Little Pea by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
  

Little Pea

Written by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
Illustrated by

RRP £9.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Synopsis

Little Pea by Amy Krouse Rosenthal

Little Pea hates eating candy for dinner, but his parents will not let him have his spinach dessert until he cleans his plate.

Reviews

A crowd pleaser in the tradition of Mitchell Sharmat's Gregory, The Terrible Eater (1980), illustrated by Jose Aruego and Ariane Dewey, this simply told and illustrated episode features both a decidedly atypical family (all head, no body) facing a similar dinnertime issue, and a delicious final twist. Little Pea's generally a happy legume, hanging with friends, rolling down hills, and being catapulted off a spoon by Papa Pea--but meals are always fraught, for Little Pea hates candy, which as you know (you didn't?) is all that peas eat. If you don't finish your candy, you can't have dessert, says Mama Pea. Negotiating his quota down to five cellophane-wrapped pieces, Little Pea proceeds to choke them down-- Three. Plck. Four. Pleh. --then jumps for joy at dessert's arrival--a heaping bowl of spinach. Expect bursts of hilarity from young listeners, picky eaters or no. Kirkus Reviews, starred review Picky eaters will enjoy the subtle humor of this topsy-turvy tale. School Library Journal

About the Author

Amy Krouse Rosenthal is a Chicago-based writer and Mama Pea. She is the author of Encyclopedia of Our Ordinary Life. This is her first children's book. Jen Corace grew up in New Jersey where she spent a lot of time in her bedroom, drawing, and scheming. A graduate of the Rhode Island School of Design with a BFA in Illustration, she can still be found in Rhode Island, drawing and scheming the day away.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
36 pages

Author

Amy Krouse Rosenthal
More books by Amy Krouse Rosenthal

Publisher

Chronicle Books

Publication date

17th February 2005

ISBN

9780811846585


I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****