Hugs on the Wind by Marsha Diane Arnold, Elaine Pelzel
  

Synopsis

Hugs on the Wind by Marsha Diane Arnold, Elaine Pelzel

In the tradition of The Snowy Day and Goodnight Moon , this lyrical picture book celebrates a young child's emotional relationship with his surroundings, the way he can project feelings onto inanimate objects as part of his appreciation of his world. Little Cottontail misses his grandfather, so as he and his mother go about their day in the meadow, and Little Cottontail thinks of ways that the wind, stars, stream, and trees can help him send hugs, kisses, and other messages to his grandfather, so far away. The text is careful to leave open the question of whether grandfather is deceased or just living far away, making the book meaningful to any small child who misses a loved one.

About the Author

Marsha Diane Arnold is the author of several picture books published by Dial and Random House. She has a strong track record; her sales range between 15,000 and 25,000 copies, and she's won numerous awards, including ten state awards and an IRA (International Reading Association) Best Book Designation, a Smithsonian Notable Book, and Ridgeway's Best First Book Award. Marsha lives in Sebastopol, California. Vernise is a multi-faceted educator who is the recipient of the esteemed California School Masters' Award and was named an Early Childhood Educator of the Year . She is a grief counsellor who lives in Burbank, California. This is her first book.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
32 pages
Interest Age: 3-6

Author

Marsha Diane Arnold, Elaine Pelzel
More books by Marsha Diane Arnold, Elaine Pelzel

Publisher

Harry N. Abrams, Inc. an imprint of Abrams

Publication date

31st March 2006

ISBN

9780810959682


At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools