Meet the Dullards by Sara Pennypacker
  

Synopsis

Meet the Dullards by Sara Pennypacker

In the tradition of The Stupids, Meet the Dullards is a clever and irreverent picture book about a comically boring family, from bestselling author Sara Pennypacker and illustrator Daniel Salmieri. Their home is boring. Their food is plain. Their lives are monotonous. And Mr. and Mrs. Dullard like it that way. But their children-Blanda, Borely, and Little Dud-have other ideas...Never has dullness been so hilarious than in this deadpan, subversive tale.

Reviews

This title follows in the quirky tradition of Harry Allard's The Stupids books (Houghton), with clever wordplay and subversive fun that will appeal to children everywhere. -- School Library Journal (starred review) Pennypacker's droll, deadpan text is matched by Salmieri's flat and hilarious illustrations. -- Horn Book Magazine (starred review) Kids will immediately pick up the concept and make it into their own joke, and they'll agree that this is the most enjoyable tedium they've ever experienced. -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review) Pennypacker packs the pages full of winning jokes, while Salmieri's colored-pencil art creates a perfectly monotonous world of straight angles and nondescript coloring. Rarely has boring been this boisterous. -- Booklist

About the Author

Sara Pennypacker

Sara Pennypacker, author of the Clementine books, was a painter before becoming a writer and has two absolutely fabulous children who are grown now. She has written several books, including Stewart’s Cape and Stewart Goes to School, both illustrated by Martin Matje, and Dumbstruck. When she was in school, she never had any problem at all paying attention. Okay, fine. That last part was about somebody else. Sara lives on Cape Cod, Massachusetts.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
32 pages
Interest Age: From 4

Author

Sara Pennypacker
More books by Sara Pennypacker

Author's Website

sarapennypacker.com/

Publisher

Balzer and Bray an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Inc

Publication date

23rd April 2015

ISBN

9780062198563


You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools