The Things We Never Said by Susan Elliot-Wright
  

The Things We Never Said

Written by Susan Elliot-Wright

13+ readers   eBooks   

The Lovereading4Kids comment

A powerful debut novel perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell.

A story that grips you from the very start, slowly weaving together the tale of two people living different lives in different times. Maggie, who is confused and disorientated, finding herself in a mental asylum; and Jonathan, whose seemingly perfect life begins to tumble into chaos and despair. This beautifully written tale keeps your interest and attention from beginning to end. The characters are compassionately presented; they make believable choices, mistakes and errors which endear you to them all the more. A good read with substance, plot and enough depth to keep you enthralled to the very last page.

A review from Beverley Davenport, one of our Lovereading panel members

Win the Skulduggery Pleasant series, SIGNED by the author!

The 11 instalment in the best-selling Skulduggery Pleasant series, Midnight, is out in hardback on 31 May. To celebrate this we are giving away THREE prizes of all 11 books in the series, SIGNED by the author Derek Landy and delivered in a special Skulduggery Pleasant tote bag!

To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Draw closes on 28 June 2018. The winners will be notified by 12 July 2018.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 28/06/2018

Synopsis

The Things We Never Said by Susan Elliot-Wright

The past shapes us all. But what happens when it hides a secret that changes everything? In 1964, Maggie wakes to find herself in a mental asylum, with no idea who she is or how she got there. Remnants of memories swirl in her mind - a familiar song, a storm, a moment of violence. Slowly, she begins to piece together the past and the events which brought her to this point. In the present day, Jonathan is grieving after the loss of his father. A cold, distant man, he was not easy to love, but at least while he lived there was hope for reconciliation. Then a detective turns up on Jonathan's doorstep to question him about crimes he believes Jonathan's father may have committed long ago...As the two stories interweave, the devastating truth long kept hidden must emerge, and both Maggie and Jonathan are forced to come to terms with the consequences of the shocking and tragic events of over forty years ago.

About the Author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback

Author

Susan Elliot-Wright
More books by Susan Elliot-Wright

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Ltd

Publication date

23rd May 2013

ISBN

9781471102325

Categories


At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****