Reader Reviewed The Woebegone Twins by Christopher William Hill
  

The Woebegone Twins

Written by Christopher William Hill

9+ readers   Books of the Month   11+ readers   eBooks   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

One of our Books of the Year 2013 - October 2013 Book of the Month Fans of Roald Dahl and Lemony Snicket will enjoy the dark and disagreeable lives of twins Greta and Feliks Mortenerg – frequently known as the woebegone twins. Abandoned by their parents the twins are brought up by their kind but unusual Aunt Grisela whose care for them keeps them out of the Schwartzgarten Reformatory for Maladjusted Children. Both twins have red hair, lots of freckles and an allergy to almonds. When Aunt Grisela takes in Mr Morbide to be a new house guest, the twins are sure he is an evil murderer. Can they prove it? They are certainly about to try. In the strange world of Schwartzgarten all kinds of unpleasantness may take place and nothing is quite as it seems!

reader reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for The Woebegone Twins a small number of children were lucky enough to be invited to review this title. Here's a taster....'A hilariously grim book and some of the characters are really evil...This is a great book which I couldn’t put down.'

Scroll down to read more reviews...

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we are delighted to be giving you a chance to win a wonderful family break. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

The Woebegone Twins by Christopher William Hill

When twins Greta and Feliks lose their beloved Aunt Gisela to a poisoned marzipan cake and are sent to the ill-omened Schwartzgarten Reformatory for Maladjusted Children it seems their fate is sealed...that is until they are rescued by the glamorous and wealthy Olga Van Veenen, a fabulous children's author. The two twins are grateful but something tells them that Olga's motives are not entirely genuine...

The Woebegone Twins is the second in a thrilling series of four books, all set in the fictional city of Schwartzgarten. The series began with Osbert the Avenger - click here to visit the book page to read a review & download an extract. With shades of Lemony Snicket and Roald Dahl, the Tales from Schwartzgarten are as hilarious as they are dark, this brilliantly woven mock-gothic tale has huge child appeal.

Reviews

A small number of children were lucky enough to be invited to review this title. You can read their reviews below.

Sam Harper, age 9 - 'With flights in airships and deaths by beheading and poison, this is a fantastically gruesome adventure. If you like shocking and grizzly tales, choose The Woebegone Twins!' Click Here to read the full review.


Anna Leaver, age 9 -
'Set in the make believe city of Schwartzgarten. The twins try to escape from Olga Van Veenen, who is an evil murderer. They have a fight on the clock tower and Olga gets her comeuppance!' Click Here to read the full review.


Ross Dawson, age 9 -
'An awesome book for all those who enjoy brave characters, feeling a bit anxious and plenty of cliffhangers. I'd give it five stars - read it and you'll love it too!' Click Here to read the full review.


Rebekah Choi, age 11 -
'Thrilling and chilling, perfect for readers who like murder, crime and mystery. Two brave children on the run from some very mean people! Only open this book if you dare!' Click Here to read the full review.


Emma Baird, age 10 -
'A hilariously grim book and some of the characters are really evil...This is a great book which I couldn’t put down.' Click Here to read the full review.


Thomas Davies, age 7 -
'The Woebegone Twins by Christopher William Hill is about twins, Greta and Feliks who are very unlucky children. A sad day comes and this sends Greta and Feliks on an adventure of their lives!'


Charlie Swan, age 7 -
'This book is about two children called Greta and Feliks who live in the city of Schwartzgarten, which is a mysterious place where lots of scary things happen. I really liked this book. The story was very exciting and scary.' Click Here to read the full review.


Jenny Bridgeman, age 8 -
'Fantastic and dark, this is great for children who liked Lemony Snicket. It's funny and scary!' Click Here to read the full review.


Emma Moroney, age 7 -
'I loved reading The Woebegone Twins. it was full of twists and turns and you didn’t know what was going to happen in the chapter.' Click Here to read the full review.

Joseph Exley, age 9 - 'The Woebegone Twins is a murder mystery and adventure book. I thought this book was a fantastic read, it kept me gripped all the way to the end.' Click Here to read the full review.

_______________________________________

Praise for OSBERT THE AVENGER

“Wry and unexpected, it offers exaggerated villains, elaborate murders, twists and narrow escapes.” SUNDAY TIMES

“Fans of Roald Dahl and Chris Priestley will savour every gruesome drop of this stylish, grisly and original comedy.” THE TIMES

“A riveting story – a clever mix of humour with some very dark and gruesome moments and a couple of real shocks towards the end.” PRIMARY TIMES

“Bloodthirsty and mysterious with a sharp spike in its tail, Osbert’s story is a deliciously dark invitation to the strange world of Schwartzgarten, a city corrupt with shadows and
secrets – and in need of a hero.” WE LOVE THIS BOOK

“A macabre tale full of ghoulish and gruesome escapades. A frightening but appealing anti-hero.” BOOKTRUST

“Macabre and gruesome and wickedly funny.” LOVEREADING

About the Author

Christopher William Hill

Christopher William Hill was born in Truro, in Cornwall - a little jaundiced, but that was to be expected in the grim days of the 1970s. His mother was a former nurse, so Christopher grew up with a copy of Black's Medical Dictionary to hand, which was ideal reading matter for an enthusiastic hypochondriac. He liked acting and putting on silly voices, and collecting ancient relics which he gathered in a large walk-in wardrobe that called his 'museum'. Christopher loves walking, ocean liners, airships, Victoriana and cake shops.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback

Author

Christopher William Hill
More books by Christopher William Hill

Author's Website

christopherwilliamhill.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Orchard Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Books

Publication date

3rd October 2013

ISBN

9781408330135

Categories


I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****