Reader Reviewed Scavenger 1: Zoid by Paul Stewart, Chris Riddell
  

Scavenger 1: Zoid

Written by Paul Stewart, Chris Riddell

11+ readers   Books of the Month   13+ readers   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

April 2014 Book of the Month The award-winning writer/illustrators Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell plot a new gripping sci-fi adventure as robots and humans come face to face in deadly battle. The robots aboard a giant spaceship that sets out to find a new earth become zoids and rebel against their human companions. Soon, almost all humans are dead and the only survivors are hunted down and killed. Only the Scavengers, like York, are fighting back. Humans need zoid parts to fix their own broken technology but survival looks increasingly unlikely as the zoids evolve and become ever more dangerous. York needs all his courage to save himself and his people.

Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Stuart Philpot, age 9 - 'Scavenger:Zoid is a thrilling adventure for the reader. If you like futuristic adventures then this book is definitely for you. I am surprised no one else has written something like it before.' Read full review >
  • Sam Harper, age 10 - 'I was absolutely hooked from the first page of this fast paced, exciting adventure.  I read it in one sitting and I would recommend that you do the same.  I can't wait for the next in the series!' Read full review >
  • Emily Passmore, age 13 - 'For anyone who likes sci-fi, this is a brilliant book to read. the writing and illustrations are both really good and the story and universe are fantastic!' Read full review >
  • Arthur Drury, age 11 - 'This book is written by two of the best fantasy authors ever. It is as gripping and thrilling as any other of their novels.' Read full review >
  • Matty Jones – 'This book is science fiction with robots and humans fighting each other.  If you like sci fi and action you should like this, and it's got loads of pictures.' Read full review >
  • Traviss Chaytors, age 11 - 'A great action story with non-stop adventure...People who our fans of Star Trek will love this and it’s a massive 10 out of 10.' Read full review >
  • Ellen Faulkner, age 12 - 'The book was action packed, with that gripping quality that you expect from Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell. A thrilling read and I can't wait for the next.' Read full review >
  • Lola Frary, age 10 - 'This book really makes you think about robots on Earth in the future. We may end up fighting our own creations one day...' Read full review >
  • Rose Heathcote, age 14 - 'This is an epic book! Great read for sci-fi fans. Full of really good illustrations and the black pages are super cool. Gripping plot and great twist at the end.' Read full review >
  • Dylan Sweet, age 10 - 'This is a fantastic book about one boy named York who needs to save his friends from the Zoids and win back human existence.' Read full review >
  • Charlie Perkins, age 13 - 'This is good book and I would recommend it to anyone who is into sci-fi.' Read full review >
  • Jay Hughes, age 13 - 'a very interesting book that has a lot of different aspects to it.' Read full review >
  • Ewan Young, age 11 - 'Humans built a huge spaceship and robots to help them find a new earth but now the robots have turned against them - brilliant!' Read full review >

Synopsis

Scavenger 1: Zoid by Paul Stewart, Chris Riddell

From the bestselling duo behind The Edge Chronicles comes this fantastic new science fiction series that will keep readers on the edge of their seat. With electrifying, thrilling action, paired with beautiful illustrations, Scavenger: Zoid is the must-read book for fans of Dr Who and Star Trek and the first book in a new, not-to-be-missed series.

A spaceship the size of a city drifts through space on its century-long journey to find a new Earth. When it launched it was populated by thousands of hopeful passengers and the most technologically advanced Zoids in the world, ready to serve the crew's every need. But that was then, and this is now. The Zoids rebelled against their masters, wiping out most of the crew in one bloody uprising. Now the few remaining humans are hunted by the Zoids like vermin. Fourteen-year-old York is a Scavenger - he hunts Zoids and kills them by any means he can, bringing back their parts to mend the technology on which the few remaining humans rely. York has always battled to survive, but now the fate of his people is in his hands...

About the Author

Paul Stewart, Chris Riddell

Paul Stewart was born in London. He is a graduate of Lancaster University and of the University of East Anglia's creative writing course. For several years he taught English as a foreign language in Sri Lanka. Returning to England, he continued teaching before becoming a full-time writer.

He is a highly regarded author of books for young readers - everything from picture books to football stories, fantasy and horror. His first book was published in 1988 and he has since worked for a number of publishers and had over fifty titles published.

Together with Chris Riddell, he is co-creator of the Far-Flung Adventures series, which includes Fergus Crane, Gold Smarties Prize Winner, Corby Flood and Hugo Pepper, both Silver Nestle Prize Winners and the Muddle Earth series.

They are of course also co-creators of the bestselling Edge Chronicles series, which has sold over two million books and is now available in over thirty languages.

Paul lives in Brighton with his wife and children.

Chris Riddell is an accomplished graphic artist whose distinctive line drawings, with their clever caricature, fascinating detail and often enchanting fantasy elements are familiar to both children and adults.

He studied illustration at Brighton Polytechnic and has illustrated many acclaimed books for children, including the Ottoline series, Pirate Diary by Richard Platt, and Jonathan Swift’s Gulliver, which both won the Kate Greenaway Medal. Chris has also won the Costa Children’s Book Award 2013 for Goth Girl and the Ghost of a Mouse.

In addition to his childrens book work, Chris is a renowned political cartoonist, whose work appears regularly in UK newspapers the Observer and the Guardian, as well as The Literary Review and The New Statesman.

Chris lives in Brighton with his wife and children.
www.chrisriddell.co.uk

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback

Author

Paul Stewart, Chris Riddell
More books by Paul Stewart, Chris Riddell

Author's Website

www.stewartandriddell.co.uk...

Publisher

Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Publication date

27th March 2014

ISBN

9781447231486

Categories


It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****