Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown


Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown

Joanna meets the perfect girl for her and must decide whether to break a promise that could change everything for her and her family or lose out on love in this charming young adult romance that's perfect for fans of Julie Murphy's Dumplin' and Becky Albertalli's Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. Joanna Gordon has been out and proud for years, but when her popular radio evangelist father remarries and decides to move all three of them from Atlanta to the more conservative Rome, Georgia, he asks Jo to do the impossible: to lie low for the rest of her senior year. And Jo reluctantly agrees. Although it is (mostly) much easier for Jo to fit in as a straight girl, things get complicated when she meets Mary Carlson, the oh-so-tempting sister of her new friend at school. But Jo couldn't possibly think of breaking her promise to her dad. Even if she's starting to fall for the girl. Even if there's a chance Mary Carlson might be interested in her, too. Right?


Funny, thoughtful, compassionate Jo is a delightful narrator. The frank portrayals of swearing, sexual activity, underage drinking, etc., neither titillate nor condemn; they just depict teens being authentic teens. A sweet, sexy, honest teen romance that just happens to involve two girls-all the more charming for being so very ordinary. -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review) Faith matters in this book, but so do family, friends, and being funny. The dialogue is snappy-Joanna is sharp tongued and sometimes bratty-and the characters aren't types. Rather, they're individuals navigating a complicated world, which makes for a rich and satisfying read. -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) A fast-paced narrative that is powerful, moving, and relatable. Brown expertly describes the complex nuances of faith and sexuality. This plot-driven story is humorous, and the characters are effortlessly likable. For fans of David Levithan and John Green's Will Grayson, Will Grayson. -- School Library Journal (starred review) Brown crafts a charming and unexpected hit. Readers will appreciate the compelling characters, the humor, and the romance of the novel. Anyone who enjoys the writing of John Green or Rainbow Rowell will find a sense of familiarity in Brown's writing, and will be left longing for more. -- This story is fun and funny with characters to root for (and against). But it's more than just fun; it's full of heart. I hope this book finds it way into the hands of anyone, teens especially, who wonder how they can bridge the gap between faith and sexuality. -- PRAISE FOR NO PLACE TO FALL: I was completely smitten. -- Robin Constantine, author of The Promise of Amazing Hits a chord with the dreamer in all of us. -- Megan Shepherd, author of The Madman's Daughter Debut author Brown is off to a wonderful start with authentic characters who speak in true voices. Amber could be the best friend you had in high school-she's absolutely the real deal, and readers will clamor for another well-paced story featuring her and her friends. -- School Library Journal Southern charm oozes off the page. -- Kirkus Reviews Lyrically written with a deep sense of place and music. There is so much joy within the pages that the sorrow hits hard and emotions rise and fall and rise again like a vocalist running scales. -- ALA Booklist Brown makes a small town in North Carolina-where everyone knows everyone, and the outside world comes in via Appalachian Trail hikers-feel real, but the heart of the story is Amber, as she tries to find herself, love, and her voice. -- Publishers Weekly The writing shines when Amber describes the feelings that singing awakens in her. One could wish for an accompanying soundtrack. -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

About the Author

Jaye Robin Brown lives in the mountains of Western North Carolina, and teaches art at a public high school. This is her first novel.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info


432 pages
Interest Age: From 14


Jaye Robin Brown
More books by Jaye Robin Brown


Publication date

6th October 2016



It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

Lovereading 4 schools