Penny and Her Marble by Kevin Henkes
  

Synopsis

Penny and Her Marble by Kevin Henkes

In the third easy-to-read book about Penny the mouse, written by Caldecott Medalist and bestselling author Kevin Henkes, Penny finds a beautiful marble on her neighbor's lawn and must decide whether or not to keep it. With age-appropriate vocabulary, compelling characters, and a memorable storyline, Penny and her Marble is just right for beginning readers and was named a 2014 Geisel Honor book by the American Library Association. This annual award, given to the most distinguished books for beginning readers, is named for the world-renowned children's author Theodor Geisel, also known as Dr. Seuss. Kevin Henkes is known for his mouse characters, including Lilly, Owen, Chrysanthemum, Wemberly, and now Penny! In Penny and her Marble, the third book in the Penny series, Penny finds a marble on Mrs. Goodwin's yard and takes it home. But does the marble really belong to Penny? Kevin Henkes is a master at creating beautifully illustrated books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge.

Reviews

Perfect for beginning readers. A treasure. -- School Library Journal (starred review) Henkes continues to plumb the emotional world of childhood as few author/illustrators can... Another gem. -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review) Impeccable... Respect for the beginning reader's emerging skills beautifully matches Henkes's respect for Penny . -- Horn Book (starred review) Splendid ... Henkes so completely understands the minds of small children... His vivacious panels always seem to burst with springtime. It's hard to imagine anything ever going too wrong in one of his sensitive, generous portrayals. Everything here ends just right. -- New York Times Book Review Henkes ups the emotional stakes in his third book starring Penny. -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) Henkes conveys shades of emotions that are common to human experience, yet hard to express in words. It's particularly impressive that he can do so in a book for beginning readers... This small-scale, yet immensely satisfying drama is a fine addition to the Penny series. -- Booklist (starred review) Praise for Penny and Her Song: Henkes strikes all the right notes... Language, art, characterization, and plot are all executed, like Penny's song, beautifully. -- Horn Book (starred review) The text ... is perfect for new readers, and Henkes's familiar artwork has its share of warm moments. This early reader captures the way families make memories at unexpected moments. Welcome Penny to the cast. -- Booklist (starred review) Much as he did in Lilly's Purple Plastic Purse, Henkes presents an irrepressible heroine who struggles to compromise. -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) Carefully sequenced panels, expressive lines and gentle pastels lead the reader to the story's joyous resolution. -- Washington Post

About the Author

Kevin Henkes has been praised both as a writer and as an illustrator. He received the Caldecott Medal for Kitten's First Full Moon; Caldecott Honors for Owen and Waiting; two Newbery Honors-one for Olive's Ocean and one for The Year of Billy Miller-and Geisel Honors for Penny and Her Marble and for Waiting. His other books include Old Bear, A Good Day, Chrysanthemum, and the beloved Lilly's Purple Plastic Purse. Kevin Henkes lives with his family in Madison, Wisconsin. www.kevinhenkes.com

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
48 pages
Interest Age: From 4

Author

Kevin Henkes
More books by Kevin Henkes

Publisher

Publication date

10th September 2013

ISBN

9780062082053


It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools