Reader Reviewed Soulmates by Holly Bourne
  

Soulmates

Written by Holly Bourne

13+ readers   Debuts of the Month   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

September 2013 Debut of the Month Introducing Poppy, 17-year-old cynic, and Noah, heart-throb guitarist: residents of mediocre Middletown, sometime students and…soulmates. After a chance meeting at a local band night, Poppy and Noah find themselves swept up in a whirlwind romance unlike anything they’ve ever experienced before. But with a secret international agency preparing to separate them, a trail of destruction rumbling in their wake, (and a looming psychology coursework deadline), they are left with an impossible choice between the end of the world, or a life without love…

A home-grown young author with a fearless freshness, poised to take the YA market by storm. Perfect for fans of Louise Rennison, Sophie McKenzie and Cassandra Clare.

reader reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for Soulmates a small number of readers were lucky enough to be invited to review this title. Here's a taster....'It was amazing, especially for a teenage girl like myself, because I could truly connect with the young characters. A stunning read, I highly recommend..'

Scroll down to read more reviews...

Win an original print from The Pavee and the Buffer Girl

Siobhan Dowd's powerful story of the fight against racism and prejudice, The Pavee and the Buffer Girl, has been reissued as a splendid graphic novel with stunning illustrations by Emma Shoard. We are giving away an ORIGINAL print from the book (shown here) and a copy SIGNED by Emma.

To have a chance of winning this special prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 3 May 2017. The winners will be notified by 15 May 2017.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 03/05/2017

Synopsis

Soulmates by Holly Bourne

Every so often, two people are born who are the perfect match for each other. Soulmates. But while the odds of this happening are about as likely as being struck by lightning, when these people do meet and fall in love, thunderstorms, lightning strikes and lashings of rain are only the beginning of their problems. After a chance meeting at a local band night, Poppy and Noah find themselves swept up in a whirlwind romance unlike anything they've ever experienced before. But with a secret international agency preparing to separate them, a trail of destruction rumbling in their wake, they are left with an impossible choice between the end of the world, or a life without love...

In Soulmates, Holly plays with the Hollywood perception that true love has to be difficult in order to still be considered ‘true’, she says: "Every day we’re spoon-fed fairytale narratives of what love should be. That the path to true love never runs smooth, that the most romantic love is ‘forbidden’, and that we all have a The One, just waiting to complete us. I wanted to take the most romantic concept of all, soulmates, and turn it on its head. What if finding your soulmate was the worst thing ever?"

Reviews

A small number of readers were lucky enough to be invited to review Soulmates. Read their reviews below.



Sarah Murray - 'I could not but this book down it was amazing! Everything you think about love and soulmates gets completely re-written. It is one of my favourite books this year it is a must read!' Click here to read the full review.

Molly Hudson - 'If you love a good romance book, but are into science-fiction too, this is perfect as it has a bit of each thrown in...we definitely need a sequel please Holly!! Definitely 5 stars!' Click here to read the full review.



Ayesha Afghan
- 'Soulmates is probably one of the sweetest yet saddest romances ever...Holly Bourne did a really good job on writing this novel and I am looking forward to reading more of her novels in future.' Click here to read the full review.



Delilah Acworth
- 'It was amazing, especially for a teenage girl like myself, because I could truly connect with the young characters. A stunning read, I highly recommend.' Click here to read the full review.



Joe Wilkes - 'Soulmates follows panic-attack-stricken Lizzie...Unfortunate circumstances lead to her meeting the love of her life, and all sorts of things go wrong from there.' Click here to read the full review.

_________________________

Further praise for Holly Bourne.

“Holly Bourne’s electrifying YA romance is guaranteed to set teenage hearts on fire. Forget Romeo and Juliet, and meet Poppy and Noah, a pair of contemporary star-crossed lovers whose doomed passion goes against love, life.... and science.” - Pam Norfolk, book reviewer for LEP

“Soulmates is awesome and educational, with an ending that is too beautiful for words!” - Once Upon A Bookcase

“A fantastic contemporary YA romance with a dark edge – I read it in one sitting!” - Melissa Cox, Waterstone’s Children’s Book Buyer

“Warning: this book will demolish your heart as it has demolished mine.” - CJ Skuse, YA author

“Holly Bourne is a bright rising star in British YA… you won’t want to miss this extraordinary debut!” - Jess Loves Books

“Soulmates is an impressive debut novel and a wonderfully original story with a fresh take on the idea of star crossed lovers.” - Narratively Speaking

About the Author

Holly Bourne

Holly Bourne is the author of Am I Normal Yet?, How Hard Can Love Be?, What’s a Girl Gotta Do?, The Manifesto on How to be Interesting and Soulmates. She graduated with a first class degree in Journalism Studies at University of Sheffield and spent two years working as a local news reporter on the Surrey Mirror, garnering a nomination for Print Journalist of the Year in 2010. During her time there, Holly uncovered many national and international stories that received huge press coverage. She was nominated for Print Journalist of the Year – but found she didn’t have the stomach for the job.

Her first two books, Soulmates and The Manifesto on How to be Interesting, have been critically acclaimed and translated into six languages. Am I Normal Yet? has been chosen as a World Book Night book for 2016, and shortlisted for The Bookseller YA Book Prize.

Her own experiences of blatant sexism, drove her to write Am I Normal Yet? - the first book in the critically acclaimed Normal series about three girls who start their own grassroots feminist campaign group. The trilogy has inspired young girls to start their own groups all over the UK and Holly tours schools and festivals to talk to young people about gender equality. To mark the release of What’s a Girl Gotta Do? – the last book in the trilogy – Holly launched the #IamaFeminist social media campaign which trended worldwide. She lives in Lewes.

She worked as a journalist for TheSite.org an advice and information website for 16-25 year olds, click here to read a Q&A with Holly.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
544 pages

Author

Holly Bourne
More books by Holly Bourne

Author's Website

www.hollybourne.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Usborne Publishing Ltd

Publication date

1st September 2013

ISBN

9781409557500

Categories


I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools