Stick Cat A Tail of Two Kitties by Tom Watson


Stick Cat A Tail of Two Kitties by Tom Watson

There's a new pet in town: Stick Cat! Perfect for fans of Big Nate, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and the Stick Dog books, Stick Cat features Tom Watson's trademark combination of laughs, adventure, and hilarious stick-figure drawings. It's a big day in the big city for Stick Cat and his best friend, Edith. There are treasures to hunt, songs to sing, pigeons to catch, and naps to take. But way up on the twenty-third floor, danger lurks just around the corner. Terrible noises and violent crashes trap a desperate man in the building across the alley. Stick Cat will need to navigate his way across the alley-and around Edith's peculiar ways-to attempt a rescue. Stick Cat's high-wire act is sure to please cat lovers and Stick Dog fans everywhere.


This sequel to Stick Dog (2013) will have readers diving in and then begging for more adventures-canine, feline, or otherwise. The simple drawings might also inspire young readers to try their own hands at illustration. Chapters frequently end with cliff-hangers of sorts, encouraging readers to predict what might happen next. -- Booklist Watson's knack for incredibly endearing characters means that readers will be invested in Stick Cat and Edith from the first page. -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

About the Author

Early in his career Tom worked in politics, including a stint as the Chief Scriptwriter for the Governor of Ohio. This experience helped him develop the unique, storytelling narrative style of the Stick Dog books. Tom finds it a lot more fun and rewarding writing stories for kids rather than writing speeches for grown-ups. He lives in Chicago with his wife, daughter, son and of course, his dog.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info


208 pages


Tom Watson
More books by Tom Watson

Author's Website


Publication date

2nd June 2016



I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

Lovereading 4 schools