The Things We Never Said by Susan Elliot-Wright
  

The Lovereading4Kids comment

A powerful debut novel perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell.

A story that grips you from the very start, slowly weaving together the tale of two people living different lives in different times. Maggie, who is confused and disorientated, finding herself in a mental asylum; and Jonathan, whose seemingly perfect life begins to tumble into chaos and despair. This beautifully written tale keeps your interest and attention from beginning to end. The characters are compassionately presented; they make believable choices, mistakes and errors which endear you to them all the more. A good read with substance, plot and enough depth to keep you enthralled to the very last page.

A review from Beverley Davenport, one of our Lovereading panel members

Synopsis

The Things We Never Said by Susan Elliot-Wright

The past shapes us all. But what happens when it hides a secret that changes everything? In 1964, Maggie wakes to find herself in a mental asylum, with no idea who she is or how she got there. Remnants of memories swirl in her mind - a familiar song, a storm, a moment of violence. Slowly, she begins to piece together the past and the events which brought her to this point. In the present day, Jonathan is grieving after the loss of his father. A cold, distant man, he was not easy to love, but at least while he lived there was hope for reconciliation. Then a detective turns up on Jonathan's doorstep to question him about crimes he believes Jonathan's father may have committed long ago...As the two stories interweave, the devastating truth long kept hidden must emerge, and both Maggie and Jonathan are forced to come to terms with the consequences of the shocking and tragic events of over forty years ago.

About the Author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback

Author

Susan Elliot-Wright
More books by Susan Elliot-Wright

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Ltd

Publication date

23rd May 2013

ISBN

9781471102325

Categories


I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools