Charm and Strange by Stephanie Kuehn
  

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Longlisted for the Carnegie Medal 2014 Fans of Meg Rosoff, Kevin Brooks or Lionel Shriver's We Need to Talk About Kevin will be gripped by this story, but it is unlike anything you have ever read before. A deftly woven and unnerving psychological thriller from debut author Stephanie Kuehn. The pace, tension and raw emotion within this books for teens is almost palpable. Charm and Strange is a book that will stay with you long after you have turned the final page.

Synopsis

Charm and Strange by Stephanie Kuehn

Longlisted for the Carnegie Medal 2014
'Don't. Please don't say my name. You have no idea who I really am.'
No one really knows who Andrew Winston Winters is. Least of all himself. He is part Win, a lonely teenager exiled to a remote boarding school in the wake of a family tragedy. The guy who shuts the whole world out, no matter the cost, because his darkest fear is of himself ...of the wolfish predator within. But he's also part Drew, the angry boy with violent impulses that control him. The boy who, one fateful summer, was part of something so terrible it came close to destroying him.

Reviews

Twisted, and twisting. Relentlessly compelling. Lush storytelling. A must-read. -- Ellen Hopkins, New York Times Bestselling author or Crank, Fallout and Tilt

Brilliant and chilling and beautiful and heartbreaking and wow. Kirsten Hubbard, Goodreads

About the Author

Stephanie Kuehn holds degrees in linguistics and sport psychology and is currently working towards a doctorate in clinical psychology. She lives in Northern California with her husband, their three children, and a joyful abundance of pets. When she's not writing, she's running. Or reading. Or dreaming. Charm and Strange is her debut novel.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
272 pages
Interest Age: From 13

Author

Stephanie Kuehn
More books by Stephanie Kuehn

Publisher

Electric Monkey an imprint of Egmont UK Ltd

Publication date

3rd June 2013

ISBN

9781405267847

Categories


At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools