026. But all three have been given a second chance - to work for an agency that no one knows exists. Its purpose: to prevent time travel destroying history...

Hunted by cyborg assassins from the future, the TimeRiders must abandon New York and go on the run. They escape to Victorian London and the streets where Jack the Ripper roams. But, before they can establish their new base, they make their most shattering discovery yet - and it will change everything...Book six in the bestselling TimeRiders series by Alex Scarrow. Victorian London's Jack the Ripper get a time-travel makeover! Perfect for fans of Doctor Who and Sherlock Holmes. TimeRiders (Book 1) won the Red House Book Award older readers category, and was Penguin UK's first ever number one on the iBookstore.


A thriller full of spectacular effects

About the Author

Alex Scarrow

Alex Scarrow used to be a rock guitarist, then he became a graphic artist, then he decided to be a computer games designer. He now has his own games development company, Grr Games.

Finally, he grew up and became an author. He has written a number of successful thrillers and several screenplays, but it's YA fiction that has allowed him to really have fun with the ideas and concepts he was playing around with designing games. He is the author of the bestselling and award-winning TIMERIDERS series, which has been sold into over 30 foreign territories. He is working on the sequel to ReMade.

He lives in Norwich with his son, Jacob, his wife, Frances, and his Jack Russell, Max.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


432 pages
Interest Age: From 11


Alex Scarrow
More books by Alex Scarrow

Author's Website


Author's Facebook Latest


Puffin Books an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd

Publication date

2nd August 2012




We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

Lovereading 4 schools