Meet the Dullards by Sara Pennypacker
  

Synopsis

Meet the Dullards by Sara Pennypacker

In the tradition of The Stupids, Meet the Dullards is a clever and irreverent picture book about a comically boring family, from bestselling author Sara Pennypacker and illustrator Daniel Salmieri. Their home is boring. Their food is plain. Their lives are monotonous. And Mr. and Mrs. Dullard like it that way. But their children-Blanda, Borely, and Little Dud-have other ideas...Never has dullness been so hilarious than in this deadpan, subversive tale.

Reviews

This title follows in the quirky tradition of Harry Allard's The Stupids books (Houghton), with clever wordplay and subversive fun that will appeal to children everywhere. -- School Library Journal (starred review) Pennypacker's droll, deadpan text is matched by Salmieri's flat and hilarious illustrations. -- Horn Book Magazine (starred review) Kids will immediately pick up the concept and make it into their own joke, and they'll agree that this is the most enjoyable tedium they've ever experienced. -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review) Pennypacker packs the pages full of winning jokes, while Salmieri's colored-pencil art creates a perfectly monotonous world of straight angles and nondescript coloring. Rarely has boring been this boisterous. -- Booklist

About the Author

Sara Pennypacker

Sara Pennypacker, author of the Clementine books, was a painter before becoming a writer and has two absolutely fabulous children who are grown now. She has written several books, including Stewart’s Cape and Stewart Goes to School, both illustrated by Martin Matje, and Dumbstruck. When she was in school, she never had any problem at all paying attention. Okay, fine. That last part was about somebody else. Sara lives on Cape Cod, Massachusetts.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
32 pages
Interest Age: From 4

Author

Sara Pennypacker
More books by Sara Pennypacker

Author's Website

sarapennypacker.com/

Publisher

Publication date

23rd April 2015

ISBN

9780062198563


Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools