Little Dee and the Penguin by Head of the School of Biomedical Sciences Christopher (Newcastle University) Baldwin
  

Synopsis

Little Dee and the Penguin by Head of the School of Biomedical Sciences Christopher (Newcastle University) Baldwin

Graphic novel fans will love this hilarious animal adventure by webcomic creator Christopher Baldwin perfect for readers of Dan Santat s Sidekicks, Ben Hatke s Zita the Spacegirl, and Berkeley Breathed s Bloom County When Little Dee meets a motley crew of animals deep in the forest, she knows she s found the perfect set of new friends. Between the bossy vulture, the slightly dim dog, the nurturing bear, and the happy-go-lucky penguin, this mismatched group of big personalities doesn t always get along but they re a family. And they re on the run. A pair of hungry polar bears are after the penguin, and the rest of the team are determined to protect her. They re not interested in adopting a tiny human. But Dee loves them especially Ted the bear and she won't let them go. Instead, she hops on their getaway plane and joins them on an around-the-world adventure. This hilarious and heartwarming story is the perfect addition to any graphic novel reader s library.

Reviews

Praise for Little Dee and the Penguin * A fun-filled, zany story with a serious message about belonging . . . Those who love travel, adventure, learning about animals in remote parts of the world, and comics will enjoy this laugh-out-loud graphic novel. Baldwin's full-color illustrations appeal to all of the senses and keep the story moving through travel by plane, raft, boat, and on foot, ahead of a pair of hungry polar bears all the way. A must-read for all would-be adventurers.

School Library Journal, starred review Young readers will delight in the cartoonish full-color illustrations and round-the-world, fast-paced adventures while taking comfort in the final lesson you need just love to make a family. Booklist

BCCB

About the Author

Christopher Baldwin was born in Greenfield, MA, and started drawing comic strips around age 5, comic books around age 12, and webcomics in 1996. He's a regular contributor to Mad magazine, as well as an illustrator for educational children's books and newspaper serials. He also paints and cooks a mean pan of penuche fudge.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback

Author

Head of the School of Biomedical Sciences Christopher (Newcastle University) Baldwin
More books by Head of the School of Biomedical Sciences Christopher (Newcastle University) Baldwin

Publisher

Dial Books for Young Readers,US an imprint of Penguin Putnam Inc

Publication date

23rd May 2016

ISBN

9780803741089


It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools