The Cabinet of Curiosities 36 Tales Brief & Sinister by Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire Legrand
  

Synopsis

The Cabinet of Curiosities 36 Tales Brief & Sinister by Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire Legrand

A collection of thirty-six forty eerie, mysterious, intriguing, and very short stories by the acclaimed authors Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire LeGrand, and Emma Trevayne. The Cabinet of Curiosities is perfect for fans of Alvin Schwartz's Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and anyone who relishes a good creepy tale. Great for reading alone or reading aloud at camp or school! The book features an introduction and commentary by the authors and black-and-white illustrations throughout.

Reviews

A hefty sheaf of chillers-all short enough to share aloud and expertly cast to entice unwary middle graders a step or two into the shadows. -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review) This collection of 36 short dark fantasies ... aspires to sit on the same shelf as Alvin Schwartz's Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and succeeds admirably... Readers who enjoy their Halloween chills all year round will find this anthology a delight. -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) With school dismissed, it's time for pure pleasure reading... The Cabinet of Curiosities ... lets readers dip in and out of 36 spine-tingling tales. -- Shelf Awareness for Readers The stories are remarkable both for their uniformly high quality and for their distinctness from one another

About the Author

Stefan Bachmann is the author of the internationally bestselling novel The Peculiar and its acclaimed sequel, The Whatnot. He was born in Colorado, spent most of his childhood in Switzerland, and is now studying modern music at the Zurich University of the Arts. When he's not writing, he can be found traveling to someplace chilly, or holed up beneath his college in the dimly lit labyrinth of practice rooms, which may have inspired the subterranean scenes in A Drop of Night. That ... and the Paris catacombs, a weird dream about a golden corridor, and a general interest in history. Katherine Catmull Cataloger and Philosopher of Scientific Marvels with a particular focus on Jars of Moonlight, Frozen Flowers, Broken Fish Fins, Shiny Things Found on Pavements, and Bringing Cookies to Meetings. Claire Legrand's first novel was The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, a New York Public Library Best Book for Children in 2012. She is also the author of The Year of Shadows and Winterspell, a young adult retelling of The Nutcracker. She is one of the four authors behind The Cabinet of Curiosities anthology, a Junior Library Guild selection and a NYPL Best Book for Children in 2014. Emma Trevayne Collector of Auditory Oddities, Whimsical Words, and Cryptic Cyphers. Pays special attention to petrichor, things that glimmer, and mechanical body parts.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
488 pages

Author

Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire Legrand
More books by Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire Legrand

Publisher

Greenwillow Books an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Inc

Publication date

3rd July 2014

ISBN

9780062313140


I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools