The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I The Mysterious Howling by Maryrose Wood
  

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I The Mysterious Howling

Written by Maryrose Wood
Illustrated by Jon Klassen

RRP £5.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Synopsis

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book I The Mysterious Howling by Maryrose Wood

The first book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place--the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Trenton Lee Stewart--has a brand-new look.Discovered in the forest of Ashton Place, the Incorrigibles are no ordinary children. Luckily, Miss Penelope Lumley is no ordinary governess. A recent graduate of the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females, Penelope embraces the challenge of her new position. Though she is eager to instruct the children in Latin verbs and the proper use of globes, first she must eliminate their canine tendencies.But mysteries abound at Ashton Place: Who are these three wild creatures? Why does Old Timothy, the coachman, lurk around every corner? Will Penelope be able to civilize the Incorrigibles in time for Lady Constance's holiday ball? And what on earth is a schottische?

Reviews

Every newspaper and website in America is going to tell you that The Mysterious Howling will leave you HOWLING FOR MORE! So I'm not going to say that. But it's really good.--Adam Rex, author of The True Meaning of Smekday

About the Author

Maryrose Wood

"I grew up in the wild suburbs of Long Island, moved to New York City at age 17 to study acting at New York University, and dropped out to be in the chorus of a Broadway musical — which flopped. The show was "Merrily We Roll Along," with a glorious score by Stephen Sondheim. Go listen to the album, you will love.

"I started out writing for the theater and film, as a lyricist, librettist, playwright and screenwriter. I am proud to be the first recipient of the Georgia Bogardus Holof Lyricist Award, and a three-time recipient of the Richard Rodgers Award for New Musicals, which is administered by the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Yes, you may call me Miss Fancy Pants.

"By 2004 or so I finally was able to woman up and write my first novel for teens ..

"2010 saw the launch of my first middle-grade series, The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place (starred reviews in Booklist, Kirkus, SLJ and Publishers Weekly, Junior Library Guild selection, yesss!), and a new gothic YA trilogy called The Poison Diaries.

Biography and author photo taken from Maryrose Wood's website (www.maryrosewood.com).

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback / softback
288 pages

Author

Maryrose Wood
More books by Maryrose Wood

Author's Website

www.maryrosewood.com/

Publisher

HarperCollins an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Inc

Publication date

21st May 2015

ISBN

9780062366931


I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools