The Mayan Prophecy by Alex Scarrow

The Mayan Prophecy

Written by Alex Scarrow
Part of the TimeRiders Series

11+ readers   9+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

This may be Book 8 and the series a major number one bestseller already but many new fans are still jumping in to this terrific time travel adventure, so if it's time travel you're looking for then look no further than this series created by Alex Scarrow's. In this one The Mayans get a time-travel makeover - just the ticket for fans of Dr Who or Indiana Jones but keep the books to yourself - dads have been known to squirrel them away for their own reading pleasure!

You can also find out more at the website - including games, competitions, blogs and exclusive content.


The Mayan Prophecy by Alex Scarrow

Get ready for TimeRiders: The Mayan Prophecy, the 8th book in Alex Scarrow's numbered 1 bestselling time-travel adventure series. Liam O'Connor should have died at sea in 1912. Maddy Carter should have died on a plane in 2010. Sal Vikram should have died in a fire in 2026. But all three have been given a second chance - to work for an agency that no one knows exists. Its purpose: to prevent time travel destroying history...When Maddy finally unlocks fragments of the secret that Becks has been holding on to, the TimeRiders start to piece together their true purpose. Racing through time to connect the clues, the team discover a Mayan tribe and an ancient relic provides a vital link to the past ...and future. But not all the TimeRiders can cope with the discovery, and one threatens to bring them all down if they can act out their revenge...

For the full list of Timeriders books click here!

About the Author

Alex Scarrow

Alex Scarrow used to be a rock guitarist, then he became a graphic artist, then he decided to be a computer games designer. He now has his own games development company, Grr Games.

Finally, he grew up and became an author. He has written a number of successful thrillers and several screenplays, but it's YA fiction that has allowed him to really have fun with the ideas and concepts he was playing around with designing games. He is the author of the bestselling and award-winning TIMERIDERS series, which has been sold into over 30 foreign territories. He is working on the sequel to ReMade.

He lives in Norwich with his son, Jacob, his wife, Frances, and his Jack Russell, Max.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


400 pages
Interest Age: From 11


Alex Scarrow
More books by Alex Scarrow

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest


Puffin Books an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd

Publication date

1st August 2013




Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

Lovereading 4 schools