Frannie and Tru by Karen Hattrup
  

Synopsis

Frannie and Tru by Karen Hattrup

Absorbing, electrifying, and achingly relatable. Frannie and Tru is a book with a pulse. -Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda Perfect for fans of Prep and The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Frannie and Tru is a dazzling YA debut about a transformative summer in the life of a girl whose idol is not what he seems. Frannie has always idolized her cousin Tru. At seventeen, Tru is charismatic, rich, charming-everything fifteen-year-old Frannie wants to be, and everything she's not. So when Frannie overhears her parents saying that after a bad coming-out experience Tru will be staying with them in Baltimore for the summer, Frannie is excited and desperate to impress him. But as Frannie gets swept up in Tru's worldly way of life, she starts to worry that it may all be a mask Tru wears to hide a dark secret. And if Tru isn't the person Frannie thought he was, what does that mean for the new life she has built with him? Confronting issues of race, class, and sexuality, Karen Hattrup weaves a powerful coming-of-age story that's at once timeless and immediate, sharply observed, and recognizable to anyone who has ever loved the idea of a person more than the reality.

Reviews

A Junior Library Guild Selection -- ; Absorbing, electrifying, and achingly relatable. Frannie and Tru is a book with a pulse. -- Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda Hattrup's confrontation with white privilege and Frannie's misguided assumptions surrounding social class and sexual orientation avoid easy platitudes, creating insights ripe for further exploration. -- Publishers Weekly [A] character-rich work of literary fiction...Tru is endlessly intriguing, and his evolving relationship with Frannie is wholly believable and emotionally engaging. -- Booklist An honest, revealing, coming-of-age story...will appeal to a wide-range of readers. Frannie's voice is an authentic mix of sincerity and naivete as she struggles with self confidence and first love; family conflict; and, as she is educated in the politics of identity, race, class, and sexuality. -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) Fans of Lockhart's The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks (BCCB 3/08) will appreciate the probing complexity of a working-class white girl finding her feet and her courage. -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books Hattrup beautifully illustrates issues of privilege and prejudice in her debut. Thought-provoking! -- RT Book Reviews Ideal for fans of E. Lockhart and cool, atmospheric narratives. -- The Horn Book

About the Author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
320 pages
Interest Age: From 14

Author

Karen Hattrup
More books by Karen Hattrup

Publisher

HarperTeen an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Inc

Publication date

30th June 2016

ISBN

9780062410207


It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools