Hooey Higgins and the Big Day Out by Steve Voake
  

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Ever been up to your neck in a croc-infested swamp with enemy soldiers tracking your every move? Me neither! But don't let that stop you coming to the Outdoor Activity Centre, where Basbo is on red alert for sharky-sharks, Twig is searching for brains, courage and a heart and Hooey is flying high - without a plane.

Synopsis

Hooey Higgins and the Big Day Out by Steve Voake

Like kayaks? Like hula? Like to hula ON a kayak? Read this book and you...might! Come on, there's no time for biscuits - slap your kayak and let's GO, GO, GO!

This is the fifth book in the Hooey Higgins series - perfect for fans of Mr Gum and Horrid Henry.

Other titles include:

Hooey Higgins and the Shark

Hooey Higgins and the Tremendous Trousers

Hooey Higgins and the Big Boat Race

Hooey Higgins Goes for Gold

Reviews

Energetic and bubbly... silliness by the bucketload... It's wild and wacky. (Bookbag)

About the Author

Steve Voake

Steve Voake grew up in Midsomer Norton, near Bath, Somerset. His early ambitions were to play football for England and to be a bomb disposal expert so that he could blow stuff up. His favourite pastime was racing home made go-carts (and crashing them) with his friends.

As an adult
After studying for a degree in philosophy, Steve sold ice-creams in the south of France before becoming a primary school teacher. He spent eight very happy years as headteacher of the 'Jack and Jill' school in Kilmersdon, Somerset. The original well from the nursery rhyme can still be found in the playground at the top of the hill.

As an artist
In order to find time to write his first novel, The Dreamwalker's Child, Steve used to get up at 3 a.m. and work for several hours before anyone else was awake. He has written two sequels, The Web of Fire and The Starlight Conspiracy. Steve became a full-time writer in 2005, but still finds that he gets more done if he gets up early!

Things you didn't know about Steve Voake
1. He once threw dry ice into the sea to make smoke and sell more ice-creams.
2. He had a guinea pig called Hammy because he thought it was a hamster.
3. He won an award for Best Comedy Performance at Bath Drama Festival.
4. His favourite animals are prairie dogs and meerkats (joint winners).
5. He loves to play the guitar.
6. His favourite colour is blue and he hates celery.
7. He forgot to concentrate during a parachute jump and nearly landed in a river.
8. He is the cousin of author/illustrator Charlotte Voake.
9. He thinks peanut butter and banana sandwiches are a match made in heaven.
10. He doesn't eat them very often because they would make him tubby.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
128 pages
Interest Age: From 6

Author

Steve Voake
More books by Steve Voake

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

6th September 2012

ISBN

9781406334296

Categories


A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools