The College Writer's Handbook by Randall VanderMey, Patrick Sebranek, Verne Meyer, John, van Rys
  

Synopsis

The College Writer's Handbook by Randall VanderMey, Patrick Sebranek, Verne Meyer, John, van Rys

Continuing in the tradition of The College Writer, The College Writer's Handbook offers a proven at-a-glance page format, practical writing instruction, and an inviting design--everything today's students need for college and career writing. In addition, the authors' established use of humor as a pedagogical tool and their entertaining visuals, quotations, anecdotes, and models enhance learning and humanize the rich content, setting this handbook apart.The compact handbook balances clear and concise explanations with an abundance of useful hints and compelling examples. It also includes extended coverage of critical topics such as the writing process as well as critical-reading and critical-thinking skills. An easy-to-use CD and companion web site enrich the handbook's instruction, providing useful learning tools for the modern writer. Students receive the most up-to-date information on MLA documentation with the enclosed tri-fold card providing NEW 2009 MLA Handbook formats.

Reviews

Tab 1: Critical Thinking Critical Thinking Through Reading Critical Thinking in Writing Critical Thinking Through Visual Images Understanding Argument and Persuasion Assessing Writing Tab 2: The Writing Process Getting Started Planning Drafting Revising Editing and Proofreading Submitting, Publishing, and Portfolios Tab 3: Style Issues Writing Strong Paragraphs Writing Effective Sentences Strengthening Word Choice A Glossary of Word Usage Tab 4: Design Issues Designing Documents Designing and Using Visuals Writing and Designing for the Web Tab 5: Grammar Nouns and Pronouns Verbs Other Parts of Sppech Tab 6: Sentences Sentence Basics Using Phrases Using Clauses Solving Sentence Prob. Agreement Errors Sentence Problems Tab 7: Punctuation and Mechanics Using End Punctuation Commas Other Punctuation Capitalization Spelling and Plurals Numbers and Abbreviations Tab 8: Multilingual and ESL Guidelines Surviving College Understanding Words[ Understanding Sentences Understanding Idioms and Mixed Pairs WAC & Research Tab 9: Writing Across the Curriculum Forms of College Writing: An Overview Personal Essays Analytical Essays Persuasive Essays Literary Analyses Business and Application Writing Oral Presentations Objective and Essay Tests Tab 10: Research Writing Planning Your Research Project Note-Taking Strategies Doing Primary Research Doing Library Research Doing Internet Research Drafting Papers with Documented Research Tab 11: MLA The MLA System and Sample Paper MLA In-Text Citations MLA Works Cited Tab 12: APA, Chicago, and CSE The APA System and Sample Paper APA In-Text Citations APA References Chicago (CMS) and Turabian Format and Documentation CSE (CBE) Format and Documentation

About the Author

Dr. Verne Meyer is an educator and a businessperson. For nine years, he taught English in high schools in Michigan and Wisconsin; and for fifteen years, he taught dramatic literature, theatre history, and composition at Dordt College in Iowa. In 1977, with Pat Sebranek, Meyer cofounded Write Source Educational Publishing House, now a subsidiary of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Supplemental. A graduate of Calvin College (B.A.), Marquette University (M.A.), and the University of Minnesota (Ph.D.), Dr. Meyer has coauthored a number of texts for college students, including THE COLLEGE WRITER, THE COLLEGE WRITER'S HANDBOOK, COMP, THE BUSINESS WRITER, and WRITE FOR WORK. For students in grades 8 through 12, he coauthored WRITERS INC, SCHOOL TO WORK, WRITE FOR COLLEGE, and a number of Write Source textbooks. For businesspeople, he coauthored WRITE FOR BUSINESS and EFFECTIVE EMAIL MADE EZ. Dr. Meyer is currently a contributing editor for Write Source and UpWrite Press. He is also a featured speaker in the School Improvement Network's instructional videos, Writing Across the Curriculum. Patrick Sebranek (M.A. University of Wisconsin, LaCrosse) taught English, speech, and multimedia classes for sixteen years at Union Grove High School in Wisconsin. During that time, he served as the English department chair and worked on several district-wide projects, including a writing-across-the-curriculum program and a K-12 writing sequence. He has studied the works of James Moffett, Ken Macrorie, Linda Reif, Nancie Atwell, and many other contemporary educators dealing with writing and learning. Mr. Sebranek is an author and editorial director for the Write Source Educational Publishing House and works closely with teachers and educators on all new and revised handbooks and sourcebooks. Randall VanderMey (Ph.D. University of Iowa, M.F.A. Iowa Writers' Workshop, M.A. University of Pennsylvania) is an associate professor in the Department of English at Westmont College in Santa Barbara, California. He also has taught composition, literature, and technical writing at Iowa State University, Dordt College, and the University of Iowa. He is a contributing editor and creative consultant for Write Source. Dr. VanderMey has received numerous fellowships, grants, and awards for his teaching and poetry. He has published two books of poems, GROWING SOUL: A SONG CYCLE, GOD TALK, and CHARM SCHOOL: FIVE WOMEN OF THE ODYSSEY, as well as a commissioned biography, MERIZON: THE GREAT JOURNEY. John Van Rys (Ph.D. Dalhousie University, M.A./B.A. University of Western Ontario) has taught composition, business writing, creative writing, and literature courses to college students for more than twenty-five years. After spending fifteen years at Dordt College in Sioux Center, Iowa, Dr. Van Rys has been teaching as a full professor in the English Department at Redeemer University College in Hamilton, Ontario, since 2005, where he also pursues scholarly work in Canadian literature. For over twenty years, he has worked on writing-across-the-curriculum theory and practice, on connections between workplace and academic writing, and on strategies for strengthening varied literacies in students (from reading to research to visual literacy). With Write Source Educational Publishing and Cengage Learning, he has coauthored writing handbooks for students from middle school to college. Dr. Van Rys also has coauthored an award-winning business-writing handbook for workplace professionals, WRITE FOR BUSINESS, with UpWrite Press.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Spiral bound
608 pages

Author

Randall VanderMey, Patrick Sebranek, Verne Meyer, John, van Rys
More books by Randall VanderMey, Patrick Sebranek, Verne Meyer, John, van Rys

Publisher

Publication date

14th June 2009

ISBN

9780495899709


It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools