The Things We Never Said by Susan Elliot-Wright
  

The Lovereading4Kids comment

A powerful debut novel perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell.

A story that grips you from the very start, slowly weaving together the tale of two people living different lives in different times. Maggie, who is confused and disorientated, finding herself in a mental asylum; and Jonathan, whose seemingly perfect life begins to tumble into chaos and despair. This beautifully written tale keeps your interest and attention from beginning to end. The characters are compassionately presented; they make believable choices, mistakes and errors which endear you to them all the more. A good read with substance, plot and enough depth to keep you enthralled to the very last page.

A review from Beverley Davenport, one of our Lovereading panel members

Synopsis

The Things We Never Said by Susan Elliot-Wright

The past shapes us all. But what happens when it hides a secret that changes everything? In 1964, Maggie wakes to find herself in a mental asylum, with no idea who she is or how she got there. Remnants of memories swirl in her mind - a familiar song, a storm, a moment of violence. Slowly, she begins to piece together the past and the events which brought her to this point. In the present day, Jonathan is grieving after the loss of his father. A cold, distant man, he was not easy to love, but at least while he lived there was hope for reconciliation. Then a detective turns up on Jonathan's doorstep to question him about crimes he believes Jonathan's father may have committed long ago...As the two stories interweave, the devastating truth long kept hidden must emerge, and both Maggie and Jonathan are forced to come to terms with the consequences of the shocking and tragic events of over forty years ago.

About the Author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback

Author

Susan Elliot-Wright
More books by Susan Elliot-Wright

Publisher

Publication date

30th November 1999

ISBN

9781471102325

Categories


It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools