The Isobel Journal: Just a Northern Girl from Where Nothing Really Happens by Isobel Harrop
  

The Isobel Journal: Just a Northern Girl from Where Nothing Really Happens

Written by Isobel Harrop
Illustrated by Isobel Harrop

13+ readers   Debuts of the Month   11+ readers   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

December 2013 Debut of the Month Readers will empathise with this witty and honest journal of a girl getting to grips with impending adulthood. You'll find mini novels within the whole interspersed with sketches, photos and captions. It is a must-have for all hipster teenagers and anyone who appreciates the raw creativity of youth. It is by turns both enchanting and poignant. Adults too will enjoy it if they are still young at heart!!

A Piece of Passion from Emily Thomas, Publisher This is a very special book; a funny, profound and heart-lifting scrapbook in the vein of CHOPSTICKS and IMPORTANT ARTIFACTS, and with the narrative charm of Laura Dockrill.

But, as the name suggests, this is Isobel's journal and nobody else's. A diverse and delightful scrapbook of an eighteen-year-old student's life, loves and preoccupations. I spotted Isobel's witty and sometimes slightly heart-breaking tweets while scrolling through Twitter a year or so ago. Something about her sharply observational humour, her innocence and her intelligence really struck me. It seemed as though she was telling the truth about her life, in a refreshingly unguarded way, and her words stayed with me, so I got in touch.
So now, here are Isobel's sketches, photographs and captions, all of which beautifully encapsulate her wit, her life and her considerable artistic talent. I defy anyone not to laugh out loud, and cry a little bit by turns... A sweetheart of a book and one for all teenagers-at-heart (whether eighteen or eighty).

Win the Skulduggery Pleasant series, SIGNED by the author!

The 11 instalment in the best-selling Skulduggery Pleasant series, Midnight, is out in hardback on 31 May. To celebrate this we are giving away THREE prizes of all 11 books in the series, SIGNED by the author Derek Landy and delivered in a special Skulduggery Pleasant tote bag!

To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Draw closes on 28 June 2018. The winners will be notified by 12 July 2018.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 28/06/2018

Synopsis

The Isobel Journal: Just a Northern Girl from Where Nothing Really Happens by Isobel Harrop

The Isobel Journal is no ordinary snapshot of a contemporary teenage life.

A charming and vivid narrative scrapbook of the eighteen-year-old author's sketches, mini-graphic novels, photographs and captions, it captures her wit, her observations and her creative talent as she takes us through the three central themes in her life: 'Love', 'Friends, Art and Otters' and 'Me'. Resonant of Laura Dockrill's Mistakes in the background and with the powerful naive illustrative style of cult Japanese artist Yoshitomo Nara.

Reviews

This bookis head and eye and mind bliss. I want to print every page onto a t-shirt and wear one everyday to show them to the world - Laura Dockrill

A fresh and charmingly frank portrait of teen life which perfectly captures the day-to-day realities of growing up, The Isobel Journal will leave readers excited to see what Harrop will come up with next - Booktrust

About the Author

Isobel Harrop

Isobel Harrop is an eighteen-year-old girl from the North West of England, squished somewhere between Manchester and Liverpool. She's just finished college, where she studied A-Level English Literature, English Language and Media Studies. She's got her fingers crossed to go to university next year to carry on doing English Literature somewhere a bit more interesting. This is her first book that wasn't made using the school photocopier and staples. Inspired by Peanuts comics and 1960s design, Isobel loves to draw whenever she gets a chance, with every piece of school work scrawled all over with drawings of imaginary people.

When she isn't working or drawing, you might find her fawning over cute animals on the internet (especially sea otters!), eating vast amount of chocolate in all its forms, and collecting stuff that she doesn't need from charity shops.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
208 pages

Author

Isobel Harrop
More books by Isobel Harrop

Publisher

Hot Key Books

Publication date

7th November 2013

ISBN

9781471402272

Categories

Publisher Profile

Hot Key Books is an imprint of Hot Key

logo Hot Key Books, a division of Bonnier Publishing, publish stand out, quality fiction, for 9 – 19 year olds, print and digital that people like to talk about. If you are looking for something a little bit different from your books, something a little bit special then Hot Key Books may well have just what you want.

Publisher's Website

https://www.hotkeybooks.com

Publisher's Blog

hotkeyblog.wordpress.com


I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****