Frannie and Tru by Karen Hattrup
  

Synopsis

Frannie and Tru by Karen Hattrup

Absorbing, electrifying, and achingly relatable. Frannie and Tru is a book with a pulse. -Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda Perfect for fans of Prep and The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Frannie and Tru is a dazzling YA debut about a transformative summer in the life of a girl whose idol is not what he seems. Frannie has always idolized her cousin Tru. At seventeen, Tru is charismatic, rich, charming-everything fifteen-year-old Frannie wants to be, and everything she's not. So when Frannie overhears her parents saying that after a bad coming-out experience Tru will be staying with them in Baltimore for the summer, Frannie is excited and desperate to impress him. But as Frannie gets swept up in Tru's worldly way of life, she starts to worry that it may all be a mask Tru wears to hide a dark secret. And if Tru isn't the person Frannie thought he was, what does that mean for the new life she has built with him? Confronting issues of race, class, and sexuality, Karen Hattrup weaves a powerful coming-of-age story that's at once timeless and immediate, sharply observed, and recognizable to anyone who has ever loved the idea of a person more than the reality.

Reviews

A Junior Library Guild Selection --

family conflict

About the Author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
320 pages
Interest Age: From 14

Author

Karen Hattrup
More books by Karen Hattrup

Publisher

HarperTeen an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Inc

Publication date

30th June 2016

ISBN

9780062410207


It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools