The Mystery by Garth Nix, Sean Williams

The Mystery

Written by Garth Nix, Sean Williams
Part of the Troubletwisters Series

11+ readers   9+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

Selected by our Editorial Experts

The Mystery is the third title in this widely accesssible, action packed adventure series, Troubletwisters. With fantasy and magic and high-octane action this will appeal to fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter.

It works well as a stand-alone book but you might also like to download an extract of the first two - Troubletwisters and Troubletwisters 2: The Monster.

Click here to visit the series page.


The Mystery by Garth Nix, Sean Williams

Born to protect the world - or possibly blow it up! When Grandma X is put out of action by an accident that may or not have been caused by The Evil, it's up to Jack and Jaide Shield to help their father recover a lost Golden Card from Portland's strangest landmark: The Rourke Castle. Negotiating secret passages, talking parrots and animated suits of armour is all in a day's work for the troubletwisters, whose Gifts are steadily coming under control. But agents for The Evil are everywhere, including one apparently masquerading as an old and trusted friend.


'It's fun, it's lively, and it's a bit scary - in a word, enjoyable.' (Bookbag)

About the Author

Garth Nix, Sean Williams

Garth Nix is best known for his award-winning fantasies Sabriel, Lirael and Abhorsen and the seven books of The Keys to the Kingdom series. His books have appeared on the bestseller lists of The New York Times, Publishers Weekly, The Guardian, The Sunday Times and The Australian.

Number-one New York Times-bestseller Sean Williams is the author of The Fixers, The Broken Land, and The Books of the Change for young readers. He also writes space opera and the occasional Star Wars novel, most recently The Old Republic: Fatal Alliance and The Force Unleashed II.

Garth and Sean read from Troubletwisters in this video:

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


352 pages
Interest Age: From 10


Garth Nix, Sean Williams
More books by Garth Nix, Sean Williams


Egmont Books Ltd an imprint of Egmont UK Ltd

Publication date

6th May 2013




It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

Lovereading 4 schools