The Paradox of Vertical Flight by Emil Ostrovski
  

Synopsis

The Paradox of Vertical Flight by Emil Ostrovski

Hilarious, deeply moving, mind-bending, original, romantic, and surprising, this debut teen novel by Emil Ostrovski will appeal to fans of John Green, Chris Crutcher, and Andrew Smith. Gary Shteyngart, author of the New York Times bestseller Super Sad True Love Story, says: Do yourself a favor and get inside a car with Emil Ostrovski immediately! The Paradox of Vertical Flight is an amazing road trip. You're in for one heck of a ride. An Indie Next Pick! On the morning of his eighteenth birthday, Jack Polovsky kidnaps his own baby, names him Socrates, stocks up on baby supplies at Walmart, and hits the road with his best friend, Tommy, and with the baby's mother, Jess. As they head to Grandma's house (eluding the police at every turn), Jack tells baby Socrates the Greek myths-because all stories spring from those stories, really. Even this one. By turns funny, heart wrenching, and wholly original, this debut novel by Emil Ostrovski explores the nature of family, love, friendship, fatherhood, and myth. Shares a sense of humor and philosophical bent with such YA authors as John Green and Chris Crutcher. But the story and likable characters are Ostrovsky's own, a delightful mix of quirky, intelligent, naive, well-intentioned, and just plain dumb teens. A delightful success. -ALA Booklist

Reviews

Do yourself a favor and get inside a car with Emil Ostrovski immediately! The Paradox of Vertical Flight is an amazing road trip. You're in for one heck of a ride. -- Gary Shteyngart, author of the New York Times bestseller Super Sad True Love Story The Paradox of Vertical Flight has all the elements of a great read: funny, eloquent, deep, suspenseful. If you like books that are quirky and thoughtful, irreverent and touching, this book is for you. -- Francisco X. Stork, author of Marcelo in the Real World The Paradox of Vertical Flight is a wonderfully quirky story about discovering the meaning of life when you least expect it: witty, smart, and exuberant. Emil Ostrovski is a talented writer to watch. -- Malinda Lo, Author of Ash and Huntress The Paradox of Vertical Flight is a funny, smart, whimsical, compelling read. Emil Ostrovski takes us on a journey we haven't been on before, and entertains us the entire way. A new great fresh voice. -- Sara An eccentric road trip ... Amiable meanderings through ancient Greek philosophy are the novel's heart and soul. Channeled by a talented, millennial author. these age-old conundrums of good and evil, fate and free will feel fresh and urgent. -- Kirkus Reviews On Jack's 18th birthday, two majoy events occur: he considers attempting suicide and he learns that his ex-girlfriend Jess has just given birth to his baby. What follows is a philosophical journey of self-discovery... A moving and quirky tale ... A whip-smart debut. -- School Library Journal Shares a sense of humor and philosophical bent with such YA authors as John Green and Chris Crutcher...But the story and likable characters are Ostrovsky's own, a delightful mix of quirky, intelligent, naive, well-intentioned, and just plain dumb teens...A delightful success. -- Booklist

About the Author

Emil Ostrovski emigrated from Russia when he was two years old. He graduated from Vassar College in 2012 with a degree in philosophy and currently attends the MFA program in creative writing at Columbia University. The Paradox of Vertical Flight is his first novel.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
272 pages
Interest Age: From 14

Author

Emil Ostrovski
More books by Emil Ostrovski

Publisher

Publication date

6th November 2014

ISBN

9780062238535


I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools