Treats for a T. Rex by Adam Guillain, Charlotte Guillain
  

Treats for a T. Rex

Written by Adam Guillain, Charlotte Guillain
Illustrated by Lee Wildish
Part of the George's Amazing Adventures Series

RRP £6.99

Synopsis

Treats for a T. Rex by Adam Guillain, Charlotte Guillain

Join George, a young and courageous explorer with all the pluck of a little Indiana Jones, on a Jurassic Park-style journey to find an island of dinosaurs! George swoops off to seek the fearsome T. rex in his home-made hang-glider with just his dog Trixie for company. But will he find the lost dinosaur island he seeks? And how will Trixie's dog treats come in handy when things get a little hairy? Treats for a T. rex is a funny, rhyming adventure story all about dinosaurs and dog tricks - perfect for reading aloud. George's first picture book adventure Spaghetti with the Yeti was shortlisted for the Roald Dahl Funny Prize and the Sheffield Children's Book Award. Ideal for fans of Dinosaurs Love Underpants and Dinosaurs in the Supermarket. Find more treats and daring feats in the rest of George's Amazing Adventures: Spaghetti with the Yeti, Marshmallows for Martians, Doughnuts for a Dragon, Pizza for Pirates and Socks for Santa. Perfect picture book fun for children aged 3 years and up. Adam Guillain is a performance storyteller and was the Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre Writer in Residence. Charlotte Guillain is a prolific author of children's fiction, non-fiction and picture books, and together they have created the hugely successful George's Amazing Adventures series. Lee Wildish lives in Lancashire and has been illustrating from a very young age. He loves illustrating children's books and thinks there's nothing better than seeing people laughing at a book he's illustrated. His titles include The Spooky Spooky House which was the winner of the Red House Children's Book Award 2013, and the New York Times Bestselling How to Babysit a Grandpa.

About the Author

Adam Guillain, Charlotte Guillain

Adam and Charlotte Guillain.

Adam is a performance storyteller and was the Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre Writer in Residence. He is published by OUP, Pearson and Scholastic.

Charlotte taught English to air traffic controllers and nurses before deciding a career in publishing would endanger fewer lives. Following a decade working as a commissioning editor, Charlotte is now a prolific author of children's fiction, non-fiction and picture books.

Q&A: Adam and Charlotte

1. How did you get the idea for this book/artwork?

Like many parents with babies, Charlotte and I would make up silly rhymes and songs for all usual baby stuff: changing nappies, going to sleep, eating food etc. One of the first solids our own George loved was spaghetti. One day we were doing the usual nonsense stuff when the words 'spaghetti with the yeti' came out. We were on to it like a shot! When Egmont said they loved it and wanted Lee Wildish to create the illustrations we were so happy we danced a jig!

2. How would you describe the book?

It's very silly, funny and warm.

3. Which is your favourite character/theme in the book?

We love the character, George, partly because he's based on our own red-headed son, but because he so refreshingly innocent and optimistic. He has an idea and in good faith he just goes for it!

4. How long did it take you to write/illustrate this book?

The first draft was written in about fifteen minutes but we've been writing, rewriting and crafting this story for seven years.

5. How did you do the research for it? Where did you look/go?

Other than researching if anyone else had thought of this idea before, we did absolutely no research at all - which was great!

6. What other books have you written/illustrated?

It's a long list. Better check out our website www.tinnedspaghetti.co.uk

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
32 pages
Interest Age: From 3

Author

Adam Guillain, Charlotte Guillain
More books by Adam Guillain, Charlotte Guillain

Author's Website

www.tinnedspaghetti.co.uk/

Publisher

Egmont Books Ltd an imprint of Egmont UK Ltd

Publication date

2nd June 2016

ISBN

9781405273626


It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools