The Cabinet of Curiosities 36 Tales Brief & Sinister by Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire Legrand
  

The Cabinet of Curiosities 36 Tales Brief & Sinister

Written by Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire Legrand
Illustrated by Alexander Jansson

Synopsis

The Cabinet of Curiosities 36 Tales Brief & Sinister by Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire Legrand

A collection of thirty-six forty eerie, mysterious, intriguing, and very short stories by the acclaimed authors Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire LeGrand, and Emma Trevayne. The Cabinet of Curiosities is perfect for fans of Alvin Schwartz's Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and anyone who relishes a good creepy tale. Great for reading alone or reading aloud at camp or school! The book features an introduction and commentary by the authors and black-and-white illustrations throughout.

Reviews

A hefty sheaf of chillers-all short enough to share aloud and expertly cast to entice unwary middle graders a step or two into the shadows. -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review) This collection of 36 short dark fantasies . . . aspires to sit on the same shelf as Alvin Schwartz's Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and succeeds admirably. . . . Readers who enjoy their Halloween chills all year round will find this anthology a delight. -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) With school dismissed, it's time for pure pleasure reading. . . . The Cabinet of Curiosities . . . lets readers dip in and out of 36 spine-tingling tales. -- Shelf Awareness for Readers The stories are remarkable both for their uniformly high quality and for their distinctness from one another

About the Author

Stefan Bachmann is the author of the internationally bestselling novel The Peculiar and its acclaimed sequel, The Whatnot. He was born in Colorado, spent most of his childhood in Switzerland, and is now studying modern music at the Zurich University of the Arts. When he's not writing, he can be found traveling to someplace chilly, or holed up beneath his college in the dimly lit labyrinth of practice rooms, which may have inspired the subterranean scenes in A Drop of Night. That ... and the Paris catacombs, a weird dream about a golden corridor, and a general interest in history. Katherine Catmull Cataloger and Philosopher of Scientific Marvels with a particular focus on Jars of Moonlight, Frozen Flowers, Broken Fish Fins, Shiny Things Found on Pavements, and Bringing Cookies to Meetings. Claire Legrand's first novel was The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, a New York Public Library Best Book for Children in 2012. She is also the author of The Year of Shadows and Winterspell, a young adult retelling of The Nutcracker. She is one of the four authors behind The Cabinet of Curiosities anthology, a Junior Library Guild selection and a NYPL Best Book for Children in 2014. Emma Trevayne Collector of Auditory Oddities, Whimsical Words, and Cryptic Cyphers. Pays special attention to petrichor, things that glimmer, and mechanical body parts.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
496 pages
Interest Age: From 8 to 12 years

Author

Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire Legrand
More books by Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire Legrand

Publisher

Greenwillow Books an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Inc

Publication date

3rd July 2014

ISBN

9780062313140


This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****