Hooey Higgins and the Awards of Awesomeness by Steve Voake
  

Hooey Higgins and the Awards of Awesomeness

Written by Steve Voake
Illustrated by Emma Dodson
Part of the Hooey Higgins Series

7+ readers   

RRP £5.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Classroom life as experienced by the pupils is brilliantly evoked in this hilarious story about the ridiculousness of endless awards and certificates. As the head announces yet more awards for achieving wonderful things, Twig wonders why he has never won anything. Hooey and Will decide to set matters right. Soon their Awards for Awesomeness are there for the taking and everyone – including Twig – can become a winner. Steve Voake gets behind the scenes brilliantly.

Synopsis

Hooey Higgins and the Awards of Awesomeness by Steve Voake

Screwball antics on and off the footie pitch. Why does Twig never win an award? Why? Why? Anyway, he doesn't. In school assembly everyone else (even Basbo) wins Mr Croft's Awards Certificates - Sarah-Jane Silverton has so many that her parents have actually built an extension to display them all. There's only one solution: Hooey and Will decide to invent their own Awards Of Awesomeness, strategically tailored to Twig's...erm...talents. But one mayhem football game and one Green innovation later, Twig is still tragically prizeless. Will he ever be Awarded an Award, Awesome or otherwise?

Sixth book in the Hooey Higgins series - perfect for fans of Mr Gum , Horrid Henry and Wimpy Kid.

Reviews

...A romp that might just drag a few eyes away from the Wimpy Kid books. Fast-paced fun. Kirkus Reviews

About the Author

Steve Voake

Steve Voake grew up in Midsomer Norton, near Bath, Somerset. His early ambitions were to play football for England and to be a bomb disposal expert so that he could blow stuff up. His favourite pastime was racing home made go-carts (and crashing them) with his friends.

As an adult
After studying for a degree in philosophy, Steve sold ice-creams in the south of France before becoming a primary school teacher. He spent eight very happy years as headteacher of the 'Jack and Jill' school in Kilmersdon, Somerset. The original well from the nursery rhyme can still be found in the playground at the top of the hill.

As an artist
In order to find time to write his first novel, The Dreamwalker's Child, Steve used to get up at 3 a.m. and work for several hours before anyone else was awake. He has written two sequels, The Web of Fire and The Starlight Conspiracy. Steve became a full-time writer in 2005, but still finds that he gets more done if he gets up early!

Things you didn't know about Steve Voake
1. He once threw dry ice into the sea to make smoke and sell more ice-creams.
2. He had a guinea pig called Hammy because he thought it was a hamster.
3. He won an award for Best Comedy Performance at Bath Drama Festival.
4. His favourite animals are prairie dogs and meerkats (joint winners).
5. He loves to play the guitar.
6. His favourite colour is blue and he hates celery.
7. He forgot to concentrate during a parachute jump and nearly landed in a river.
8. He is the cousin of author/illustrator Charlotte Voake.
9. He thinks peanut butter and banana sandwiches are a match made in heaven.
10. He doesn't eat them very often because they would make him tubby.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
144 pages

Author

Steve Voake
More books by Steve Voake

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

2nd May 2013

ISBN

9781406334302

Categories


Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools