Meet the Dullards by Sara Pennypacker


Meet the Dullards by Sara Pennypacker

In the tradition of The Stupids, Meet the Dullards is a clever and irreverent picture book about a comically boring family, from bestselling author Sara Pennypacker and illustrator Daniel Salmieri. Their home is boring. Their food is plain. Their lives are monotonous. And Mr. and Mrs. Dullard like it that way. But their children-Blanda, Borely, and Little Dud-have other ideas...Never has dullness been so hilarious than in this deadpan, subversive tale.


This title follows in the quirky tradition of Harry Allard's The Stupids books (Houghton), with clever wordplay and subversive fun that will appeal to children everywhere. -- School Library Journal (starred review) Pennypacker's droll, deadpan text is matched by Salmieri's flat and hilarious illustrations. -- Horn Book Magazine (starred review) Kids will immediately pick up the concept and make it into their own joke, and they'll agree that this is the most enjoyable tedium they've ever experienced. -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review) Pennypacker packs the pages full of winning jokes, while Salmieri's colored-pencil art creates a perfectly monotonous world of straight angles and nondescript coloring. Rarely has boring been this boisterous. -- Booklist

About the Author

Sara Pennypacker

Sara Pennypacker, author of the Clementine books, was a painter before becoming a writer and has two absolutely fabulous children who are grown now. She has written several books, including Stewart’s Cape and Stewart Goes to School, both illustrated by Martin Matje, and Dumbstruck. When she was in school, she never had any problem at all paying attention. Okay, fine. That last part was about somebody else. Sara lives on Cape Cod, Massachusetts.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info


32 pages
Interest Age: From 4


Sara Pennypacker
More books by Sara Pennypacker

Author's Website


Publication date

23rd April 2015



I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

Lovereading 4 schools