Hugs on the Wind by Marsha Diane Arnold, Elaine Pelzel


Hugs on the Wind by Marsha Diane Arnold, Elaine Pelzel

In the tradition of The Snowy Day and Goodnight Moon , this lyrical picture book celebrates a young child's emotional relationship with his surroundings, the way he can project feelings onto inanimate objects as part of his appreciation of his world. Little Cottontail misses his grandfather, so as he and his mother go about their day in the meadow, and Little Cottontail thinks of ways that the wind, stars, stream, and trees can help him send hugs, kisses, and other messages to his grandfather, so far away. The text is careful to leave open the question of whether grandfather is deceased or just living far away, making the book meaningful to any small child who misses a loved one.

About the Author

Marsha Diane Arnold is the author of several picture books published by Dial and Random House. She has a strong track record; her sales range between 15,000 and 25,000 copies, and she's won numerous awards, including ten state awards and an IRA (International Reading Association) Best Book Designation, a Smithsonian Notable Book, and Ridgeway's Best First Book Award. Marsha lives in Sebastopol, California. Vernise is a multi-faceted educator who is the recipient of the esteemed California School Masters' Award and was named an Early Childhood Educator of the Year . She is a grief counsellor who lives in Burbank, California. This is her first book.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info


32 pages
Interest Age: 3-6


Marsha Diane Arnold, Elaine Pelzel
More books by Marsha Diane Arnold, Elaine Pelzel


Publication date

31st March 2006



I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

Lovereading 4 schools