Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown
  

Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit

Written by Jaye Robin Brown
Illustrated by

RRP £12.99

Synopsis

Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown

A Kirkus Best Book of the Year! A Chicago Public Library Best Book of the Year! A Bustle.com Best Young Adult Book of the Year!Joanna meets the perfect girl for her and must decide whether to break a promise that could change everything for her and her family or lose out on love in this funny, moving, and charming romance. It's perfect for fans of Julie Murphy's Dumplin' and Becky Albertalli's Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda.Joanna Gordon has been out and proud for years, but when her popular radio evangelist father remarries and decides to move all three of them from Atlanta to the more conservative Rome, Georgia, he asks Jo to do the impossible: to lie low for the rest of her senior year. And Jo reluctantly agrees.Although it is (mostly) much easier for Jo to fit in as a straight girl, things get complicated when she meets Mary Carlson, the oh-so-tempting sister of her new friend at school. But Jo couldn't possibly think of breaking her promise to her dad. Even if she's starting to fall for the girl. Even if there's a chance Mary Carlson might be interested in her, too. Right?

Reviews

?

Faith matters in this book, but so do family, friends, and being funny. The dialogue is snappy-Joanna is sharp tongued and sometimes bratty-and the characters aren't types. Rather, they're individuals navigating a complicated world, which makes for a rich and satisfying read. -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) ?

it's full of heart. I hope this book finds it way into the hands of anyone, teens especially, who wonder how they can bridge the gap between faith and sexuality. -- Afterellen.com PRAISE FOR NO PLACE TO FALL: I was completely smitten. -- Robin Constantine, author of The Promise of Amazing Hits a chord with the dreamer in all of us. -- Megan Shepherd, author of The Madman's Daughter Debut author Brown is off to a wonderful start with authentic characters who speak in true voices. Amber could be the best friend you had in high school-she's absolutely the real deal, and readers will clamor for another well-paced story featuring her and her friends. -- School Library Journal Southern charm oozes off the page. -- Kirkus Reviews Lyrically written with a deep sense of place and music. There is so much joy within the pages that the sorrow hits hard and emotions rise and fall and rise again like a vocalist running scales. -- ALA Booklist Brown makes a small town in North Carolina-where everyone knows everyone, and the outside world comes in via Appalachian Trail hikers-feel real, but the heart of the story is Amber, as she tries to find herself, love, and her voice. -- Publishers Weekly The writing shines when Amber describes the feelings that singing awakens in her. One could wish for an accompanying soundtrack. -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

About the Author

Jaye Robin Brown lives in the mountains of Western North Carolina, and teaches art at a public high school. This is her first novel.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
432 pages

Author

Jaye Robin Brown
More books by Jaye Robin Brown

Publisher

HarperTeen an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Inc

Publication date

30th August 2016

ISBN

9780062270986


LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****