Barnaby Grimes: Curse of the Nightwolf by Paul Stewart, Chris Riddell
  

Synopsis

Barnaby Grimes: Curse of the Nightwolf by Paul Stewart, Chris Riddell

Barnaby Grimes is a tick-tock lad, running errands in his city, day and night, and 'high-stacking' around the rooftops in search of new mysteries to solve. In this first adventure, Barnaby is attacked one night by an enormous dog. He kills it - but that's not the end of this particular mystery ...as Barnaby finds himself swept up in a world of crooked doctors, poor and ill-advised patients, strange tonics and very expensive furs...Could there be more to the seemingly respectable Dr Cadwallader and the tonics he doles out to the poor? Is there a link between the tonic and the huge dogs - or possibly wolves - that are roaming the city at night?When Barnaby's old acquaintance Benjamin goes missing, Barnaby fears the worst for him, and decides to dig deeper...A fantastic romp through a Dickensian-style city, with a wonderful new hero in the guise of Barnaby. This new series from the bestselling dream team of Stewart and Riddell is a must for all fans of the Edge Chronicles - but also for fans of Horowitz and Shan, as they move into new territory and deliver a brilliantly exciting thriller-horror for boys.

Browse inside this book

Reviews

Chris Riddell's spindly spidery illustrations ... capture perfectly the eccentric ebullient nature of the book ... Quite graphic in its violence, this one will be relished by boys of nine and up -- Philip Womack Literary Review It is a page-turning adventure, written with gusto and inventiveness The Sunday Times Thrilling and often downright frightening Through the Looking Glass The spine felt a definite tingle, but the stomach never lurched ... the writing is superb. It delivers a period feel without ever descending into pastiche. Highly recommended thebookbag.co.uk Don't miss this Dickensian thriller! Kraze Club

About the Author

Paul Stewart, Chris Riddell

Paul Stewart was born in London. He is a graduate of Lancaster University and of the University of East Anglia's creative writing course. For several years he taught English as a foreign language in Sri Lanka. Returning to England, he continued teaching before becoming a full-time writer.

Together with Chris Riddell, he is co-creator of the Far-Flung Adventures series, which includes Fergus Crane, Gold Smarties Prize Winner, Corby Flood and Hugo Pepper, both Silver Nestle Prize Winners and the Muddle Earth series.

Paul lives in Brighton with his wife and children.

He studied illustration at Brighton Polytechnic and has illustrated many acclaimed books for children, including the Ottoline series, Pirate Diary by Richard Platt, and Jonathan Swift’s Gulliver, which both won the Kate Greenaway Medal. Chris has also won the Costa Children’s Book Award 2013 for Goth Girl and the Ghost of a Mouse.

Chris lives in Brighton with his wife and children.
www.chrisriddell.co.uk

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
224 pages
Interest Age: From 9

Author

Paul Stewart, Chris Riddell
More books by Paul Stewart, Chris Riddell

Author's Website

www.stewartandriddell.co.uk...

Publisher

Publication date

3rd January 2008

ISBN

9780552556217


Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools