Hooey Higgins and the Big Day Out by Steve Voake
  

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Ever been up to your neck in a croc-infested swamp with enemy soldiers tracking your every move? Me neither! But don't let that stop you coming to the Outdoor Activity Centre, where Basbo is on red alert for sharky-sharks, Twig is searching for brains, courage and a heart and Hooey is flying high - without a plane.

Win a Beast Quest Goodie Bag!

To mark the 10th Birthday of The Beast Quest series we are giving away THREE goodie bags filled with Beast Quest treats including temporary tattoos, pens, a printed bag and books from the series!

To have a chance of winning one of these super prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 29 May 2017. The winners will be notified by 5 June 2017.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 29/05/2017

Synopsis

Hooey Higgins and the Big Day Out by Steve Voake

Like kayaks? Like hula? Like to hula ON a kayak? Read this book and you...might! Come on, there's no time for biscuits - slap your kayak and let's GO, GO, GO!

This is the fifth book in the Hooey Higgins series - perfect for fans of Mr Gum and Horrid Henry.

Other titles include:

Hooey Higgins and the Shark

Hooey Higgins and the Tremendous Trousers

Hooey Higgins and the Big Boat Race

Hooey Higgins Goes for Gold

Reviews

Energetic and bubbly... silliness by the bucketload... It's wild and wacky. (Bookbag)

About the Author

Steve Voake

Steve Voake grew up in Midsomer Norton, near Bath, Somerset. His early ambitions were to play football for England and to be a bomb disposal expert so that he could blow stuff up. His favourite pastime was racing home made go-carts (and crashing them) with his friends.

As an adult
After studying for a degree in philosophy, Steve sold ice-creams in the south of France before becoming a primary school teacher. He spent eight very happy years as headteacher of the 'Jack and Jill' school in Kilmersdon, Somerset. The original well from the nursery rhyme can still be found in the playground at the top of the hill.

As an artist
In order to find time to write his first novel, The Dreamwalker's Child, Steve used to get up at 3 a.m. and work for several hours before anyone else was awake. He has written two sequels, The Web of Fire and The Starlight Conspiracy. Steve became a full-time writer in 2005, but still finds that he gets more done if he gets up early!

Things you didn't know about Steve Voake
1. He once threw dry ice into the sea to make smoke and sell more ice-creams.
2. He had a guinea pig called Hammy because he thought it was a hamster.
3. He won an award for Best Comedy Performance at Bath Drama Festival.
4. His favourite animals are prairie dogs and meerkats (joint winners).
5. He loves to play the guitar.
6. His favourite colour is blue and he hates celery.
7. He forgot to concentrate during a parachute jump and nearly landed in a river.
8. He is the cousin of author/illustrator Charlotte Voake.
9. He thinks peanut butter and banana sandwiches are a match made in heaven.
10. He doesn't eat them very often because they would make him tubby.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
128 pages
Interest Age: From 6

Author

Steve Voake
More books by Steve Voake

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

6th September 2012

ISBN

9781406334296

Categories


I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools