The Things We Never Said by Susan Elliot-Wright
  

The Things We Never Said

Written by Susan Elliot-Wright

13+ readers   eBooks   eBooks   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

The Lovereading4Kids comment

A powerful debut novel perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell.

A story that grips you from the very start, slowly weaving together the tale of two people living different lives in different times. Maggie, who is confused and disorientated, finding herself in a mental asylum; and Jonathan, whose seemingly perfect life begins to tumble into chaos and despair. This beautifully written tale keeps your interest and attention from beginning to end. The characters are compassionately presented; they make believable choices, mistakes and errors which endear you to them all the more. A good read with substance, plot and enough depth to keep you enthralled to the very last page.

A review from Beverley Davenport, one of our Lovereading panel members

Synopsis

The Things We Never Said by Susan Elliot-Wright

The past shapes us all. But what happens when it hides a secret that changes everything? In 1964, Maggie wakes to find herself in a mental asylum, with no idea who she is or how she got there. Remnants of memories swirl in her mind - a familiar song, a storm, a moment of violence. Slowly, she begins to piece together the past and the events which brought her to this point. In the present day, Jonathan is grieving after the loss of his father. A cold, distant man, he was not easy to love, but at least while he lived there was hope for reconciliation. Then a detective turns up on Jonathan's doorstep to question him about crimes he believes Jonathan's father may have committed long ago...As the two stories interweave, the devastating truth long kept hidden must emerge, and both Maggie and Jonathan are forced to come to terms with the consequences of the shocking and tragic events of over forty years ago.

About the Author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback

Author

Susan Elliot-Wright
More books by Susan Elliot-Wright

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Ltd

Publication date

23rd May 2013

ISBN

9781471102325

Categories


Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****