Frannie and Tru by Karen Hattrup
  

Synopsis

Frannie and Tru by Karen Hattrup

Absorbing, electrifying, and achingly relatable. Frannie and Tru is a book with a pulse. -Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda Perfect for fans of Prep and The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Frannie and Tru is a dazzling YA debut about a transformative summer in the life of a girl whose idol is not what he seems. Frannie has always idolized her cousin Tru. At seventeen, Tru is charismatic, rich, charming-everything fifteen-year-old Frannie wants to be, and everything she's not. So when Frannie overhears her parents saying that after a bad coming-out experience Tru will be staying with them in Baltimore for the summer, Frannie is excited and desperate to impress him. But as Frannie gets swept up in Tru's worldly way of life, she starts to worry that it may all be a mask Tru wears to hide a dark secret. And if Tru isn't the person Frannie thought he was, what does that mean for the new life she has built with him? Confronting issues of race, class, and sexuality, Karen Hattrup weaves a powerful coming-of-age story that's at once timeless and immediate, sharply observed, and recognizable to anyone who has ever loved the idea of a person more than the reality.

Reviews

A Junior Library Guild Selection -- ; Absorbing, electrifying, and achingly relatable. Frannie and Tru is a book with a pulse. -- Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda Hattrup's confrontation with white privilege and Frannie's misguided assumptions surrounding social class and sexual orientation avoid easy platitudes, creating insights ripe for further exploration. -- Publishers Weekly [A] character-rich work of literary fiction...Tru is endlessly intriguing, and his evolving relationship with Frannie is wholly believable and emotionally engaging. -- Booklist An honest, revealing, coming-of-age story...will appeal to a wide-range of readers. Frannie's voice is an authentic mix of sincerity and naivete as she struggles with self confidence and first love; family conflict; and, as she is educated in the politics of identity, race, class, and sexuality. -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) Fans of Lockhart's The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks (BCCB 3/08) will appreciate the probing complexity of a working-class white girl finding her feet and her courage. -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books Hattrup beautifully illustrates issues of privilege and prejudice in her debut. Thought-provoking! -- RT Book Reviews Ideal for fans of E. Lockhart and cool, atmospheric narratives. -- The Horn Book

About the Author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
320 pages
Interest Age: From 14

Author

Karen Hattrup
More books by Karen Hattrup

Publisher

Publication date

30th June 2016

ISBN

9780062410207


We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools