Reader Reviewed The Woebegone Twins by Christopher William Hill

The Woebegone Twins

Written by Christopher William Hill
Part of the Tales from Schwartzgarten Series

9+ readers   Books of the Month   11+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

One of our Books of the Year 2013 - October 2013 Book of the Month Fans of Roald Dahl and Lemony Snicket will enjoy the dark and disagreeable lives of twins Greta and Feliks Mortenerg – frequently known as the woebegone twins. Abandoned by their parents the twins are brought up by their kind but unusual Aunt Grisela whose care for them keeps them out of the Schwartzgarten Reformatory for Maladjusted Children. Both twins have red hair, lots of freckles and an allergy to almonds. When Aunt Grisela takes in Mr Morbide to be a new house guest, the twins are sure he is an evil murderer. Can they prove it? They are certainly about to try. In the strange world of Schwartzgarten all kinds of unpleasantness may take place and nothing is quite as it seems!

reader reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for The Woebegone Twins a small number of children were lucky enough to be invited to review this title. Here's a taster....'A hilariously grim book and some of the characters are really evil...This is a great book which I couldn’t put down.'

Scroll down to read more reviews...


The Woebegone Twins by Christopher William Hill

When twins Greta and Feliks lose their beloved Aunt Gisela to a poisoned marzipan cake and are sent to the ill-omened Schwartzgarten Reformatory for Maladjusted Children it seems their fate is sealed...that is until they are rescued by the glamorous and wealthy Olga Van Veenen, a fabulous children's author. The two twins are grateful but something tells them that Olga's motives are not entirely genuine...

The Woebegone Twins is the second in a thrilling series of four books, all set in the fictional city of Schwartzgarten. The series began with Osbert the Avenger - click here to visit the book page to read a review & download an extract. With shades of Lemony Snicket and Roald Dahl, the Tales from Schwartzgarten are as hilarious as they are dark, this brilliantly woven mock-gothic tale has huge child appeal.


A small number of children were lucky enough to be invited to review this title. You can read their reviews below.

Sam Harper, age 9 - 'With flights in airships and deaths by beheading and poison, this is a fantastically gruesome adventure. If you like shocking and grizzly tales, choose The Woebegone Twins!' Click Here to read the full review.

Anna Leaver, age 9 -
'Set in the make believe city of Schwartzgarten. The twins try to escape from Olga Van Veenen, who is an evil murderer. They have a fight on the clock tower and Olga gets her comeuppance!' Click Here to read the full review.

Ross Dawson, age 9 -
'An awesome book for all those who enjoy brave characters, feeling a bit anxious and plenty of cliffhangers. I'd give it five stars - read it and you'll love it too!' Click Here to read the full review.

Rebekah Choi, age 11 -
'Thrilling and chilling, perfect for readers who like murder, crime and mystery. Two brave children on the run from some very mean people! Only open this book if you dare!' Click Here to read the full review.

Emma Baird, age 10 -
'A hilariously grim book and some of the characters are really evil...This is a great book which I couldn’t put down.' Click Here to read the full review.

Thomas Davies, age 7 -
'The Woebegone Twins by Christopher William Hill is about twins, Greta and Feliks who are very unlucky children. A sad day comes and this sends Greta and Feliks on an adventure of their lives!'

Charlie Swan, age 7 -
'This book is about two children called Greta and Feliks who live in the city of Schwartzgarten, which is a mysterious place where lots of scary things happen. I really liked this book. The story was very exciting and scary.' Click Here to read the full review.

Jenny Bridgeman, age 8 -
'Fantastic and dark, this is great for children who liked Lemony Snicket. It's funny and scary!' Click Here to read the full review.

Emma Moroney, age 7 -
'I loved reading The Woebegone Twins. it was full of twists and turns and you didn’t know what was going to happen in the chapter.' Click Here to read the full review.

Joseph Exley, age 9 - 'The Woebegone Twins is a murder mystery and adventure book. I thought this book was a fantastic read, it kept me gripped all the way to the end.' Click Here to read the full review.



“Wry and unexpected, it offers exaggerated villains, elaborate murders, twists and narrow escapes.” SUNDAY TIMES

“Fans of Roald Dahl and Chris Priestley will savour every gruesome drop of this stylish, grisly and original comedy.” THE TIMES

“A riveting story – a clever mix of humour with some very dark and gruesome moments and a couple of real shocks towards the end.” PRIMARY TIMES

“Bloodthirsty and mysterious with a sharp spike in its tail, Osbert’s story is a deliciously dark invitation to the strange world of Schwartzgarten, a city corrupt with shadows and
secrets – and in need of a hero.” WE LOVE THIS BOOK

“A macabre tale full of ghoulish and gruesome escapades. A frightening but appealing anti-hero.” BOOKTRUST

“Macabre and gruesome and wickedly funny.” LOVEREADING

About the Author

Christopher William Hill

Christopher William Hill was born in Truro, in Cornwall - a little jaundiced, but that was to be expected in the grim days of the 1970s. His mother was a former nurse, so Christopher grew up with a copy of Black's Medical Dictionary to hand, which was ideal reading matter for an enthusiastic hypochondriac. He liked acting and putting on silly voices, and collecting ancient relics which he gathered in a large walk-in wardrobe that called his 'museum'. Christopher loves walking, ocean liners, airships, Victoriana and cake shops.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


352 pages


Christopher William Hill
More books by Christopher William Hill

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest


Orchard Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Books

Publication date

3rd October 2013




Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

Lovereading 4 schools