Reader Reviewed A Boy Called Hope by Lara Williamson
  

A Boy Called Hope

Written by Lara Williamson

9+ readers   All Shortlists and Winners   11+ readers   Books for Boys   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Shortlisted for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize Best Fiction for 5-12's Award 2015 - March 2014 Debut of the Month A Boy Called Hope is a joyous, heart-breaking and life-affirming story of one boy and his messy, muddled and madcap family. Dan Hope may be an ordinary boy, in an ordinary home, in an ordinary town but he has an extraordinary amount of hope in his heart particularly when it comes to his dad who has left the family home. Perfect for fans of Annabel Pitcher and Frank Cottrell Boyce.

A Piece of Passon from the Publisher:

This is a book about a boy, Dan Hope. A story about his dreams and wishes, his fears and worries, and his search for hope. Because in life sometimes things are complicated and messy, not everyone is perfect, things can surprise us, they can make us laugh but they can also make us cry. This is Dan's story, about what makes the world go round, what brings people and families together, and most of all, how hope helps you dream. It's a book that we all loved and we couldn't be more proud to share the wonder that is A Boy called Hope with you.

Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and a small number of the reader review panel members were lucky enough to be invited to review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Kulsuma Begum, age 16 - 'an honest, realistic and heart-warming story about belonging, identity and family.'
  • Rosa Boran, age 14 - 'I adored this book! It was so sweet and warmed me all the way down to my toes...I really enjoyed it.'
  • Alice Watkinson, aged 11 - 'After I turned the final page and the last word was read, my head was spinning and I clutched the book close to my chest as I didn’t want to leave Daniel.'
  • Antonia Davies, age 14 'I would recommend it to everyone because I enjoyed it loads and I would love others to read it too. I found the book page turning and I could not stop reading.'
  • Sam Harper, age 10 - 'This bitter-sweet book is fantastic, brilliant, funny and sad.  It made me laugh and cry and I've never read a book which could do that before.  You must read it.'
  • Chloe Pickering, age 10 - 'I really liked this book as the caracters are all very different and quite funny but the storyline is serious and a bit sad.'
  • Alice East, age 9 - 'Dan goes through a lot of different emotions throughout the story and I felt happy and sad with him.'
  • Imogen Breaks, age 11 - 'All Dan Hope wants is his real dad to love him, not suspicious Big Dave.  One boys search of hope and love, but what he doesn't realise is that he doesn't in fact have to travel very far.' 
  • Jodi Coffman, age 12 - 'Fabulous!  A real page-turner which has so many twists and turns in the plot.  I could not put it down and read it way past my bedtime.  I couldn't recommend this book more.  A must read!'
  • Alina Wraith, age 8 - 'A Boy Called Hope was good to read.  It was funny and exciting but some bits were sad.  I would read some more books by Lara Williamson.'
  • Adi Mehta, age 8 ½ - 'A Boy Called Hope is an excellent book teaching people that whatever happens you will always be with your father.  It also says you have to move on with your life whatever comes your way.'
  • Bella Perez, age 8 - 'I read and read until my eyes dried up, this book is a mixture between funny and sad. I couldn't resist reading it, never in my life would I give up such a fantastic book!'
  • Jennifer Bridgeman, age 8 - 'This book was funny, sad, exciting and marvelously written. I loved it, it made me laugh until I cried. I would definately pass this on to my school book corner. I think that this is a very special book.'
  • Katie Johnson, age 10 - 'I liked this book because it is very emotional, and full of ups and downs for Dan Hope...Awesome book!  I would definitely recommend it!'
  • Kate Cooley, age 10 - 'A thrilling, funny and amazing story of a boy who wants his father back but it's not as easy as he thinks.'
  • Massimo, age 10 - 'A Boy Called Hope was an inspiring book about a kid called Dan Hope.'
  • Felicity Wilcox, age 11 - 'Heart-Warming, I never know what’s coming round the corner which makes it more of a page turner.'

Win a SIGNED hardback copy of Ottoline and the Purple Fox!

We are giving away 3 signed hardback copies of the fourth Ottoline adventure written and illustrated by Chris Riddell, Ottoline and the Purple Fox.

To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

Draw closes on 5 December 2016. The winners will be notified by 16 December 2016 and you should have your prize in time for Christmas!

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 05/12/2016

Synopsis

A Boy Called Hope by Lara Williamson

After his dad ran off with the lady from the chip shop, everything got a bit topsy-turvy – from his sister acting strangely (and his mum’s new boyfriend even more so) to his dad turning up as a local TV presenter. Now Dan is on a quest to make things right, starting with getting his dad back. But when Dan’s dad doesn’t reply to his emails, a class project to immortalize a hero seems like the perfect opportunity to impress him. When Dan’s plan goes pear-shaped however, it’s his mum’s boyfriend who is there to help and comfort him. And Dan starts to realise that maybe you don’t need to share a surname with someone for them to be part of your family.

Reviews

“This book totally blew me away. I love it. It's the best new voice I have read in ages.” - Cathy Cassidy

About the Author

Lara Williamson

Lara Williamson was born and studied in Northern Ireland. After work experience at Marie Claire and freelancing for various magazines including ELLE and New Woman, Lara eventually settled at J17 where, as Beauty Editor, she wrote and styled shoots. Lara won The Jasmine Awards for Best Article in a Youth Title and more recently received an Honorary Mention in Undiscovered Voices 2012.

A Boy Called Hope, Lara’s first novel, was shorlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2015 and the Independent Booksellers' Week Award 2014.

She currently lives in London with her family.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
304 pages

Author

Lara Williamson
More books by Lara Williamson

Author's Website

larawilliamson.weebly.com/

Publisher

Usborne Publishing Ltd

Publication date

1st March 2014

ISBN

9781409570318

Categories


I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools