Charm and Strange by Stephanie Kuehn
  

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Longlisted for the Carnegie Medal 2014 Fans of Meg Rosoff, Kevin Brooks or Lionel Shriver's We Need to Talk About Kevin will be gripped by this story, but it is unlike anything you have ever read before. A deftly woven and unnerving psychological thriller from debut author Stephanie Kuehn. The pace, tension and raw emotion within this books for teens is almost palpable. Charm and Strange is a book that will stay with you long after you have turned the final page.

Synopsis

Charm and Strange by Stephanie Kuehn

Longlisted for the Carnegie Medal 2014
'Don't. Please don't say my name. You have no idea who I really am.'
No one really knows who Andrew Winston Winters is. Least of all himself. He is part Win, a lonely teenager exiled to a remote boarding school in the wake of a family tragedy. The guy who shuts the whole world out, no matter the cost, because his darkest fear is of himself ...of the wolfish predator within. But he's also part Drew, the angry boy with violent impulses that control him. The boy who, one fateful summer, was part of something so terrible it came close to destroying him.

Reviews

Twisted, and twisting. Relentlessly compelling. Lush storytelling. A must-read. -- Ellen Hopkins, New York Times Bestselling author or Crank, Fallout and Tilt

Brilliant and chilling and beautiful and heartbreaking and wow. Kirsten Hubbard, Goodreads

About the Author

Stephanie Kuehn holds degrees in linguistics and sport psychology and is currently working towards a doctorate in clinical psychology. She lives in Northern California with her husband, their three children, and a joyful abundance of pets. When she's not writing, she's running. Or reading. Or dreaming. Charm and Strange is her debut novel.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
272 pages
Interest Age: From 13

Author

Stephanie Kuehn
More books by Stephanie Kuehn

Publisher

Electric Monkey an imprint of Egmont UK Ltd

Publication date

3rd June 2013

ISBN

9781405267847

Categories


It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools