Penny and Her Marble by Kevin Henkes
  

Synopsis

Penny and Her Marble by Kevin Henkes

In the third easy-to-read book about Penny the mouse, written by Caldecott Medalist and bestselling author Kevin Henkes, Penny finds a beautiful marble on her neighbor's lawn and must decide whether or not to keep it. With age-appropriate vocabulary, compelling characters, and a memorable storyline, Penny and her Marble is just right for beginning readers and was named a 2014 Geisel Honor book by the American Library Association. This annual award, given to the most distinguished books for beginning readers, is named for the world-renowned children's author Theodor Geisel, also known as Dr. Seuss. Kevin Henkes is known for his mouse characters, including Lilly, Owen, Chrysanthemum, Wemberly, and now Penny! In Penny and her Marble, the third book in the Penny series, Penny finds a marble on Mrs. Goodwin's yard and takes it home. But does the marble really belong to Penny? Kevin Henkes is a master at creating beautifully illustrated books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge.

Reviews

Perfect for beginning readers. A treasure. -- School Library Journal (starred review) Henkes continues to plumb the emotional world of childhood as few author/illustrators can... Another gem. -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review) Impeccable... Respect for the beginning reader's emerging skills beautifully matches Henkes's respect for Penny . -- Horn Book (starred review) Splendid ... Henkes so completely understands the minds of small children... His vivacious panels always seem to burst with springtime. It's hard to imagine anything ever going too wrong in one of his sensitive, generous portrayals. Everything here ends just right. -- New York Times Book Review Henkes ups the emotional stakes in his third book starring Penny. -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) Henkes conveys shades of emotions that are common to human experience, yet hard to express in words. It's particularly impressive that he can do so in a book for beginning readers... This small-scale, yet immensely satisfying drama is a fine addition to the Penny series. -- Booklist (starred review) Praise for Penny and Her Song: Henkes strikes all the right notes... Language, art, characterization, and plot are all executed, like Penny's song, beautifully. -- Horn Book (starred review) The text ... is perfect for new readers, and Henkes's familiar artwork has its share of warm moments. This early reader captures the way families make memories at unexpected moments. Welcome Penny to the cast. -- Booklist (starred review) Much as he did in Lilly's Purple Plastic Purse, Henkes presents an irrepressible heroine who struggles to compromise. -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) Carefully sequenced panels, expressive lines and gentle pastels lead the reader to the story's joyous resolution. -- Washington Post

About the Author

Kevin Henkes is the award-winning creator of many books for children, including the Caldecott Medal Book Kitten's First Full Moon, the Caldecott and Geisel Honor Book Waiting, the Newbery Honor Books The Year of Billy Miller and Olive's Ocean, and several bestselling books about mice, including Lilly's Purple Plastic Purse and Chrysanthemum. www.kevinhenkes.com

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
48 pages
Interest Age: From 4

Author

Kevin Henkes
More books by Kevin Henkes

Publisher

Greenwillow Books an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Inc

Publication date

10th September 2013

ISBN

9780062082053


Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools