Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown
  

Synopsis

Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown

A Kirkus Best Book of the Year! A Chicago Public Library Best Book of the Year! A Bustle.com Best Young Adult Book of the Year! Joanna meets the perfect girl for her and must decide whether to break a promise that could change everything for her and her family or lose out on love in this funny, moving, and charming romance. It's perfect for fans of Julie Murphy's Dumplin' and Becky Albertalli's Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. Joanna Gordon has been out and proud for years, but when her popular radio evangelist father remarries and decides to move all three of them from Atlanta to the more conservative Rome, Georgia, he asks Jo to do the impossible: to lie low for the rest of her senior year. And Jo reluctantly agrees. Although it is (mostly) much easier for Jo to fit in as a straight girl, things get complicated when she meets Mary Carlson, the oh-so-tempting sister of her new friend at school. But Jo couldn't possibly think of breaking her promise to her dad. Even if she's starting to fall for the girl. Even if there's a chance Mary Carlson might be interested in her, too. Right?

Reviews

Funny, thoughtful, compassionate Jo is a delightful narrator. The frank portrayals of swearing, sexual activity, underage drinking, etc., neither titillate nor condemn

it's full of heart. I hope this book finds it way into the hands of anyone, teens especially, who wonder how they can bridge the gap between faith and sexuality. -- Afterellen.com PRAISE FOR NO PLACE TO FALL: I was completely smitten. -- Robin Constantine, author of The Promise of Amazing Hits a chord with the dreamer in all of us. -- Megan Shepherd, author of The Madman's Daughter Debut author Brown is off to a wonderful start with authentic characters who speak in true voices. Amber could be the best friend you had in high school-she's absolutely the real deal, and readers will clamor for another well-paced story featuring her and her friends. -- School Library Journal Southern charm oozes off the page. -- Kirkus Reviews Lyrically written with a deep sense of place and music. There is so much joy within the pages that the sorrow hits hard and emotions rise and fall and rise again like a vocalist running scales. -- ALA Booklist Brown makes a small town in North Carolina-where everyone knows everyone, and the outside world comes in via Appalachian Trail hikers-feel real, but the heart of the story is Amber, as she tries to find herself, love, and her voice. -- Publishers Weekly The writing shines when Amber describes the feelings that singing awakens in her. One could wish for an accompanying soundtrack. -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

About the Author

Jaye Robin Brown lives in the mountains of Western North Carolina, and teaches art at a public high school. This is her first novel.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
432 pages
Interest Age: From 14

Author

Jaye Robin Brown
More books by Jaye Robin Brown

Publisher

HarperTeen an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Inc

Publication date

6th October 2016

ISBN

9780062270986


It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools