This content is provided by Lovereading4kids.co.uk
We Should Hang Out Sometime Embarrassingly, a true story by Josh Sundquist
  

We Should Hang Out Sometime Embarrassingly, a true story

Josh Sundquist

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Synopsis

We Should Hang Out Sometime Embarrassingly, a true story by Josh Sundquist

Josh Sundquist had only ever had one girlfriend.For 23 hours.In eighth grade.Why was Josh still single? To find out, he tracked down the girls he had tried to date and asked them straight up: What went wrong?We Should Hang Out Sometime is the the result of Josh's semi-scientific, wholly hilarious investigation. From a disastrous putt-putt date involving a backwards prosthetic foot to his introduction to CFD (Close Fast Dancing) to a misguided grand gesture at a Miss America pageant, this story is about looking for love-or at least a girlfriend-in all the wrong places. We Should Hang Out Sometime is for every person who has ever wondered, is there something wrong with me? (the answer, by the way, is no ). By revisiting middle school, high school, and college experiences, inspirational speaker Josh Sundquist shares what it was like to grow up as the guy with one leg. Interspersed with the author's black-and-white line art, this real life story will appeal to fans of The Fault In Our Stars and Ned Vizzini's Teen Angst.

Reviews

Sundquist has written a compelling memoir, to which teens will be able to relate, as it probes the universal insecurities of teen dating. --School Library Connection [Sundquist's] findings are illuminating for anyone who has experienced social awkwardness in the field of attraction...and his gift for encouragement shines forcefully from his final chapters, where he assesses what went wrong and relates how he has used his new self-awareness to find love. Readers familiar with Sundquist's website and YouTube channel will be a natural audience for this. --The Bulletin Josh's voice is engaging and conversational, and readers will relate as they laugh along at his misadventures. From a disastrous putt-putt date to just general, suffusing awkwardness, Josh (who grew up to be a Paralympic ski racer) discovers that revisiting the past can be both embarrassing and enlightening. Irresistible fun. --Booklist [A] laugh-out-loud memoir...This is a unique, earnest, and funny coming-of-age story about Sundquist's experiences. Readers will appreciate the humorous and often embarrassingly accurate tales depicted in the pages of this book. --SLJ An autobiographical account that's equal parts hilarious and cringe-inducing...While his recent interviews and meetings with the girls from his past are often just as uncomfortable as their dates were, they also lead to answers as genuine as his narrative. --Publishers Weekly Sundquist is a storyteller-flawed, wry, laid-back and sympathetic. Anyone who's felt awkward will alternately (or simultaneously) wince and burst out laughing at his earnest misadventures with stalkers, Close Fast Dancing and flow charts... but above all, they'll be rooting for Sundquist to hang out with a girl. Funny, sympathetic and poignant, Sundquist's memoir has a high probability of success. --Kirkus Reviews Josh Sundquist has written a sharp, funny memoir without an ounce of self-pity about how the fear of rejection can be far more crippling than any disease. A hilarious, heartfelt reminder that finding the courage to accept love is an inside job. --Aaron Hartzler, author of Rapture Practice Often hilarious, occasionally awkward, and always hopeful, Josh's quest for love will have readers rooting for him all the way. --Jennifer E. Smith, author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight and The Geography of You and Me Praise for We Should Hang Out Sometime An Amazon.ca Best Books of December 2014 for Children and Teens SelectionA YALSA 2015 Teens Top Ten Nominee You should read this book sometime. I loved it so much. --Justine Ezarik, New York Times bestselling author of I, Justine: An Analog Memoir Sundquist is a storyteller--flawed, wry, laid-back and sympathetic. Anyone who's felt awkward will alternately (or simultaneously) wince and burst out laughing at his earnest misadventures with stalkers, Close Fast Dancing and flow charts... but above all, they'll be rooting for Sundquist to hang out with a girl. Funny, sympathetic and poignant, Sundquist's memoir has a high probability of success. Kirkus Reviews Praise for We Should Hang Out Sometime An Amazon.ca Best Books of December 2014 for Children and Teens SelectionA YALSA 2015 Teens Top Ten Nominee2015 Goodreads Choice Awards Nominee You should read this book sometime. I loved it so much.

About the Author

Josh Sundquist is a Paralympic ski racer, cancer survivor, video blogger, motivational speaker and mediocre rapper. Every Tuesday, Josh releases a new video to 150,000+ viewers on his YouTube channel. He is the author of an adult memoir, Just Don't Fall. As a motivational speaker, Josh speaks at college campuses, high schools, and corporations, such as Google. His website is joshsundquist.com.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
336 pages

Author

Josh Sundquist
More books by Josh Sundquist

Publisher

Little, Brown Young Readers an imprint of Little, Brown & Company

Publication date

19th January 2016

ISBN

9780316251006


Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****