Reader Reviewed The Disappeared by C. J. Harper

The Disappeared

Written by C. J. Harper

13+ readers   Debuts of the Month   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

One of our Books of the Year 2013 & February 2013 Debut of the Month The shocking death of Jackson’s best-friend Wilson launches a tense thriller with a dark heart. Jackson and Wilson, students at the elite, top rated, Learning Community are sent on a mission. Wilson is killed and, when Jackson returns to school, he finds his records have been erased and no one remembers him. What is going on? Jackson is consigned to the Academy, a dumping ground where the teachers teach in cages and where violence rules. Here, Jackson uncovers the uncomfortable truth about they system he once believed in.

A Piece of Passion from the Editor, Jane Griffiths

The Disappeared is a brilliantly gripping dystopian novel by debut author C.J. Harper and one of the books I’m most excited about publishing in 2013.

When the manuscript for the novel first arrived on my desk, I started reading and just couldn’t stop; the bleak and brutal future world is completely believable and Jackson’s story pulls you in and doesn’t let go – in fact when I finished I immediately wanted to read the next instalment, which didn’t even exist at the time! A fantastic mix of fast-paced action scenes, emotionally heart-breaking moments and dark, dry humour, this is a novel about self-discovery and believing that everyone has the power within them to change the world for the better.

Perfect for fans of books like The Declaration by Gemma Malley, Unwind by Neil Shusterman and the classic 1984 by George Orwell, The Disappeared is a novel not to be missed and I can’t wait to see out in the world, I just hope that everyone loves it just as much as I do!

(Plus, take a closer look at the cover - it features the faces of competition entry winners, some members of the S&S team and even the author herself!)


A shocking, page-turning, fast-paced, moving dystopian thriller shot through with a streak of dark humour, The Disappeared is a brilliant debut from a fantastic new British talent, with shades of Orwell and Huxley.

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for The Disappeared a small number of Lovereading members were lucky enough to be invited to review this title. Scroll down to read their reviews.


The Disappeared by C. J. Harper

In a future where children are segregated into institutions that range from comfortable Learning Communities to prison-like Local Academies , seventeen-year-old Jackson is an academic high flyer, living in a top Learning Community and destined for a position in the Leadership. But when he is sent with his best friend Wilson to deliver a package to a factory block, the two boys are attacked leaving Jackson badly beaten and Wilson dead. Confused and upset, Jackson returns to his Learning Community only to be dismissed by his teachers who claim not to know him. Sent to an Academy, an institute set up to train factory workers, Jackson finds himself immersed in a world that couldn't be further removed than the comfortable life he's used to; a harsh, violent, semi-articulate society where the students have created their own hierarchy based on fighting ability. Using his wits to survive, Jackson starts to realise that his whole life has been based on half-truths. And in order to survive he needs to expose the lies that surround the Academy and find out the truth about who he really is. As he builds alliances and begins to educate those closest to him, a plan for rebellion and escape gradually comes into shape...


Daisy Pennock, 13 I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and the twists in the story line were what made this novel for me. A great read! Click here to read the full review

Hollie Compton 15 I loved reading The Disappeared.....The plot was amazing.....Click here to read the read the full review

Jack Graham I really enjoyed this book with its many twists and turns in the plot. Click hereto read the full review.

Kalilah The good aspects of this story would have to be the humour and character development. Click here to read the full review

Gemma Bees This book is excellent. I found the storyline to be gripping, I couldn’t put it down for three days. Click here to read the full review

Amrit Bunet a book full of clever ideas and twists that would surprise any readerClick here to read the full review

Josh Travers The story is moving and powerful, but the inclusion of humour every so often into this brilliantly crafted text ensures that the reader does not go too long without a smile. Click here to read the full review Mortal Chaos

Robin Johansson Mortal chaos is an intense, gripping page-turner with endless twists and turns making it impossible to put down until the very last paragraph.Click here to read the full review

Christie Heaven a new narrative filled with lovable British dark humor. Anxiously waiting for more!! Click here to read the full review

About the Author

C.J. Harper is a graduate of the Bath Spa MA in Creative Writing for Young People and a former Waterstone's children's bookseller. THE DISAPPEARED is her first novel.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


384 pages
Interest Age: From 11


C. J. Harper
More books by C. J. Harper


Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd

Publication date

31st January 2013




I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

Lovereading 4 schools